Hacking Trimming games for AK2? Saving microsd space...

CoconutCake

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Please keep in mind I'm a newbie, and I don't have my AK2 yet. I only have an old G6 Lite. On my G6 Lite, there is some Windows software that trims the ROMs before copying it to the G6.

How do you trim ROMs to save space on the micro SD? Is there some application to do this?

Also, on an 8GB msdhc card, how many games (on average of course) do you think could fit?

Thanks.

ConJ

The Toker
Trophies
Website
xat.com
XP
Country
Hello. There are rom trimming programs out there, but i wouldnt bother if i was you. You dont really need to with an 8GB card.

Also, ive got an Acekard2 with a 4GB card and can fit around 50 (untrimmed) games on there. So with an 8GB, i assume you should be able to fit like 100-150 games on there.

Satangel

BEAST
Trophies
XP
Country
Belgium
lee1978 said:
Hello. There are rom trimming programs out there, but i wouldnt bother if i was you. You dont really need to with an 8GB card.

Also, ive got an Acekard2 with a 4GB card and can fit around 50 (untrimmed) games on there. So with an 8GB, i assume you should be able to fit like 100-150 games on there.

I remember having a 1GB microSD with my R4DS, and could put 20 trimmed DS games on that + some emulators and homebrew.
And it's true that with a 8GB microSD you don't really have to trim, it's massive !

CoconutCake

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks everyone for your replies, this forum is awesome.

I already dl'ed NDSTokyoTrim, and it's great. I'm already trimming all my games. I know 8GB is a TON of space, but I like to optimize things! :-)

How much space does AK2 use for support files for each game? Like the save files and stuff?

stealthfire

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Senegal
Here's what I know:

Each save file is 512KB unless if the game requires a bigger save file size.