Troubles updating R4DS Firmware

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by gm50, Dec 7, 2008.

Dec 7, 2008

Troubles updating R4DS Firmware by gm50 at 1:38 AM (1,122 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. gm50
    OP

    Newcomer gm50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey all, I tried updating my R4 to v1.18 recently, and I can't bloody well get the thing to work. I tried the english version and got the following:

    [​IMG]

    Now I've no idea what language that is and I can't read it, so I've no idea what to do. I also tried with every other update available (Korean, French and Chinese) and got similar messages, only with different looking characters. Anybody know why my R4 hates me, and how I might go about fixing it?
     
  2. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    You probably have a fake cart [​IMG]

    Sorry I can't be much of help, but you should take that in to account - there are dozens of cheap R4 duplicates.
     
  3. gm50
    OP

    Newcomer gm50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm pretty sure it's real, it fits every description of what a real one looks like, but even still I suppose it could be a good fake. If I were to get another, would I be looking to go another R4, or is there a better flash card thingo out there?
     
  4. geedub

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. gm50
    OP

    Newcomer gm50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    Thanks mate, that worked. Problem is, now the menus are all in chinese. Any idea how to make it english, or am I stuck with it as is?
     
  6. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    It shouldn't be that hard.

    I mean, there are what, 3 buttons?
     
  7. gm50
    OP

    Newcomer gm50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    I know it's easy, I'm just a little OC, and if it's not all english, then I get annoyed. More of an appearance thing than ease of use.
     
  8. geedub

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try this first


    You can change the system language with the following procedure:

    1.) Go to the main menu.
    2.) Touch the DS icon at the bottom of the screen.
    3.) Select the pink icon, then a menu will appear. Touch the
    3-D sphere to show the languages.
    4.) Select "English", press the A Button, and your done!


    if that fails

    your might have to patch it to english

    have a look here

    hope this helps !


    let me know how you get on
     
  9. gm50
    OP

    Newcomer gm50 Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Australia
    praise and worship, geedub, works perfectly.
     
  10. geedub

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your welcome mate [​IMG]
     

Share This Page