Transfer GBA and NDS saves?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Splych, May 4, 2010.

May 4, 2010

Transfer GBA and NDS saves? by Splych at 2:20 AM (3,330 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Is it possible to export the GBA and/or NDS saves out of their original carts?
    If it is, can someone possibly post the needed materials and a guide on how to.

    In addition to this,
    I am also interested in importing it so that I may replace the save in the original cart with the one I am transferring.

    Please and thanks,
    Splych
     


  2. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    *bump*
    anyone?

    ah... i found something,
    Rudolph's Back-Up Tool.

    not sure if it'll work though...
     
  3. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    GBA:
    GBA backup tool
    for eeprom save types it is better to use the gameshark/action replay.
    If you had to patch a rom then the save is most likely now incompatible to move back onto a real cart.


    NDS:
    NDS backup tool ftp/wifi/3in1/slot2
    there is also the NDS Save Data Adapter and Plus versions which doesn't require a DS/L/i to work.
    There is also the action replay DS/DSi.

    All tools have a low learning curve, a tutorial is not really neccessary. Except maybe the wifi and ftp versions.
     
  4. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Don't bump your own threads. WTF, can't even wait an hour? We aren't here just to answer your questions. We have an Outside Life ™. Do some research before you open a new topic. Someone else more than likely, has already had their question answered.

    If you are trying to backup/restore a Pokemon HG/SS save, it can't be done with any software tools. You either have to solder a wire or spend $30 for hardware.
     
  5. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hmm... Gameshark/Action Replay... Is that the one for GBA? Any ideas where I can buy one in Canada?

    And @ masked ranger, actually yeah, i couldn't wait. i did bump my own thread because of own impatience. it is nice to know something i already know since i already did it. instead of just trolling in this thread, lecturing me about bumping threads, go spend your time better. clearly, you just wasted your own time making that post when instead, you could've been spending time in your "Outside Life"
     
  6. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    So if you have already did it and if you already knew it, why are you wasting everyone's time creating pointless threads and posting questions about if it can be done?

    To answer your other question, try ebay. The GBA Gameshark/AR biz has dried up. Or just stick with using Rudolph's tools. What game are you trying to transfer over? What are you going to play the game on?

    PS How can I troll a thread that you already trolled? Didn't you read the second paragraph in my post?
     
  7. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    eBay... i searched it up and only found ARs and GSs for everything but GBA .__.
    i am trying to do it with Megaman Battlenetwork 3 White. It is S_RAM according to this page.
     
  8. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Your original post mentioned GBA and NDS saves, that's why I asked that question.

    I searched ebay here and the first 5 are what you want. I have the AR branded unit shown in pics 1,2, & 5. My AR software will let me download/restore the save to my PC only. It's in a special format. Depending on your emulator, you might have to import the save as a "snapshot". Pic #3 is MadCatz's Gameshark that might do the same thing. I don't think that the formats are compatible with each other and I don't think it will be compatible with something like the 3in1 .sav format. Shuny's converter might help.
     
  9. TM2-Megatron

    Member TM2-Megatron Predacon Commander

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The easiest way (and it's really, very easy) to backup a GBA save is with Rudolph's GBA Backup Tool. All you need is a DS and a flashcart. Stick the GBA game in the slot-2, and run Rudolph's tool from your flashcart like you would with any homebrew.

    NDS saves are a bit tricker to do with just a DS, unless you've got a slot-2 device with a file system like a Supercard, M3 Perfect Lite, EZ-Flash IV, etc. In that case it's pretty easy, as the NDS Backup Tool can be run from slot-2 after booting it up in NDS mode. If you don't have one of those, Rudolph's Wi-Fi tool is probably the best choice. Setting it up is a bit more involved than the slot-2 tool, though.
     
  10. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    Oh thanks.
    Umm... I seem to be doing well and best with the Rudolph's tool.

    Is it compatible with all saves or there are some that won't work?
    if so, which ones?
     
  11. Masked Ranger

    Member Masked Ranger GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I don't know if I have/had any games that save in eeprom, so I'm not sure.
     
  12. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    oh i see.
    so basically,
    Rudolph's Back-Up tool is enough right?

    i am pretty happy, since i have been looking for this type of homebrew for a LONG time.
    after i complete my research on the GBA one,
    i am gonna go do research on NDS.
     
  13. levis315

    Banned levis315 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    tks for everyone postings!
     
  14. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    okay so well umm...
    can someone write a basic feature for Rudoplh's GBA Back-Up Tool?
    i sorta... messed up.
    i accidentally deleted my Megaman save on the original xP.
    then the back-up was messed as well.

    blah,
    i recommend someone make a basic guide on how to work it.
    just so no one will mess up [​IMG]
     
  15. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Codejunkies website still sells the gba action replay max.

    menu options are in a box at the bottom of the bottom screen.
     
  16. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    damn...
    it is pricey .__.

    and menu options...
    i read those,
    and was a little confused to what they meant.

    btw, congrats. you just hit 2K posts
     
  17. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You might be able to find a used one on ebay for less.


    The reason for the use of a gameshark/action replay for save backups is because sites like gamefaqs will normally only accept legally acceptable commercial save dumpers like those.


    format is in (button you press) : Action it does.


    When you swap out the carts to dump you have to set the device into standby with the X button, aka change rom
    When you want to dump the contents to a file for the first time you press B.
    Pressing A will overwrite anything you have selected.


    Your going to be using the X, B, L and R buttons mostly.
     
  18. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    Rudolph's Tool handles EEPROM.
    If you SRAM patched a game, the save will still work with the retail cart (Tested and confirmed.)
     
  19. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,802
    Country:
    Antarctica
    thats a VB script that comes with the backup tool, not everyone is on windows.
     
  20. Splych
    OP

    Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,953
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario.
    Country:
    Philippines
    oh i see.
    thanks for the info about the saves.
    i will be sure to not make that mistake again ;D
     

Share This Page