Homebrew So, the updated Quake ports...

skroooagh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Quake_Wii

So this Piko guy has resumed work on the QuakeGX port with his own branch imaginatively titled "Quake Wii" for now. Fixed a few bugs, added a couple of features and, according to what I've read, can be taken online somehow! Anyone know how? Something to do with a TCP client but I haven't played Quake in so long that I forget how all this shit works. Anyone wanna do a write-up for those of us that don't know how?
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
179
Country
Swaziland
UranusKiller said:
load quake, press multiplayer > join game (with a internet connection)
Yup..simply press A some times, and you have it
smile.gif
. Tried it out, looks good. I played for 15 Minutes, until I killed myself and recognized that I was the only player
tongue.gif
...great...
 

skroooagh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
I never seem to be able to find a connection, is it a Nintendo-brand USB thing? I kno DS homebrew used to hate that thing....
 

skroooagh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
Okay, so I can connect now, w00t! Problem is, the nunchuk controls go totally haywire when I'm playing online, to the point where it barely does what I'm telling it to. Anyone else having these issues?
 

Ben.

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
126
Trophies
0
XP
98
Country
skroooagh said:
Okay, so I can connect now, w00t! Problem is, the nunchuk controls go totally haywire when I'm playing online, to the point where it barely does what I'm telling it to. Anyone else having these issues?

Yeah I'm getting the same
 

skroooagh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
Ben. said:
skroooagh said:
Okay, so I can connect now, w00t! Problem is, the nunchuk controls go totally haywire when I'm playing online, to the point where it barely does what I'm telling it to. Anyone else having these issues?

Yeah I'm getting the same

I'm told that it's because the Wii port uses NetQuake code that just naturally lags and has crappy controls in the way Quake Wii does, I hope it gets fixed...
 

Ben.

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2009
Messages
126
Trophies
0
XP
98
Country
skroooagh said:
Ben. said:
skroooagh said:
Okay, so I can connect now, w00t! Problem is, the nunchuk controls go totally haywire when I'm playing online, to the point where it barely does what I'm telling it to. Anyone else having these issues?

Yeah I'm getting the same

I'm told that it's because the Wii port uses NetQuake code that just naturally lags and has crappy controls in the way Quake Wii does, I hope it gets fixed...


Couldn't Piko use the revamped code? "To improve the quality of online play, id Software released QuakeWorld on December 17, 1996, a build of Quake that featured significantly revamped network code including the addition of client-side prediction."
Found on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quake
 

skroooagh

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
134
Trophies
0
XP
133
Country
Ben. said:
skroooagh said:
Ben. said:
skroooagh said:
Okay, so I can connect now, w00t! Problem is, the nunchuk controls go totally haywire when I'm playing online, to the point where it barely does what I'm telling it to. Anyone else having these issues?

Yeah I'm getting the same

I'm told that it's because the Wii port uses NetQuake code that just naturally lags and has crappy controls in the way Quake Wii does, I hope it gets fixed...


Couldn't Piko use the revamped code? "To improve the quality of online play, id Software released QuakeWorld on December 17, 1996, a build of Quake that featured significantly revamped network code including the addition of client-side prediction."
Found on http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quake

I'm sure he could if he wanted to. He's using NetQuake code because someone else made a Wii Quake port called Q1Rev (based on a DS Quake port) and he just took the code straight from that release.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Searinox tempBOT:
    Searinox has left the room.
  • Costello @ Costello:
    filthy europeans
  • Costello @ Costello:
    mighty asians
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Recovering lost partitions sucks ass
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Attempting to recover a 2tb worth of movies and this 320 weirdly won't initialize
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    huraay for keeping backups
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    huraay for that backup drive being the issue back up a back up of a
    back ups :teach:
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    if only you could encode the backup in your DNA and carry it with you
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    In 20 years we'll probably have micro sd cards implants in our heads
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    microsd?
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I'd be okay with getting my brain taken out and replaced with one as long as its not intel or apple
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    shiet get on with the time grampa, we're using picoSD now
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Only the most important humans will have nvme installed in their head
  • _Shimon @ _Shimon:
    oh shit this exists
  • Arras @ Arras:
    wait this is where the shoutbox went?
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    What are everyone's
    thoughts on gpu prices atm?
  • Arras @ Arras:
    high
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    lol yes they are high, mate of mine just got a 1080 for $700 AUD
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    second hand which is nuts as when the 3070 came out here that's how much it was new at the time
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I
    f you have tech that can decently run games don't buy anything yet wait a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    I just got a core build upgrade, minus gpu due to price, will be running my GTX780 until I can afford an upgrade
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Prices are up because of bots and
    shortages it'll die down with a year or two
  • Adran_Marit @ Adran_Marit:
    Yeah I imagine there will be a short period where prices are low then the next series will come out and low and behold have high prices again
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Today's games look just fine at 1080 with decent 60fos unless you have disposable income it's not really worth it
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: Probably won't be that long until theirs 4k capable apus around $400