SNEmuLDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by sa1amandra, Aug 15, 2008.

Aug 15, 2008

SNEmuLDS by sa1amandra at 9:01 PM (3,208 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    ok so i got version 5 cause 6 is a beta. I'm having trouble with the DLDI patching part.

    I'm trying to play FFVI(known as III on the SNES), if there are any other emu's i should use which is compatible to this game please do tell, if not, please help me with DLDI patching (pictures will help alot)
     


  2. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    First answer what flashcart you got?
    most carts handles the DLDI part automaticly, so don't care about that ( as long as you got a card that does support it..)
     
  3. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    R4
     
  4. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Oh.. ofcourse [​IMG]
    well, the R4 is one of those cards that does support auto DLDI patching.. so you should just be able to start the emulator.

    also, put all your ROMs in the root in the folder "SNES"
     
  5. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    Root meaning the _system_ folder? or my games folder? or none?
     
  6. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    the snes roms should end in .smc right? (like if a nds rom would be NOTAREALROM.nds)
     
  7. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    Root, which means, NO folder at all.
    so, just in in the "SNES" folder.

    and yeah, .smc, and .fig
    is the filetypes.
     
  8. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Roms should end in .SMC or .FIG extensions. And as noONE said, create a 'SNES' folder on your SD. You should also use the latest version, regardless if its beta or not. Compatibility and speed is much better.
     
  9. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    is there a way to fix the graphical problems?
     
  10. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, this emulator is still a work in progress (that sadly died out before it could become a decent emulator).
     
  11. Dragoon709

    Member Dragoon709 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    193
    Location:
    Anywhere there are games
    Country:
    Canada
    I've been trying to get this one to work on my M3 Real since i got it in April and have ha no luck in getting it to run.....doe it even work on this flashcart and if so can someone tell me how. I'm dying to play Secret of Evermore again.


    EDIT: nvm it works now. may be a newer version of the firmware......[​IMG]
     
  12. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    guess i should just buy the GBA version
     
  13. Vague Rant

    Member Vague Rant Deceptively cute

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,980
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    Or a 3-in-1.
     
  14. DivineZeus

    Member DivineZeus GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Rovigo, Republic of Venice
    Country:
    Italy
    Not a bad Emulator, but far away from the "near perfect" quality of Jenesis, NeoDS and Apprentice Minus DS...
     
  15. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    there is NO way to get it to work properly right?
     
  16. Link5084

    Member Link5084 Sword & Shield at your service

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,367
    Country:
    United States
    What are the problems of it while using a Cyclo? Does it make a difference what flashcart you use?
     
  17. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
  18. granville

    Member granville GBAtemp Goat

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,977
    Location:
    Naples, Florida
    Country:
    United States
    No, that fixes an issue in the original PAL version. There's no current way to fix the graphical glitches.

    In other glitches, SnemulDS also has an annoying little gameplay quirk when playing FF6 SNES. Every time you battle, any items not currently equipped will be discarded from the inventory. IMO, that makes the game pretty much unplayable. I noticed this when I got to Figaro and my potions (or tonics) and phoenix (fenix) downs were gone after a battle. It sucks tremendously.

    I really recommend playing the GBA version. It's quite a good conversion, give or take a little. The only noticeable problems are very slight slowdowns in graphically-intensive situations (lots of sprites, effects, mode-7 areas) and some very minor musical degradation (it's pretty faithful, just slightly more techno-styled). The basic game and graphics are identical however.
     
  19. sa1amandra
    OP

    Member sa1amandra Gazzaro Launching!

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    891
    Country:
    Canada
    PORT!!!! I'm just gonna find it in the discount section of wal-mart or find it in the used in EB Games
     
  20. BurlyEd

    Member BurlyEd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    389
    Location:
    Big Hat Country
    Country:
    United States
    SNES emulation on the NDS can never be 100%.
    The DS just does not have some of the required graphics features that SNES uses.
    I use SNES9X on PC for SNES games (or ZSNESW if I want to hex-edit the save state file).

    I agree with granville about the GBA version of FF6.
    Either with VBA on PC or 3in1 plus a slot one NDS flash card.
    I no longer try to play SNES games on NDS - it is frustratingly impossible.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     

Share This Page