1. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,447
    Country:
    I have some vague recollection that they may intend to open source the project once they've satisfied they've completed their work on it.
    But in the mean time, the game is easily moddable with its provided mods manager.
     
  2. MultiKoopa

    MultiKoopa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    yeah but the developer for example refuses to release the code to somebody who's trying to port it to Vita, saying there's no point porting to the Vita or some such nonsense
     
  3. ssmatt

    ssmatt GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Works a treat.

    I didn't have the steam version, but I just renamed a rom to Sonic_Knuckles_wSonic3.bin and it seems to work without issues.
     
  4. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,447
    Country:
    I don't believe the ROM name necessarily matters, the program would be checking for a file hash to make sure you have matching data.
    Sonic 3 AIR claims to use the ROM as a data source, but I'm not sure that it really does. It's more just a check that you have the data that the executable also uses.
     
  5. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,064
    Country:
    Japan
    The No Intro rom works fine, and assuming the Steam version is dumped correctly then they should be identical. The important thing is to not use roms with copier headers or in copier formats
     
  6. SodaSoba

    SodaSoba {iconic}
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Last edited by SodaSoba, Apr 8, 2021 - Reason: added video
  7. Skandu-

    Skandu- Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Argentina
    we have sonic cd, 1 2 and 3
    what about the master system remakes? i was wonder if they can be possible to port on switch
     
  8. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,447
    Country:
    There's actually quite a lot of disassemblies for Sonic games, including Sonic 2 on the Master System.
    http://info.sonicretro.org/Disassemblies
    Disassemblies are useful for ROM hacking as it allows you to more easily make changes to Assembly language code, but they are not the source code that would allow for direct porting to other systems.

    Although, someone has worked on remakes of Sonic 1 and 2 Master System.
    https://www.sonicstadium.org/2020/09/sage-2020-sonic-2-sms-remake-goes-above-and-beyond/
    https://sonic-sms-remake.blogspot.com/p/one.html
    Though it's a remake with liberties rather than being a mostly direct port.
    No clue if this remake makes any use of the disassembly, but since it's a Game Maker project is probably just recreates things as faithfully as possible using original assets.

    Actually, because it's made with Game Maker, that would make running it on the Switch pretty easy.
    AM2R has already been ported to Switch by the same virtue of the Switch having Game Maker support, as I recall that's thanks to Undertale.
     
  9. jesus96

    jesus96 Pinkboi
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    286
    Country:
    Mexico
  10. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,447
    Country:
    No clue personally, I've not yet dabbled in Switch homebrew myself, but am aware of a few things around it.
    I'm not sure what the actual process of getting Game Maker games running on Switch is anyway, but there is one and I think it's similar to how the games are brought to Android or something.

    Those Sonic SMS engine fan games have Windows and Android builds anyway.
     
  11. SodaSoba

    SodaSoba {iconic}
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    412
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forwarders are broken/it was compiled with nro2nsp so it won't work
     
  12. TheNintendoEnthusiast

    TheNintendoEnthusiast GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    Confirmed working on Atmosphere 0.19.2 and FW12.0.1 :lol:.

    I made the forwarder compatible with FW 12+

    GameID: 04008C3583A50000
    NRO Location: /switch/sonic3air/sonic3air.nro
    sonic-air-icon001-[05A2073452890000]].jpeg


    Shoutout to SodaSoba for the icon image
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by TheNintendoEnthusiast, May 12, 2021
    jesus96 and SodaSoba like this.
  13. MrPeepee

    MrPeepee Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Has a ps vita port been made yet. I’m dying to play it on my vita lol
     
  14. Tsukiru

    Tsukiru Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Resolution shouldn't impact too much since I don't remember anyone having issues with Sonic 1/2 3D. Special stages would be wild to see on the 3DS though.
     
  15. MultiKoopa

    MultiKoopa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Country:
    United States
    :\ sorry buddy
     
  16. RupeeClock

    RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,447
    Country:
    The mobile versions of Sonic 1 / 2 / CD were built for variable display width.
    Meaning that it will compensate for some phone screens being wider than others in landscape orientation, this made it a lot easier to port the decompilations to the 3DS.
    You can tinker with the width on the PC desktop builds too, but the height is fixed to 240, with appropriate scaling options.



    The point anyway is that Sonic 3 AIR, I don't think was built for variable display width like this as it seems to hardcode everything for 16:9 display support.
    Which unfortunately would make it harder to port the game to any devices that don't use 16:9 screens. I'd be really interested in seeing Sonic 3 AIR ported to Anbernic devices like the RG351V (4:3) and RG351P (3:2) for example.
     
    Last edited by RupeeClock, Jun 12, 2021
    Tsukiru likes this.
  17. Tsukiru

    Tsukiru Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I didn't know this actually, that's super cool. But yeah that seems to be what the main appeal of AIR is.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Sonic,