Takes ages to get into forum on first boot

Discussion in 'Site Discussions & Suggestions' started by TrolleyDave, Nov 1, 2009.

Nov 1, 2009
  1. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't know if I'm the only one having this problem or not but thought I'd report it anyway just in case someone can help me solve it. Whenever I first boot my pc up and log onto the temp it takes up to 5 mins to get into the forum. It's been doing it for a few weeks now. It usually just sits there with a blue screen, it displays the site name in the browser tab/title bar but then it seems to hang. If I leave it sat there it eventually displays after anything up to 5 mins.

    For weeks it's just been a blue screen but today I actually got an error message. The error message displayed was

    "IPB WARNING [2] memcache_connect() [function.memcache-connect]: Can't connect to 94.23.33.154:11211, Connection refused (111) (Line: 89 of /ips_kernel/class_cache_memcache.php)"

    Anyone know what the problem could be, is it a bug or is it something on my end? It does the same thing in Opera, Firefox and IE. I've got no firewall running apart from the one on the router and I'm using Avira antivir. Once I'm on the site it works fine until the next reboot/power down.
     


  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    The IPB error happened not too long ago with me. I haven't found any slowdowns when I first boot up my PC and go here, but I do notice it occasionally if I'm going from like a forum post to the front page or something like that.
     
  3. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    The IPB error was just a random bug that poped up today and was quickly fixed by Costello. As for the site loading up slowly on boot up I haven't experienced that myself, it may just be an issue with your browser.
     
  4. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah i was having it too bit now its fixed [​IMG]
     
  5. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cheers p1ngy! I'll try uninstalling and reinstalling but after that I don't really know where to start looking, any ideas what it might be?
     
  6. Ireland 1

    Member Ireland 1 GBAtemps resident Irish

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    It would not let me in to Gabtemps website for about 10 mins, it is fixed now [​IMG]
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    TrolleyDave do you have browser caching disabled or something?
    you can also try pinging the site and see if you have a latency issue with your ISP...
     
  8. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I uninstalled and reinstalled Opera and Firefox and it's letting me in straight away again now so something must have screwed up the settings somewhere (should've thought to do it before, d'oh!), but it's kind of slow. I think you're right about it being a latency issue with my ISP Costy. In the status bar in Firefox it sits on "Transferring data from gbatemp.net" for ages before the page is finally finished loading.

    I'm not sure if it's the right way to do it but I used a CL util called http-ping to ping the site and it gave some terrible results.

    "Minimum = 1129ms, Maximum = 1418ms, Average = 1317ms"

    I'll get on to BT about it.
     
  9. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yikes thats pretty bad Dave, I just pinged the site and I get this on my end.

    "Minimum = 32ms, Maximum = 51ms, Average = 42ms"

    I used the standard command line method of pinging by the way.
     
  10. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's definitely a much better ping time. What's the standard command line way of pinging?
     
  11. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,294
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Oh yeah sorry, just type "ping www.gbatemp.net" in the command line box, without the "".
     
  12. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm, using that way I get pretty similar results. It seems to be working great again at the minute though. The weird thing about it is when it's having the problem the front page and the reviews works perfectly, it's just that the forum itself that has the problem. Seems to be sorted for now though. Cheers for helping us mate, much appreciated, and to you as well Costy. I'm gonna phone up BT tomorrow though and find out if they've been working on the network around here or something.
     
  13. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    im getting
    min=243ms max=285ms average=261ms
    but atleast the sie is fixed
    you should reset you modem
     
  14. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Minimum = 52ms, Maximum = 63ms, Average = 56ms
     
  15. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Minimun:191ms Maximum:199ms Average:196ms
     
  16. Ireland 1

    Member Ireland 1 GBAtemps resident Irish

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Ireland
    Country:
    Ireland
    I am getting
    Minimum = 107ms, Maximum = 149ms, Average = 127ms.
     
  17. luke_c

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All your connection speeds fail to mine! except p1ngy's of course. [​IMG]
     
  18. soulx

    Member soulx GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    10,130
    Country:
    Canada
    Minimum = 103ms, Maximum = 103ms, Average = 103ms
     
  19. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    Using a mac:

    --- gbatemp.net ping statistics ---
    23 packets transmitted, 23 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max/stddev = 455.456/457.223/471.007/3.140 ms
     
  20. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Ehh... Actually I got this error as well, but you don't need to uninstall or anything. I just removed all my cookies from gbatemp.net and it worked fine. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page