1. BigOnYa

    BigOnYa Sofa King Special
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1,128
    Country:
    United States
    From experience.. I was a paid user online w nes/snes service, I used homebrew but no emulators w no prob. no ban for over a year almost, but got tired of same ole bs w nintendy and not enough titles online service, so I started using emulators, canceled paid online service n stayed offline, then just not long ago got sucked into nsp's, wasnt till I recently went back online to see the awful error code, banned! But really don't care cause don't play online and I already have everything I need...:grog: I know wrong forum, but was commenting on others playing online avoiding a ban. Eventually it's evitable esp messing w NSP's
     
    Last edited by BigOnYa, Jan 29, 2021
  2. Pokepicker

    Pokepicker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Norway
    What is the best way to play Majora's Mask on the Nintendo Switch?

    I never played the 3DS version, but understand that it contained quite a few QoL changes. So if possible I think I would like to play that version. But I'm guessing the N64 might be more feasible as it might be more challenging to work out the dual screen part of a 3DS.
     
  3. DaveyMames

    DaveyMames Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I followed the switch guide up to here: https://switch.homebrew.guide/hacking/fuseegelee/aftersetup
    My system is unpatched and vulnerable to fusee-gelee. I downloaded Atmosphere (Hekate) (v0.17.1/2021.01.14) and Hekate v5.5.3 from SDSetup.com.

    After pushing the Hekate payload I tapped "Launch > CFW (sysMMC)". I get this error on the Switch screen "sd card is exfat and installed HOS driver only supports FAT32. Failed to launch HOS”. What did I do wrong?

    I haven't installed any updates. Do I need to install the SD card update in OFW for the above to work?

    My SD card was originally quick formatted in Windows to exfat. Do I now need to restart the whole guide, this time formatting the card as FAT32? How do I do that when Windows 7 doesn't offer FAT32 as an option?

    What's the point in formatting as FAT32 when that means I can't store games over 4 GB in size on the card?
     
    Last edited by DaveyMames, Jan 30, 2021
    VincentVile likes this.
  4. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,054
    Country:
    Australia
    your switch only has fat32 firmware installed, when using the switch the recommened layout is exfat software on switch with a fat32 microSD card for best compatibility

    1) copy the files off the sd card to a folder on pc
    2) use guiformat to format sd card as fat 32
    3) copy files back to fresh sd card
    4) profit

    USB install for adding games to the switch over 4gb, when installing to sd card the switch automatically splits the games so there is no worries that way
     
  5. DaveyMames

    DaveyMames Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks. So do I need to use Tinfoil to install games of any size or do I simply copy and paste games via USB? Just to confirm, are you saying the Switch will automatically split games over 4 GB in size that I install via USB to the SD card?

    Is there any limit to the number of games I can have installed or am I only limited by my storage capacity?
     
  6. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,054
    Country:
    Australia
    Use tinfoil/nut to install games of any size via usb

    the number of games is limted only by storage space on sd
     
  7. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hello! Fairly new to the Switch modding scene but not modding in general. Most games I download through Tinfoil work perfectly but a few, mainly Scott Pilgrim, Doom Eternal & Cyber Shadows, bring up a black screen saying error occurred when I try to play them. I’m currently running on atmosphere, when I go to my system info page it says 9.1.0|AMS 0.16.2|S if that helps. Any tips or tricks greatly appreciated.
     
  8. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have to upgrade firmware to play games installed on emummc?... Probably right? How do you go about doing this without messing with your sysnand.

    Edit: This solved most of my issues. Just use daybreak to install a firmware update.
     
    Last edited by TheWolfLord, Jan 30, 2021
    VincentVile likes this.
  9. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,054
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm willing to bet you don't have a high enough firmware installed... use daybreak to upgrade to a newer firmware also update your atmosphere files :)
     
  10. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I'm deciding if I want to just not worry about this and just update my OFW normally and go ahead and burn fuses. Since I'll always have access to CFW so long as my switch doesn't get fried by the jig(3d printed when not using autorcm so lol), is there any reason to care? I can only imagine regretting this if an untethered cold-boot shows up that requires 3.0.0 or lower. But with CFW you can downgrade anyway... so correct me if I'm wrong but the only issue would be if said hypothetical exploit required the correct number of fuses too. What's the odds of that I wonder?
     
  11. phillyrider807

    phillyrider807 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Country:
    United States
    nevermind
     
    Last edited by phillyrider807, Jan 30, 2021
  12. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,011
    Country:
    United States
    The best possible way is with the N64 version, no debate.

    Personally, there is nothing to gain by burning fuses. Updating without burning fuses is so easy nowadays that it is almost a non-issue and should just be made standard. True, with Fusee Gelee, we can always downgrade regardless of fuse count and there is no guarantee there will be an exploit on a lower firmware but no one knows what the future may hold. If you do decide to burn your fuses, I won't think any less of you.
     
  13. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still holding a 1.0.0 for that rainy day XD. Well, what is my other option for playing online again then? Use syscfw to update OFW then boot into hekate and select stock and play online and basically turn on autorcm and never again boot normally so as to be sure the official loader isn't used? I'm a bit mixed up but won't running syscfw to upgrade without burning fuses be a big flag should I connect online on stock afterwards?
     
  14. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,011
    Country:
    United States
    While running CFW on sysMMC is considered unsafe, it is a risk that I am personally willing to make. In order to minimize the risk, I only run CFW with no homebrew and I do it offline. So far, I have not been banned but I know that can change anytime. I cannot speak for you if you are willing to accept that risk no matter how small for some fuses but that is a risk I'm willing to take.
     
  15. Pokepicker

    Pokepicker GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2015
    Messages:
    237
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks for the reply. Would you care to elaborate as to how I would run N64 games on Nintendo Switch? Do I look into Retroarch? Maybe there is a seperate N64 emulator?

    Other than that, I'm assuming it's as straight forward as loading a SNES rom into an emulator like Snes9x for PC-
     
  16. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,011
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately there is no standalone emulator for the N64 on the Switch. You would have to use Retroarch. More detailed instructions can be found in the Retroarch thread or Discord server.
     
  17. TheWolfLord

    TheWolfLord GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like you make a good point since running a modded console is a risk in and of itself anyway... may be worth it to save the fuses. You say you don't use homebrew on sysMMC, How do you upgrade your OFW? I was using Daybreak to upgrade EMUMMC. I haven't actually entered syscfw yet soooo maybe I need to delete something(Assuming the homebrew pack is gonna be there like for emummc.)

    And any tips to make sure I never accidentally use the official bootloader? Or other best practices to keep in mind/or settings I should play around with.

    Or am I good with just turning on Autorcm? Switch stays in autorcm even if the battery completely dies or it reboots after an update with daybreak or whatever correct, so no way to accidentally use the official bootloader? I plan to mostly stay docked(I guess I'd have to undock to inject with a dongle) but I guess that's fine.
     
  18. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Hello! So I attempted to move some files onto my DS card thru file manager on an android phone so I could update my cfw with daybreak. For some reason it wouldn’t connect to the file manager app on the phone. When I tried to go into rcm to reboot atmosphere I got an error code. Then when I tried to connect the sd to a computer & the switch itself it said the card needed to be formatted to be read. In order to format the card I’ll loose all my saves & games and have to rehack my switch. Is there any solution y’all know for this? Thanx
     
  19. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    15,011
    Country:
    United States
    So in order for me to update my sysMMC without burning fuses, what I do is download the system update in "OFW" by booting Stock mode via Hekate then I delete my Wi-Fi settings, reboot back into CFW for sysMMC, and install the update. You should also have AutoRCM already enabled before installing the update in CFW otherwise you will just burn the fuses. As long as you have AutoRCM enabled, you will never ever use the official bootloader unless you accidentally perform a system update outside of CFW (it happened to me one time by accident which was my own fault).

    As for when the system dies if AutoRCM is already installed, it will stay there so you don't need to worry about re-enabling it. For more information on AutoRCM, I wrote an entire thread about it which you can find here. I should also reiterate that what I am doing is out of my personal volition and the fruits of my research from following the banning situation (I made a thread on that too by the way). You do not have to feel forced to follow my advice if it doesn't interest you or not safe enough.
    Is the SD card formatted as exFAT?
     
  20. VincentVile

    VincentVile Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - questions, PARADISE, SWITCH