1. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    Well that is an issue of itself since exFAT tends to corrupt the SD card but that can only be rectified by formatting the SD card. Does your computer also say that the card needs to be formatted in order to be read or just your Switch?
     
  2. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    No, I appreciate the advice. It sounds more fun this way at minimum lol. Worse case I get banned and lose access to a couple decent online games.

    So you said that you download the system update in OFW. Do you do it via the official Nintendo 'system update' in settings? I only ask because I figure that would automatically start the process and force you to reboot into their loader but I haven't used the switch much so I'm probably wrong. Do you download an update from Nintendo and then have to click a confirmation to install said update? If so then I imagine when you hop back into CFW you just normally install it instead of using some application like daybreak or choidujournx(Do you still have the Homebrew menu in albums on your sysMMC cfw?)

    The rcm guide is great, though on the section about drained battery and options to take you say the following and I wonder if that would turn off autorcm since earlier in the guide you mention that holding power for 12 seconds while in rcm completely shuts down the switch.
    1. Press the Power button once
    2. Press and hold the Power button for 12 seconds
     
  3. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    To be more precise on what exactly I do, once I am in sysMMC OFW, I just let the console sit for 5 minutes because the Switch automatically downloads system updates if it has proper Wi-Fi settings. Then as stated earlier, I delete the Wi-Fi settings and reboot into sysMMC CFW. Once in CFW, it doesn't particularly matter how you install the update as long as you ensure you are in CFW with AutoRCM enabled. What I do is I just click on any of my games which gives me the update prompt and I accept the system update. So in the end, I avoid using any homebrew applications that install firmware updates like Daybreak or ChoiDujourNX but the end result is a firmware update without burnt fuses.

    Also turning the console off properly does not touch AutoRCM. The only ways to disable AutoRCM are with a system update outside of CFW or manually disabling it yourself. Even if the console runs out of power or you shut it off completely, AutoRCM will stay enabled which is what it makes it so useful.
     
    TheWolfLord likes this.
  4. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Well actually to be honest I bought it already hacked so I don’t know if it was extra or 32. Regardless though, yeah the computer say it needs to be reformatted as well.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Sorry *exfat
     
  5. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    Well then if you had already bought it hacked, how can there be anything on the SD card worth saving to you?
     
  6. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Aight, great. Thank you!
     
    Draxzelex likes this.
  7. GBK

    GBK Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Macau
    I'm starting to use Tinfoil + JITS (FW 11.0.1, AMS 0.17.1, FAT32) and I tried to activate the "Save a copy of the installed title" function in Tinfoil but it seems that it can't save a file larger than 4GB because of FAT32. It won't split the file like file/00,01. I know I can make my own backup afterwards with tools like nxdumptool. Is it possible to make Tinfoil split the copy of the installed title, to save me a few steps? Thanks for any suggestion!
     
  8. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I’ve had it for a week and already downloaded a bunch of games & started playing a few.
     
  9. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    So what changed? The Switch nor your computer don't just randomly start asking to format your SD card unless it was used in another console.
     
  10. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I think something went wrong when I tried to hook it up to my android phone to transfer the cfw files to my switch so I could use daybreak to update the firmware. Think I’m just gonna have to eat the lose and re-mod my switch & redownload everything.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Yeah the switch & my computer keep asking to reformat. So I assume the sd card is corrupted?
     
  11. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    Since your SD card was formatted as exFAT, I wouldn't be surprised if it corrupted. Before your format it to FAT32 though (to prevent future corruptions), you can try individually removing files/folders to remove the offending agent assuming its only that file/folder. Keep in mind that possibly the most important one is the Nintendo folder since that holds any games installed to the SD card. Everything else can easily be downloaded again.
     
  12. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Canada
    Ive been out of the scene. I just read that ReiNX Is not being updated anymore.

    What is the proper way to go from ReiNX to Atmosphere? I originally had Atmosphere and for whatever reason I switched to ReiNX. A while back I tried to switch back over to Atmosphere and it just would not boot. I ended up giving up and put the ReiNX files back on.

    What is the proper way to change without just formatting it and starting from scratch? I have way too many games to have to reinstall them all.
     
  13. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    Just delete the sept and ReiNX folders. Those are the only things unique to ReiNX (ReiNX has its own sept folder which is built slightly differently than the one used in Atmosphere).
     
    ThaDraGun likes this.
  14. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Canada
    And this is the only thing I need to copy over?
    atmosphere-0.17.1-master-49f07b06+hbl-2.4.0+hbmenu-3.4.0.zip
    (
    Obviously extracted and put in the right spot)
     
    Last edited by ThaDraGun, Jan 31, 2021
  15. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    For vanilla Atmosphere, yes. You will also need patches to launch backups since unlike ReiNX, those are not packaged by default with the CFW.
     
    TheWolfLord and ThaDraGun like this.
  16. ThaDraGun

    ThaDraGun GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Canada
    I thought there were patches needed. Maybe that's what I didn't do right last time. Do you recommend vanilla Atmosphere, or is there something better right now
     
  17. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    Well Atmosphere with patches is objectively than vanilla Atmosphere because you cannot install any .NSP files whether they are games or homebrew apps. The issue is there aren't any packs that bundle Atmosphere with the patches by default so you will have to download them separately but the patches are easy enough to put on your SD card.
     
    TheWolfLord likes this.
  18. Dangy

    Dangy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,409
    Country:
    United States
    I tried updating my Atmosphere and hekate to the latest versions earlier and am now getting "An exception occurred <LR 4001F8D4>" error whenever I push the hekate 5.5.3 payload through TegraRCM
     
  19. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    So once you reach the end of your storage, how exactly do you go about making room for game installs other than deleting? Any way to just get another sd card and copy over everything but the games(what folder would have to be emitted?). Though I suspect it isn't that simple with an Emummc.

    Would the easiest way be to do as described here https://gbatemp.net/threads/moving-emummc-hidden-partition-to-a-larger-sd-card.545094/ to clone your card and then just manually delete games to free up the space? Would you be able to just interchange sd cards to play games on the other card?
     
  20. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,012
    Country:
    United States
    If you don't have emuMMC, it really is as simple as copying over your relevant files from one card to another. Any games installed to the SD card will be stored in the Nintendo folder so whether you want to move them over or not will depend on this folder. The game goes for if you have emuMMC even if it is partition-based; there may be a dedicated Nintendo folder for emuMMC specifically.

    If you have emuMMC and want to move your partition over, then following that guide is probably your best bet although I personally have never run into that issue yet so I cannot vet how good or bad the guide is. However if the process does go smoothly and your goal is to have two different sets of games on two SD cards, then you can really just interchange cards to play whatever games you want.
     
    TheWolfLord likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH