?
  1. Yes

  2. Sort of

  3. No

  4. 30 voter(s)
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    This thread is no longer being updated. If you need help, please see the improved version on Hax3D: http://hax3d.x10host.com/forums/index.php?threads/the-noob-q-a-thread.6/

    This thread is designed to answer EVERY questions anyone, new or old to the 3DS hacking scene, has about 3DS homebrew, hacking, or related topics. If you have another question, please feel free to ask it in the comments below, and I will do my best to answer it. Who knows. Maybe this will even be a sticky thread eventually. Without further a do, here are the questions!

    1. What is the homebrew launcher?

    The homebrew launcher is a menu of all the 3DS homebrew that you have. It is not a normal app however, so you will need an exploit to run it. More information on exploits in question #3 and #4.

    2. How do I get the homebrew to show up in the homebrew launcher?

    It is actually quite simple. Create a folder on your 3DS's SD Card called "3ds". All you have to do is put all your homebrew in the "3ds" folder and the homebrew launcher will recognize it! Remember, you need to have a folder with your homebrew's name, and a .3dsx file WITH THE EXACT SAME NAME inside it. If the homebrew has a .smdh file, put that in the folder too. (Still has to be THE EXACT SAME NAME!) You can find a list of most of the 3DS's homebrew here: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/List_of_3DS_homebrew

    3. How do I run the homebrew launcher?

    This is where things get complicated. To run the homebrew launcher, you are going to need an exploit. There are two kinds of exploits, user-space and kernel. A user-space exploit is an exploit with the same amount of access to the 3DS as a normal game. So, that obviously means it has some limitations.

    Here is what it CAN do:
    1. Play most homebrew, that doesn't modify the system itself. (Basically, anything that doesn't require kernel access.)
    2. Play REAL (not pirated) 3DS games, with extra features such as new models, music, gameplay features, and more!
    3. Play most REAL (still not pirated) 3DS games online, even on a lower firmware version.
    4. Cheat in certain items or use "unlock all codes". (If there is an editor for it.)

    Here is what it CAN'T do:
    1. Install or pirate games.
    2. Install CFW/EmuNAND. (More on what this is later.)
    3. Use Dynarec. (Dynarec, also known as Dynamic-Recompilation, can makes emulators a lot faster, by recompiling certain parts of the ROM as you play it.)
    4. Downgrade your system.
    On the other hand, kernel exploits can do everything a user space can AND cannot do. If you want a list of exploits, check the next question.

    4. What are the exploits I can use?

    A standalone exploit means you don't need homebrew installed to launch it for the first time. I went over what user-space and kernel exploit are above. Here are the exploits:

    Working firmware versions: 4.0.0 up to and including 9.2.0

    Required: A retail or eshop copy of Cubic Ninja (eshop is JPN only)

    Is it standalone: Yes

    Does it have kernel access: No, but running a homebrew like PastaCFW will give you kernel access.
    Working firmware versions: 9.0.0 up to and including 10.3.0 (The latest one!)

    Required: A retail or eshop copy of Cubic Ninja (eshop is JPN only)

    Is it standalone: Yes

    Does it have kernel access: No
    Working firmware versions: 9.5.0 up to and including 10.3.0 (The latest one!)

    Required: A New 3DS (NOT OLD), a copy of SSB4 or the demo, and Linux.

    Is it standalone: Yes

    Does it have kernel access: No
    Working firmware versions: 9.0.0 up to and including 10.3.0 (The latest one!)

    Required: An internet connection

    Is it standalone: Yes! You don't need a single thing prior to run it!

    Does it have kernel access: Yes, but only below firmware 9.3. Otherwise it doesn't.
    Working firmware versions: 9.5.0 up to and including 10.3.0 (The latest one!)

    Required: Ironfall Invasion downloaded from the eshop BEFORE OCT 2015!! Using the new Eshop spoof, you can download the old version of Ironfall! But be quick! It probably won't last long!

    Is it standalone: No

    Does it have kernel access: No
    Working firmware versions: 9.5.0 up to and including 10.3.0 (The latest one!)

    Required: The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time 3D, eshop or retail (With retail you can use Powersaves to inject a save file with the exploit already installed.)

    Is it standalone: No

    Does it have kernel access: No
    Working firmware versions: 9.0.0 up to and including 10.1.0

    Required: Nothing! All you need is a way to run homebrew to install it!

    Is it standalone: No

    Does it have kernel access: No
    Working firmware versions: It no longer works on ANY firmware. Here is what it used to work on:
    9.0.0 up to and including 10.1.0

    Required: The Youtube app

    Is it standalone: Yes

    Does it have kernel access: No

    5. How do I update without losing access to OOThax/Ironhax?

    Since OOThax and Ironhax aren't standalone exploits, if you update your 3DS you will lose access to homebrew, unless you have a way to reinstall it such as Powersaves (only for OOThax) or a copy of Cubic Ninja. Luckily, there is a way to get around this even if you don't have access to Cubic Ninja/Powersaves. But, you must follow these instructions EXTREMELY carefully! Otherwise you will lose access to homebrew! And nobody wants that. So, don't skip a step, read everything twice, and JUST BE CAREFUL!

    No powersaves:
    1. (RECOMMENDED) Install Menuhax/Themhax (If you are on 9.0.0 - 10.1.0.) via the installer.
    2. Load up the homebrew launcher and open the Ironhax/OOThax installer.
    3. Select the payload for the newest firmware. (10.3)
    4. Update your system.
    5. (OPTIONAL) Eat some potato chips.
    6. How can I transfer game saves from 1 SD Card to another? (On the same 3DS.)

    This is a VERY easy thing to do, and you won't need homebrew either. All it requires is that you be on 6.0.0 or above. (Of course, if you are below 9.3, you can just you Save Data Filer.) Why would this be useful though? Well, say you have 1 SD Card with a bunch of games, and you go to download Fire Emblem awakening, which is a very big game, but it says you don't have enough room on your SD card. So you download it on another SD Card. A couple days later you get a new, bigger SD Card, that can store ALL of your games.

    1. Transfer all your data from the main SD Card to the new one. (You no longer need the main SD Card.)
    2. Create a backup of the game you want to transfer on the new SD Card.
    3. Now, do the same for the other SD Card. (The one with the game you want to transfer.)
    4. Put the old SD Card into your computer, navigate to the "backups" folder, and take out the backup of your game.
    5. Take the new SD Card and navigate to the "backups" folder, but this time, put your old backup into the new folder, rename it to the new backup, and replace the new backup with that.
    6. Now, put the new SD Card into your 3DS, click on the game (without opening it) and press the arrow on the very bottom right corner. Now select "Save-data Backup".
    7. Go through the options to restore the backup, and once you are done, everything should work!
     
    Last edited by GalladeGuy, Jan 17, 2016
    Seriel and Deleted User like this.
  2. Gocario

    Gocario GBAFail'd
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Messages:
    640
    Country:
    France
    Does it have Kernel access? :P

    PS: There is two Browserhax and Ironhax spoiler.
     
  3. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea why that is happening. Whenever I change it, the spoiler opening and closing stuff gets really weird.

    EDIT: Nvm I got it to work.
     
    Last edited by GalladeGuy, Dec 22, 2015
  4. Jwiz33

    Jwiz33
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,654
    Country:
    United States
    Why do I get missing .dll errors when I use the 3DS Remote Desktop PC application?
     
  5. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    Can I have a screenshot of the error? Also, what version of Windows do you have?
     
  6. Jwiz33

    Jwiz33
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,654
    Country:
    United States
    You have it way wrong by the way.
    Ninjhax 1.x on it's own does not have kernel access. Browserhax can be used to load a kernel exploit just like Ninjhax 1.x.
    So you can just say that kernel access is for all *haxes on a firmware below 9.3.

    EDIT:
    Here is a screenshot :)
    upload_2015-12-21_21-47-6.png
    Windows 10
     
    Last edited by Jwiz33, Dec 22, 2015
  7. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for the mis-information, I did not know Browserhax and such was capable of kernel. I will fix all of that.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It might be possible that it just doesn't support Windows 10. Can you give me a link to the program so I can test it?
     
    Jwiz33 likes this.
  8. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
  9. Jwiz33

    Jwiz33
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,654
    Country:
    United States
    The thing about browserhax "having" kernel access below 9.3 also goes for all other hacks that work on firmwares below 9.3(Tubehax, Menuhax, Ninjax 2.x, etc.)
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/homebrew-3ds-remote-desktop.381646/
    Here is the link, but I don't think the OS is what is causing the problem, because it didn't work on Windows 7, either.
     
  10. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    You should remove the formatting on all of the text that's not supposed to be coloured.
     
  12. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    It works fine on my Win 10 Alienware Alpha. It is probably just a problem with your computer. You could also try installing that .dll manually if you don't have it.
     
  13. Jwiz33

    Jwiz33
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,654
    Country:
    United States
    That's what they say not to do, though.
    What version of DirectX do you have? Do you have Java?
     
  14. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean by that? The only words colored are "can" and "can't".
     
  15. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Jwiz33

    Jwiz33
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    Messages:
    2,654
    Country:
    United States
    Dark theme ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
    I decided to go against what I taught myself all these years and install the dll. It worked! Thanks @GalladeGuy
     
    Last edited by Jwiz33, Dec 22, 2015
    GalladeGuy and Deleted User like this.
  17. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    I have no idea why that happens. It is all the same color. I also had no idea anyone used "Dark Theme".
     
  18. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    If you changed the text colour to black after the parts that were supposed to be coloured, then that's why.
     
  19. GalladeGuy

    OP GalladeGuy Cool and Epic
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,687
    Country:
    United States
    What color do I change it to then? Sorry for being such a n00b. Maybe someone could make an "Official GBATemp N00b Q & A" Thread. :P
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Select all the black text and hit this button
    [​IMG]
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Official, Thread,