Sky3ds / Regionfour Errors

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by bdp612, May 28, 2015.

  1. bdp612
    OP

    bdp612 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    May 28, 2015
    United States
    Have scoured the internet and this site for an answer. Here we go. I'm using the Sky3ds on a New 3DS XL, v. 9.4.0-21U. I found that many roms are EU (where are all the US roms at?). Regionfour seemed like a legitimate solution to that problem.

    With a US rom of Cubic Ninja I follow the steps from the regionfour site. With internet enabled and connection activated I scan the correct QR code, and install successfully. These steps are all working normally, based on the regionfour site and tutorials (specifically for sky3ds/regionfour compatibility tutorials).

    It's the next screen, telling me to change game cards and press START, that things go wrong. I get that screen for about two seconds before it exits to the menu stating: "An error has occurred. Please save your data in any software currently in use, and then restart the system." In those two seconds, there's no time to switch games.

    Every bit of advice on the internet says to clear the game data in Cubic Ninja and go again. I've done that many times. I've formatted and rewritten my sd card too. US games work, so I don't think it's the Sky3ds / writing process.

    Any ideas? Thanks.
     


  2. bdp612
    OP

    bdp612 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    May 28, 2015
    United States
    Bump. Anything?
     
  3. cocoPika

    cocoPika GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    205
    19
    Dec 2, 2014
    Canada
    try EU Cubic Ninja?
     
  4. dandymanz

    dandymanz GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    176
    91
    Dec 5, 2014
    Senegal
    I believe his on a US N3DS XL. So the EU Cubic Ninja wouldn't launch in the first place.
    I use the Sky3ds too but i've never use Region3/4 before. Why don't you get your roms for US region instead? Typing 3ds roms in google gives many good results.
     
  5. bdp612
    OP

    bdp612 Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    0
    May 28, 2015
    United States
    Thanks for the replies. I am indeed running on a US N3DS XL.

    Some torrents don't exist or aren't active for US roms, and sites either aren't carrying what I'm looking for, or are downloading so slow that the download errors out for me after a few hours (with many hours remaining). Maybe I'll pay for the fast downloading speeds on the sites, if I can trust the payment options.

    Still, this problem is weird and a bummer. If anyone knows a fix or has encountered the same thing, please let me know.
     
  6. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    Hello,
    I got exactly the same problem, I have a N3DS Japanese version firmware 9.4.021J . When I install regionFour everything goes fine. However when I press start and it appears the screen to exchange the card, after two seconds it crashes and exit without me doing nothing. My intention was to play games in english on my japanese 3ds. Anyone is having the same problem?
    Regards,
    Filipe
     
  7. foolalay

    foolalay GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    106
    44
    Jan 11, 2015
    United States
    Try a different Cubic Ninja rom and make double check the firmware version for the QR code.
     
  8. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    I already tried it a few times. The thing is that cubic ninja only runs the japanese version, and only one rom works, the 0370, I downloaded from 3 different websites. I only have one sky3ds card that is able to run any japanese 3ds without problem.
     
  9. foolalay

    foolalay GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    106
    44
    Jan 11, 2015
    United States
    You're positive that you set the firmware for the QR code to "New" instead of old ?
     
  10. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    Yes, I tried the old and it does not even install. I tried for 9.2, 9.8, different versions. My is N9.4.0.21J. It install without problem. After installation it appears the display to remove the card and place the card I want to play. But that display only lasts 2-3 seconds before crashing.
     
  11. NEILYOUNG

    NEILYOUNG Member

    Newcomer
    30
    1
    Dec 6, 2005
    France
    Hi I have the same problem on old 3ds 9.4.0.21E
    Cubic ninja Eu region four install but menu tell me to change card it crash
     
  12. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    Here is a video of what is happening. After region four is installed on the save (Correct version NEW 9.4.0.21J) It loads ok and it asked for me to change the card. After just 2 seconds it crashes and it goes back home. I do not click nothing, I do not remove nothing. Just like that. I already tried to place the rom on a diferent SD card and to download from a different website. I am using the same 3DS, New 3DS japanese and the same SKY3DS card.



    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    It seams the 3 of us have the same version, 9.4.0.21, mine is japanese, Neilyoung european and bdp612 american but all 9.4.0.21
     
  13. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    Anyone can help?
     
  14. foolalay

    foolalay GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    106
    44
    Jan 11, 2015
    United States
    It's probably a problem with that specific firmware, try tweeting/contacting @smealum and hope he can fix it.
     
  15. choizmeatz

    choizmeatz Member

    Newcomer
    14
    0
    Aug 23, 2008
    United States
    I have the exact same problem also on 9.8.0-25J new 3DS LL on regionfour. Any solution to this? Sent a tweet to @smealum with screenshot of the japanese error prompt. waiting for reply.

    Anybody here can read the japanese error on Felipe Rosa's video?
     
  16. Filipe Rosa

    Filipe Rosa Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jun 9, 2015
    any news on this?
     
  17. juan_3579

    juan_3579 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    99
    16
    Jun 25, 2015
    United States
    My Japanese isn't perfect, but here is the exact English version of the error (I googled it):

    image.jpeg

    Edit: sorry for the crappy image, hopefully it helps.

    Edit 2:

    The error (for those who can't read it):

    "An error has occurred. Please save your data in any software currently in use and then restart the system."
     
    Last edited by juan_3579, Jul 19, 2015
  18. Vordue

    Vordue Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jul 24, 2015
    I have the very same issue. Is there any update on this?
     
  19. SweetieBelle

    SweetieBelle Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    79
    12
    Aug 20, 2012
    9.4.0.21 J with 0370 Cubic Ninja on a Sky3DS, failing in exactly the same way here too.

    Regionthree does work though.
     
  20. Pikasack

    Pikasack What is a title

    Member
    632
    203
    Apr 27, 2015
    Canada
    Do you have a boot.3dsx on your SD card?