This may sound weird, but...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by loxolot, Jun 6, 2012.

Jun 6, 2012

This may sound weird, but... by loxolot at 3:56 AM (458 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. loxolot
    OP

    Newcomer loxolot Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I have been away from the Wii hombrew and hacking community for a good year. Have I missed anything cool/crucial changes to the way we all mess with our Wiis? I saw the following statement on WiiBrew.org:

    Does this mean I can update to the official firmware? I would really like to do that, but how would I do this to avoid bricking?

    Here's a link to a sysCheck I ran, if that helps show you all what I currently have installed.

    CSV: http://cl.ly/HB2c
    .TXT: http://cl.ly/HAU7

    I'm just getting pumped for Pikmin 2 this Sunday, and I wanted to 'dust off' my Wii.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,771
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    You can update, but quite frankly there's not really any point in doing so. If you insist, I would suggest remodding your Wii with ModMii.
     
  3. JN_big3

    Member JN_big3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Country:
    Philippines
    Just re-hack the Wii using ModMii so that you will have all the latest cIOS etc. ModMii will also let you install the latest firmware safely.

    DML is one to start with. You can play Gamecube Games off the SD card.
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Unless you have done something really stupid, updating to the latest System Menu (System Menu =/= firmware) will not brick, and never has. The WiiBrew wiki has (almost) always contained that message because there is nothing WiiBrew supported that will be broken by the update (worst case scenario, BootMii can be removed from boot2 and/or IOS, but can very easily be reinstalled).
     

Share This Page