1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,918
    Country:
    United States
    You're never going to get the help you want with that kind of attitude. There are reasons I ask the questions I do because its very obvious I know more than you do and am trying to prevent future issues. But hey, if your console bricks or black screens, I guess won't help you.
     
  2. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    Denmark
    Doesn't AIO just download the update and place it on the SD card? I don't think HOS will notice that.
     
    biggzsizzle likes this.
  3. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,918
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know if it does or doesn't because I don't blanket trust any updater application but even if it does place it on the SD card, the fact that the user had Wi-Fi settings enabled on the console meant the console had downloaded the system update anyways. It lines up with what they said when they were getting the prompt before the AIO tool downloaded the update for them.
     
  4. neumicha

    neumicha Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi,
    I am trying to install some newer NSPs/XCIs (Pikmin 3/Animal Crossing), but Tinfoil keeps telling me "Falied to read NSP metdata".

    My setup is pretty old and I am unsure what I did/installed a few years ago. Looking at the settings and hbmenu shows:
    - Switch version 8.0.1|AMS 0.10.5|S
    - hbmenu v3.2.0 (nx-hbloader v2.3.0)
    - Tinfoil v1.57
    - Goldleaf v0.5

    I also tried to install NSPs via Goldleaf (never tried that before):
    Error 0x236e02 - Invalid PFS0 (NSP) (4535)

    I assume I have to update my switch/tools? Can you tell me in what order (and how) I need to install what?
     
  5. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,918
    Country:
    United States
    Try installing it with TinWoo installer instead.
     
  6. Ibcap

    Ibcap GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Firstly, your switch is way out of date. A quick google search says that 9.0.0 was already out by the time AC launched. So youd probably be unable to run the games if they installed. Secondly, how are you installing them to tinfoil, from the sd? if so, try usb/ftp instead. Fixing one or both of those issues should make the game install. If it still doesnt work then the nsp is probably bad (which you can verify with nscbuilder)
     
  7. neumicha

    neumicha Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Germany
    @Draxzelex Thanks, I'll try TinWoo
    @lbcap How do I update my Switch? Whats the correct procedure to not get into any trouble later on? And thanks, I'll try the usb/ftp way :)
     
    Last edited by neumicha, Apr 17, 2021
    biggzsizzle likes this.
  8. Ibcap

    Ibcap GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Download the firmware (youll have to source it yourself, cant help with that). Extract to a folder on the sd card. Run daybreak (comes in the newer atmosphere versions) and select the folder.
     
    biggzsizzle likes this.
  9. biggzsizzle

    biggzsizzle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    United States
    RIGHT?! And can't you use ChoiDujourNX to manually install the update?? That's why I downloaded it. To install it at my leisure. So I wouldn't have the system do it, itself. I Dont HAVE and attitude @Draxzelex and if you clearly KNOW so much more than I do, then you should've recognized the things I said and did and helped me with instruction from there.

    I'm not a complete moron @Draxzelex , I just simply need to know when is good for me to update the OFW if I have Atmosphere 0.19.1 and OFW 11.0.1 installed.
     
    Last edited by biggzsizzle, Apr 17, 2021
  10. neontiger

    neontiger Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Greece
    Yes, the fusee option in Launch also gives a black screen after displaying the Hekate and Atmosphere logo first.
    I've tried downloading everything from the official repositories but it gave me worse results, now I don't even get to the Hekate menu after sending the payload (black screen after the Hekate logo).
     
  11. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,918
    Country:
    United States
    I can only make use of my knowledge once I have the facts. Based on the information you initially presented, many things didn't add up without making any assumptions therefore the next step is to ask questions until the necessary information has been divulged. This is not being "critical"; this is how you diagnose issues. Doctors don't just answer questions without asking their own questions first because like me, they don't know what you know or have done. And based on your responses, I fully understand what caused your initial problem which the user you quoted did not reply back to because he knows I am right in my assessment.
     
    Crezut and biggzsizzle like this.
  12. Ibcap

    Ibcap GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm that doesnt make much sense... I wonder if its an sd card issue? Hekate runs before loading anything related to the nand/emunand/cfw so the only reason it could fail is a hardware issue as far as i can determine. Even booting the payload without the proper files should give an error screen, so i dont see how it could possibly be an error on your end.
     
  13. neontiger

    neontiger Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Greece
    Tried with another sd card, Sandisk but not Switch version this time, but still get the same black screen after the hekate logo upon launch. Perhaps I should try alternative solutions to partitioning or file-based emuMMC, so far I've followed the guide described at switch.homebrew.guide.
    I believe using an RCMLoader couldn't also be a problem, personally I've sent payloads with TegraRcmGUI in the past but nothing really changed.
     
  14. Ibcap

    Ibcap GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    The thing is that not being able to boot into hekate is strange, that shouldnt even rely on the sd card partitions
     
  15. neontiger

    neontiger Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2020
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Greece
    If by booting into hekate you mean loading up the menu then this happens when I use sdsetup's file collection. The problem appears after selecting a Launch option, according to which I only get to see Hekate or Atmosphere and a black screen afterwards.
     
  16. Ibcap

    Ibcap GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2019
    Messages:
    378
    Country:
    United States
    Try fully deleting the atmosphere, bootloader and sept folders. Download atmosphere and fusee primary from atmospheres github. Push fusee and see if it has the same issue.
     
  17. fvig2001

    fvig2001 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Country:
    Philippines
    Question:

    1. Can a modchipped switch lite work with all future firmware like the unpatched units(assuming atmosphere is maintained)? Assuming the store I foubd is legit.
    2. The nand seems to be the same board. Are the switch homebrew tools updated to work with the lite to resize the nand? The tools in the tutorial only work on unpatched (non broken sd card readers). I am hoping hekate's usb tools work since that's what I used on my unpatched with a broken sd card pin
     
    Last edited by fvig2001, Apr 18, 2021
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,918
    Country:
    United States
    1. The modchip, like Fusee Gelee, doesn't rely on the software of the console but rather the hardware
    2. That is a good question. As far as I know, I have not seen anyone deny that these tools don't work on the Lite nor try it out for themselves
     
  19. burhansalih

    burhansalih GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    872
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi All,

    I have a question which I am hoping I can get some help with.

    I am running latest AMS and HOS with latest version of Hekate. All is good but I sometimes tend to use Tinfoil to see if new game updates and DLC's are released then I manually download anyway so I never install using tinfoil. How do I avoid the red screen when launching Tinfoil. my hekate config is below.....for info if I do not launch into Hekate I usually always boot via Fuse-Primary. I only ever boot Hekate for USB access if needed etc.

    [config]
    updater2p=1
    {------ Atmosphere ------}
    [Atmosphere FSS0 EmuMMC]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    kip1=atmosphere/kips/*
    emummcforce=1
    icon=bootloader/res/emu_boot.bmp
    {}
    [Atmosphere FSS0 SYS]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    kip1=atmosphere/kips/*
    emummc_force_disable=1
    icon=bootloader/res/sys_cfw_boot.bmp
    {}
    {-------- Stock ---------}
    [Stock SYS]
    fss0=atmosphere/fusee-secondary.bin
    stock=1
    emummc_force_disable=1
    icon=bootloader/res/stock_boot.bmp
     
    Last edited by burhansalih, Apr 19, 2021
  20. petspeed

    petspeed GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    694
    Country:
    Denmark
    You can avoid it by launching via the fusee-primary payload. You can also chainload it via Hekate that will also work.
    Alternatively you can rename bootloader\patches.ini before starting Tinfoil and then rename it back again when you are done using Tinfoil.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH