The legality of using VPN to watch legal streamed series from other countries?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Saiyan Lusitano, Apr 17, 2017.

1. Saiyan Lusitano
    OP

Saiyan Lusitano GBAtemp Guru

Oct 29, 2015
    Sweden
    How does this work, is it still fully legal to watch other countries' whom restrict IP per country or becomes grey area/illegal?

2. TotalInsanity4

TotalInsanity4 GBAtemp Supreme Overlord

Dec 1, 2014
    United States
    Under a rock
    Fairly certain it's 100% legal, but I'm not a lawyer

3. RevPokemon

RevPokemon GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl

Aug 24, 2014
    United States
    Fort Gay, West Virginia
  4. the_randomizer

the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

Apr 29, 2011
    United States
    Dr. Wahwee's castle
    Subtle Demise likes this.
  5. Memoir

Memoir A Hero to Zero

GBAtemp Patron
    Memoir is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Jun 24, 2007
    United States
    Wyoming
    Definitely a violation of the EULA/TOS. Shouldn't be illegal, as that wouldn't make sense.

6. Plstic

Plstic Guru Meditation Error

Apr 21, 2010
    United States
    Milwaukee WI
    Very much grey area. Because technically, the shows and movies are not licensed to show in other countries or they are licensed to other platforms.

7. RevPokemon

Aug 24, 2014
    United States
    Fort Gay, West Virginia
    True but still the consequences can be a PIA for TOS violations depending on the service.

8. nooby89

nooby89 A normal member with a stupid alias

Aug 18, 2015
    Canada
    Personally, I watch TV series streamed from other countries without VPN. Is it risky?

9. Plstic

Plstic Guru Meditation Error

Apr 21, 2010
    United States
    Milwaukee WI
    No but it is illegal if you're not paying for a subscription and using those shitty streaming sites.

nooby89 likes this.
  10. the_randomizer

Apr 29, 2011
    United States
    Dr. Wahwee's castle