This Graphic card...

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by ThePowerOutage, Nov 7, 2010.

Nov 7, 2010

This Graphic card... by ThePowerOutage at 10:37 PM (1,302 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. ThePowerOutage
    OP

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So I've been looking around for a neW graphics card and saw an advet for this one at asda
    NVidia GeForce 9800 GX2 - £55
    Is this worth it? I had a look on the tinternet and it seemed to suggest that it was high end 2 years ago, but leans more towards video editing
    Would it be any good for gaming?
    And what sort of PSU will I need?
    Is there anything better for the money?

    My computer is this one:
    My PC *clicky*
     
  2. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    It is likely that you will have to upgrade your PSU. NVIDIA's website provides a list of PSU's confirmed working with that card:
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/geforce_9800gx2_pwr_supply.html

    As for the price, that's a pretty nice price, I'd say it's unbelievable. The single core version of that card with half the memory interface width (256-bit vs 512 on GX2) still sells for more than that in the US.

    The only reason anyone would deny that it's awesome for gaming is because it doesn't do DirectX 11 stuff, which is negligible unless you are a hardcore enthusiast. And if you were, you would not be playing on an Acer w/integrated graphics in the first place :-P
     
  3. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    its needs alot of room
    10.5"

    the case better have some decent airflow also

    edit
    I looked online and it wont even fit
    you have a mini-tower case
    special made psu and everything
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Size aside, I kinda doubt the case would provide enough cooling for that card. Dual GPU cards tend to run hot (to match the extra power they consume).

    Even so, I think it's a pretty good deal.
     
  5. ThePowerOutage
    OP

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Rang the guy up today and he said it was the single core version, he had made a mistake and he'd allready sold it [​IMG] I could of sold it on eBay
    Thanks for the tip on size, it had never crossed my mind.
    What gfx card around that price will fit in my PC?
    (hating my dad for picking this computer, why didn't he let me make one?)
     
  6. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015
  7. ThePowerOutage
    OP

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Been looking around...
    someone else with the same tower had put in the GeForce GT 430 and claimed that it would play high end game such as Crysis even on the pathetic stock 220w PSU
    Is this claim realistic?
    My question is, as there a few versions of this card, which should I use?
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That claim is not realistic.

    You WILL need a new PSU.
     
  9. ThePowerOutage
    OP

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought so, what do you think, round 400~500w?
    And judging from what you said, the GFX card is good, everything else is realistic?
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    tests show it uses 160w-250w
    your psu isnt going to cut it
     
  11. ThePowerOutage
    OP

    Member ThePowerOutage The Lord of the Flyes

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    813
    Location:
    Vallhallah
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So probably 400w to be safe when I update again ?
    Also, as the computer is a mini-tower, will I need a specialized PSU?
     
  12. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015
  13. Velveteer

    Member Velveteer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, it's very likely that you won't be able to fit in another PSU. Also for gaming, a 440GT or HD5750 is basically a minimum.
     
  14. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    If PSU is a problem, and you want a 9800. Look up the "9800 GT Eco." It's a trimmed down version. Works well, even with minimal power.
     
  15. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they are still using 200w
     
  16. GreatCrippler

    Member GreatCrippler Greatness Fallen

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Country:
    United States
    I have seen it function well on a 300w. I dunno, 200 does seem kinda shy. [​IMG]
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    A hundred watts is not "kind of shy".
     
  18. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    To answer the question of whether or not you'll need a "special kind of PSU" the answer is yes, you will probably need a MicroATX PSU. If you don't know the difference yourself and you're looking to replace it online you can match up the physical measurements with the one currently in your computer. 350-400w PSUs in that form factor aren't common but they are out there.
     
  19. playallday

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 22, 2015

Share This Page