The Sims 3 and securom?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by esoterica, Jan 27, 2009.

Jan 27, 2009

The Sims 3 and securom? by esoterica at 8:37 AM (1,722 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. esoterica
    OP

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    So, this is a game I have been anticipating for some time, and I hear that it will come with a securom. I know it's bad for your computer and a lot of people are pissed off about it. I'm just wondering, if I were to wait for a rip of the game, will it come without the securom? Or is the game even worth buying when it has this on it??
     
  2. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Get the legit game, then install a crack that removes the securom protection. Done!
     
  3. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I know it's a bit off-topic, but everything I've seen on this game indicates it's barely a step forward from the Sims 2, it looks pretty much identical, right down to the graphics.
    Am I missing something major or is it really not much of an update?
     
  4. BiscuitCookie

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    it seems that the characters of the sims in the sims 3 are even more customisable and you can just go from neighbour to neighbour without going to the village view mode
    and you can follow your sims to school/work
    I don't know any more
     
  5. esoterica
    OP

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    There's a crack that exists that removes the securom? Honestly, Sims 3 doesn't seem like THAT much different, but I've always loved the game and I'm sure I can still kill some time on it just messing around.
     
  6. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is it already out?

    EDIT: nvm, didn't read the whole first post.
     
  7. Alerek

    Member Alerek GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    My GF is all about the sims, and the big difference in the games from what I understand is that 3 will have a completly open world, much like an MMO, and everyone in a town will all go about their business all at the same time, as opposed to only seeing growth in the one family of people you're currently playing in the sims 2.

    That and a ton of new character personality customization are the big new dealies.
     
  8. esoterica
    OP

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    I think if you enjoyed Sims 2, you will find something new in this one to keep you entertained for a while. I actually like the building/designing modes a lot. It's comforting to me. but I am worried about the securom, so hopefully the patch to remove it works.
     
  9. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Given the track record of all other EA games to date i'm going to say, yes with 5 activations.

    Unless EA decide to put it on steam then its DRM free.

    With regards to "patches" aka cracks (because thats what they are). You'd need to find a pirated release and strip the crack from it, you'll often be well behind with the patches as it usually takes a few weeks for crackers to catch up thats if they even bother. Also these patches don't prevent the installation of securom, they just bypass the games activation, it will still be on your system.
     
  10. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    There is a Securom Removal tool, so dont worry about it too much. The crack will prevent it from using the Securom, so (hopefully) if all goes well it wont rely on SecuRom at all, and therefore wont need to remain on your system. It all depends on the cracks released.

    But after all, its Sims 3, its gonna get hacked to bits. Ive intstalled quite a few SecuRom games, just cracked em and its all good. Its not that hard to disable/remove SecuRom
     
  11. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    steam is practically DRM itself
     
  12. esoterica
    OP

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't a Securom reapply itself when the program is ran again? So whats better... buying it and removing it or downloading a cracked version? Ok... well you don't really have to say. Do people usually keep up with the patches??
     
  13. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, Steam have already said themselves it is DRM, but it's DRM that shouldn't harm you in any way as opposed to EA's DRM.
     
  14. MicShadow

    Member MicShadow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    457
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, SecuRom re applies it self on load. But yeah, thats why pirated versions work so much better in this case. It doesnt take em long to make cracks for the patches, just make sure you keep your original .exe
     
  15. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Exactly, Steams DRM is as simple as owning the account.

    Unlike EA's where all it takes a is a simple program securom doesn't like and bam you end up with mystical issues. Not to mention this whole 5 time limited activation crap. Or if someone is unlucky and buys off EADM the additional charge they have to pay to redownload after 6 months which gives them 2 more years worth of time. Thats before you touch on all the issues which EADM has in its own right.


    You can't remove securom, if you use the securom removal tool (which doesnt 100% remove it) while you have a game which uses securom (doesn't matter if you cracked it or not) the game won't run.
     
  16. esoterica
    OP

    Member esoterica GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Country:
    United States
    So there's no way around it? Whether you get a cracked Sims 3 or retail, you will have to have the securom on your computer to run the game?
     
  17. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Pretty much, unless you grab the steam copy which doesn't use it at all.

    If you REALLY want the sims 3 its probably best to just bite the bullet and buy it, just don't buy it from EADM/EA Store so you don't get ripped off. Cracking it just saves you from activation trouble.
     
  18. Hillsy_

    Member Hillsy_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Buy it, Securom isn't like Starforce. I have plenty of Securom games. You are also supporting the development of other Sims games too.
     
  19. notnarb

    Member notnarb Not narbing it up

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,086
    Country:
    Securom has a very high chance of preventing you from being able to use your CD burner. Happened to my friend for installing spore. I really hope there is a securom free steam port
     
  20. FlatFrogger

    Member FlatFrogger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Securom of the past is far different from the securom being used now. I don't know about you but i've never had to fuss about with activations on games which used securom prior mass effect/bioshock.
     

Share This Page