Gaming Trouble Connecting to The Internet

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
I'm having a new problem...again.

This time, I can't connect to the Internet for some reason. I have my Network Connections in place. All of the wires are connected and in place too.

When I go on AIM (AOL Instant Messenger) on my computer, it connects and is fully functional. I also logged into an online game (LoL; League of Legends) and it connected.

When I open up Google Chrome and Internet Explorer 9 Beta, it doesn't connect to the webpage that I want to go to. It just shows "Connecting..." or "Loading...".

I think this problem happened right after I messed with "Internet Booster" on Advanced SystemCare 3 Pro Edition. It said something about bandwidth 56k, 512k, 1M, and so on. I tried all of them and changed some random settings.

Does anyone know how I can fix this problem?
 

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
Rydian said:
If you'd actually read what I told you to you'd see it's not instructions in removing infections, it removes things that could potentially block or modify your internet connection.

If you don't want my help I'll just stop helping you, though. No skin off my nose.

Turns out that it wasn't all about removing viruses. Sorry about that.

Anyways, I tried Part A and it didn't work. I deleted the Hosts file and it the Browser still "Connecting...", "Loading..."

Not sure about Part B...
 

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
Rydian said:
Which DNS server did you choose?

Can you get online in safe mode (with networking)?
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/chsafe.htm

Yeah, now GBAtemp's homepage loads when I boot my computer in Safe Mode with Networking. I wonder why it didn't work when I started it up normally...Possible virus...again?

EDIT: Did a quick scan with MalwareBytes. Came up with 0 infected files.
 

Tanas

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2006
Messages
2,257
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
102
Country
Have you had Zone Alarm installed or anyother firewall software? because I had the same problem after I uninstalled Zone Alarm and reinstalling it fixed the problem.
 

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
Tanas said:
Have you had Zone Alarm installed or anyother firewall software? because I had the same problem after I uninstalled Zone Alarm and reinstalling it fixed the problem.

No, I have not installed any of those programs. The only latest thing that I've installed is Advanced SystemCare 3 Pro, and it's like an All-In-One program that'll improve the performance of my computer. Ranges from Registry Fixer to Defragmenting Files.
 

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
How can I check whether if I have more than one Firewall on?

EDIT: I got Google Chrome and Internet Explorer to load the webpages that I want it to load. It turns out that it was one of avast! Anti-virus's shields that was causing the problem. It didn't cause this kind of problem before...Now I have to disable the Web Shield for the Browser to load.
 

I am r4ymond

PFE
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2009
Messages
1,703
Trophies
0
Location
Ionia
XP
181
Country
United States
Rydian said:
Security software is pretty much at least partially enabled as long as it's installed even if the control panel for it isn't running (due to technical reasons I CBA to list).

Run down your programs list and uninstall any you may have installed.

I think the reason why the Web Shield is known to cause the Loading program is because I messed around with a few tools from the pirated Advanced SystemCare Pro.

Everything seems to be fine now.

I'm going to have to switch Anti-viruses sooner or later.

Major thanks for the help Rydi.
smile.gif
 

qpecmultitech

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Oct 11, 2010
Messages
3
Trophies
0
XP
1
Country
India
Well i had same problem with my googlechrome and firefox. Later i found out it to be my firewall blocking it, quite strange. After i disabled my firewall it was back to normal...try your side
smile.gif
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, *pea-nus
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @ZeroT21, Turns us into horny people that deserve to be bonked
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Like me
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Buy more cleaned and refurbished at DkOldies today!
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    That'll be $650 for a DS
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Get your grubby broken consoles from this Eminem looking ass
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Grampsinem
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    His prices are way beyond slim shady
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    lmao
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a slim price to pay for shady products
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's more like it
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Bah, why waste money on banged up poorly refurbished old consoles, when you can buy Soulja Boi's latest offering?
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Whatever that is at the moment
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Pretty sure it's on crank fw .069 distro atm
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Willing to bang sexy YouTube streamers for reviews and free product :teach:
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm pretty sure you're gonna review the latest fleshlight
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The free lube that comes with it is garbage, the inside also doesn't feel right 0/10
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "But the precise rating isn't important here, the important question is is it better than my hand and the answer is... BUT FIRST A WORD FROM OUR SPONSORS"
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    "Ugh, I can say without a doubt that this stuff is horrible, feels the same doing it with my hand."
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    "Overall, I would advise anyone to stay away from it at all costs."
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Veho, "This video was sponsored by <insert porn site here>. Get 20% off premium."
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    @M4x1mumReZ, I wouldn't dare get in the way of your expertises on butt plugs
    +1
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: :evil: