Super Mario Galaxy Choppy cutscene fix?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by jmckutchin, Aug 6, 2009.

Aug 6, 2009
  1. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    Hey all, I'm pretty new to the wii hack scene (stuck mostly to PSP and DS), so bear with me. I used Dogegg's tutorial to softmod (as found on Wiihacks.com), and haven't changed any of that initial software. When I load up Super Mario Galaxy with Neogamma R6, it works just fine until you hit a cutscene, at which point the audio gets a bit choppy and the video slows done (I've played an official disc and this of course doesn't happen). Can anyone explain what's going or provide a possible fix? I'd really appreciate it.

    Thanks
     


  2. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    To me it sounds like you burned at one of the stupid speeds, 1x, 2x, 2.4x or 3x.
     
  4. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    Dr. Clipper: I have rev 14.

    WiiPower: I burned at 4x with imgBurn as others have suggested.

    So this isn't a normal issue I guess then? Any suggestions? It seems to happen with Punch Out! too. It only affects real cutscenes (i.e. the intro scene in SMG and the little before the fight scenes in Punch Out!) =, not in-game cutscenes.
     
  5. stanleyopar2000

    Member stanleyopar2000 The Official GBATEMP Thread Killer. No Mercy.

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    3,927
    Country:
    United States
    its free.

    its not going to be PERFECT.
     
  6. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States

    If you're not going to be helpful I'd prefer you'd not reply.

    Of course it's not going to be perfect, but I want to make sure this isn't user error.
     
  7. rickbdman

    Newcomer rickbdman Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure if this is completely helpful, but I had the exact same issue with both SMG and PunchOut, and when I switched to using a USB drive instead everything's been great. I just assumed it's an issue with read speed on burned discs, something that you don't have with the USB loader...
     
  8. jmckutchin
    OP

    Member jmckutchin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    Podunk, U.S.A
    Country:
    United States
    I considered that as well. I may have to look into getting a USB loader.. how compatible are they compared to backup loaders and can you recommend any programs in particular?
     
  9. rickbdman

    Newcomer rickbdman Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't seen a game that doesn't work, though I haven't tried any RockBand/Guitar Hero accessories. Games like Metroid take no time to load levels, so you can open doors immediately, as compared to the 10 second wait with the disc. I'm just using USB Loader GX and a Western Digital passport drive, the kind that doesn't need any plugs other than the USB, which is kinda keen.
     
  10. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    playing a disc backup without a modchip results in a slower reading speed, there is no way around that
     
  11. limesherbert

    Member limesherbert GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    usbloader.
     
  12. Raziel5000

    Member Raziel5000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    disks still run at 3x speed without mod chip. to get full-speed without mod chip you will need a usbloader and external HD. i burned a backup of galaxy at 10x on verbatim dvd-r and still have cutscene lag until i chipped. now i just use configurable usb loader to run my backups.
     
  13. vinzanity

    Member vinzanity GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hell you can burn it at 32X speed and it would still be read by a softmodded wii at 3X. It's the softmod's limitation not the speed of how you burned your backup.

    They are all right in saying that to get 6x you need the mod-chips that are not "clip-ons" or use a usbloader if you are softmodded.
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    The burning speed mattters! If you burn slower than your burner wants, you get a half bad burn, and the Wii reads that disc slower than a good burn, which could result of course in more lag than with a good burn.
     
  15. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    You can burn at 1x, 2x, 4x, whatever x, this will never be fixed. The reason being is that disc backups through the softmod run at 3X speed, while the retail disc runs at 6X speed. If you want it not to be choppy, invest in either a mod chip or a USB HD and use a USB Loader instead, sorry.
     
  16. jono@home

    Member jono@home GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    273
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    because Backups only read @ 3x speed if running from disc.. whereas original run at 6x...


    hardware limitation on the wii... with soft modding...


    a few games do it.. another is wario smooth moves....


    solution... buy a hard drive... run the game via a usbloader... or get the wii hard modded...
     
  17. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I feel like I have an echo [​IMG]
     
  18. nubecoder

    Newcomer nubecoder Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    United States
    I'm surprised no one has mentioned that this is a KNOWN problem with the pal version of this game

    Try looking here: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/Backup_Launcher
    The save game bypasses the cut scene that freezes...
     
  19. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Backups are locked at 3x, while real Wii games run at 6x. This doesn't have much effect on most games, but there are several which require the full 6x when playing cutscenes, etc. Super Mario Galaxy is one of those. The best remedy is to switch to a USB loader. All of your lag issues will be gone.
     
  20. J-Bird05

    Newcomer J-Bird05 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    What about if your using an external HDD (500 GB WD Elements) and you still get choppy cut-scenes? would that be a base IOS problem?
     

Share This Page