Starting again.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jemlee, Apr 19, 2010.

Apr 19, 2010

Starting again. by Jemlee at 1:36 AM (1,126 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. Jemlee
    OP

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    Alright in my country (do not look at flag under my profile, it's different), you can send your wii to the store for repairs as well as soft and hard modding for you to run backups.

    The thing is recently my wii had a hardware failure and so I had no choice but to send it over. [​IMG]

    I hate doing this because if they soft mod they do a crap job [​IMG]

    Whoop dee do whaddaya know, I get it back and it's fixed but they soft modded it... Looks like they downgraded me to 3.2 from 4.0 and installed softmii and two extra disk loaders AND downgraded my HBC...

    So i get pissed and I try to use aq new hackmii to just overwrite their hbc. For SOME reason it looks like my bootmii is missing AND it won't allow me to reinstall HBC and DVDx.

    I want to start from scratch... [​IMG]

    Wii's official reformat or nand formatter? [​IMG]
     
  2. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    your boot2 cant be missing. without one, your wii wont start.
     
  3. Jemlee
    OP

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    Ah mistake... I meant that I installed bootmii before but now it's gone.
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    if i were you, i would first check that all the gamesaves and miis are correct. it sounds like they either made a switcheroo and took your boot2 wii or they officially updated you to 4.2 which removed bootmii.

    if this is still your correct wii, just run the hackmii installer to install bootmii again at boot2. then restore a nand dump from before you gave these dudes your wii.

    if this is not your wii. go back and kick their asses.
     
  5. Jemlee
    OP

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    All the saves and thing are correct and I even have a photo of the hardware number at the bottom which is right, the issue is that I do not have a working nand from before because I wasn't into wii hacking as much back then.

    So the question still stands....Comex nand formatter or wii official format?
     
  6. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    just follow the stickied guide beginning to end and u will be fine
     
  7. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    theres stuff that the official update wont touch. if they put cIOscrap or darkcrap on the wii, then youll have to make sure you remove that stuff.

    if you decide to use the nand formatter, youll need to make sure you use your correct serial number and crap. otherwise you get the one that is there by default and you will have the same one that 1,000,000 other people too dumb to change it have. you also lose all your miis and saves.

    i say your best bet is to not do either. take your time. look and see exactly what is on your nand. and then fix it 1 thing at a time.
     
  8. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    Well if they used softmii CIOSCORP is probably really old, I say, like giantpune does, use the guide that is stickied, follow it step by step and your wii will probably be back at 4.2 and softmodded, also go back their and tell them to use the guide here [​IMG]
     
  9. Jemlee
    OP

    Member Jemlee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    237
    Location:
    Arwing
    Country:
    Japan
    Thx for the advice ppl, Simplistic mod correct?

    ok I'm guessing the only thing i'll need to prepare beforehand is bootmii. thx guys.
     

Share This Page