1. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using mocha for a bit and am very satisfied with it. Currently I only use mocha to run DLC on MK8 but I want to get into using retroarch too.

    However, I'm paranoid that one day all the browser exploit sites will go down and I wont be able to use mocha anymore.

    Am I understanding this correctly? If I use xampp/wamp to run an offline browser exploit then my Wii u would be able to access a browser exploit, hosted on my network, offline? Even if all the other browser exploit sites go down i will still be able to access mocha?

    And of course this browser exploit will only be available to me right?
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
  3. AmandaRose

    AmandaRose Do what I do. Hold tight and pretend it’s a plan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    7,012
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. This is great!

    In the unlikely event that this soft brick occurs would I still be able to put the haxchi/homebrew channel files on my SD card and buy brain age from eshop and load CFW that way? Or would I have to initially launch the browser exploit to set up haxchi/homebrew channel?

    Also, what could cause this soft brick? Anything I should avoid doing to prevent the soft brick?
     
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,045
    Country:
    United States
    I don't believe so, no.
     
  6. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    OK. Any idea what could cause the soft brick?
     
  7. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10,045
    Country:
    United States
    not really. I don't know anything indexiine.
     
  8. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    :rofl2:. whatchu doing here then
     
  9. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
    Haxchi would have to be present on your system before installing Indexiine in order to avoid a soft brick. As long as you follow the instructions exactly, the odds of locking yourself out of homebrew are vanishingly small. If you can boot Indexiine successfully even once, it means you don't need to worry about a soft brick.

    The "soft brick" risk comes from the fact that damaging your browser beyond use would lock you out of homebrew without Haxchi already installed beforehand. The only way to fix this kind of soft brick would be to restore a NAND backup using a hardmod. However, as long as you follow the instructions exactly, the risk is near zero. Once you get Indexiine to launch successfully one time, it cannot result in a softbrick anymore.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Jul 13, 2020
    alexander1970 likes this.
  10. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you so much!!

    I'm gonna install indexiine ASAP and I guess of I get really paranoid in the future I'll install haxchi as a backup
     
  11. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
    Once you have Indexiine setup successfully, there's probably no need for Haxchi as a backup if it's not worth the price. Indexiine and Haxchi are functionally equivalent, despite working in very different ways.
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  12. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Gotcha

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Does this work with WUP Installer GX2 or does it have to be MOD Y?
     
  13. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
    You can use GX2 if you're just installing the Homebrew Launcher Channel.
     
  14. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    This may be a dumb question, but I can do this part and then turn the Wii u off?
    Will the browser homepage still be changed after a power off?

    I have my Wii u right now but not my laptop. Can I do step 1 now and then power off and do the rest of the steps later? Or will I have to change the homepage again when I power on the Wii u to run homebrew?
     
  15. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    Can I just open the browser, navigate to google.com, press the home button, click "Wii u menu", then click mii maker

    Or

    Do I open browser, navigate to google.con, press home button, click miiverse?

    I'm confused what mii channel is on Wii u and how to access it without closing the browser.
     
  16. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    I followed all the steps to the letter but when I launch the internet browser it does nothing. Mocha does not automatically load (from quick menu and wii u menu). Running a browser exploit gives me a "FSOpenFile failed" message. Launching Homebrew Launcher gives me error 199-9999 (i'm guessing bc i'm not running cfw)

    Am I supposed to have identical mocha files in both wiiu/apps/mocha AND in wiiu/apps/homebrew_launcher?
     
  17. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
    It sounds like you did not follow the guide exactly.

    Does this exploit work?
    http://u.wiidb.de/

    Edit: you need to have Mocha in both locations.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Jul 14, 2020
  18. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    No.

    I have mocha files in both locations.

    I went through the guide again and I did all the steps. I saved the original "index.html" file on my computer. Any other way to connect to Wii U with FTP and just put the original file back?

    Do I still need to set DNS to block eshop updates? Will nintendo do any more updates to Wii U fw?
     
  19. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,127
    Country:
    United States
    Did you put payload.elf where it belongs for the web exploit (not Mocha)?
     
  20. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    155
    Country:
    United States
    I have "payload.elf" in the wiiu folder. Does it need to be somewhere else too?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Hosting, browser, exploit