Should I install Bootmii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by acesniper, Oct 5, 2009.

Oct 5, 2009

Should I install Bootmii? by acesniper at 3:10 AM (1,023 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    I've been away from the scene when bootmii arrived so now I think I should install it, but on the Readme it says that:

    Since I am neither of the two, should a regular user install it even though it is in it's beta stage? Will it be of use to me?
     
  2. Mathew_Wi

    Member Mathew_Wi bye

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Messages:
    233
    Country:
    Zimbabwe
    You wont get bricked if you do a nand backup from bootmii. Don't be playing with cIOS jk [​IMG]
    It's just protection for the wii.
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    No reason not to have extra brick protection in my opinion. Frankly I don't see why they have that warning since it's pretty hard to screw something up with BootMii installed even if you try.
     
  4. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'm neither of those as well and I've installed it fine. It's some good assurance to protect against Wii bricks, not to mention some lazy access to the HBC.

    The only drawback is no Wii remote support, so you'll have to not be lazy and fetch the GC remote. Although if you have a wireless one...
     
  5. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Sure, I might as well do it. I'll get back to you guys later.
     
  6. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, it works fine but is there anyway to make it not appear during the startup (like Preloader)? I hate going all the way next to my Wii just to hit A on the GC pad.
     
  7. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    You can either edit the config file (set countdown to 0) or you could download a HBC app named BootMii Configuration Editor.
     
  8. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    Either rename the bootmii folder on your SD card or use the bootmii configuration editor app (it's somewhere in the boot2 section of the bootmii part of my guide) to set it to autoboot either the system menu or the HBC.
     
  9. TRushInfo

    Banned TRushInfo Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    978
    Country:
    United States
    rename the bootmii folder on your SD card to something else like "NOTbootmii". when u need to access bootmii, change the name back
     
  10. acesniper
    OP

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, thanks for all those who helped. I just made a bootmii.ini file.
     

Share This Page