1. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks again.
     
  2. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,957
    Country:
    United States
    whenever you hear meta, it's pretty much an overview of an app or file. it's to expedite loading in most cases, so it doesn't have to scan the entire file or folder.
     
    pickinanameainteasy likes this.
  3. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Great! So I assume that if I "Press B to restore index.html" it will restore the Wii U to its pre-Indexiine state. Then after restoring index.html I could still run HBL through a browser exploit?

    Do I still need to change the homepage on the Wii U's internet browser before running Indexiine installer?
     
    Last edited by pickinanameainteasy, Jul 14, 2020
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,051
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can restore the Indexiine backup. However, if Indexiine works, there's no reason to restore the backup.

    You should still change the browser home page and follow the tutorial from earlier, except you're using the installer instead of FTP.
     
  5. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I still have to do this step too?
     
  6. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I assume I only have to do this step if I want to be able to run CFW from the quick boot menu?

    In other words, I don't have to do this?
     
    Last edited by pickinanameainteasy, Jul 15, 2020
  7. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,957
    Country:
    United States
    I can't remember exactly, but there's a bug with quick menu and haxchi I believe where the light on the wii u will flash randomly if quick boot is enabled.

    edit: wait, I think that's cbhc actually.
     
  8. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using mocha but I don't need quick menu. I just want to know if I need to do step 5 in order to finish indexiine installation
     
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,957
    Country:
    United States
    oh, I don't know then.
     
  10. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,051
    Country:
    United States
    I don't use the quick menu. I think it's pointless.
     
  11. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    I agree. So I can safely skip step 5?
     
  12. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Do I still need to install the homebrew launcher channel? To me it looks like the only point of using homebrew launcher channel is to launch cfw from quick start menu
     
  13. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,957
    Country:
    United States
    you'll probably want to install it. it's the only way to get into most homebrew.
     
  14. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    So I was reading through the original indexiine thread and came across multiple people saying that index.HTML file resets itself if you hold down the Wii u power button more than 4 seconds.

    If that's true, that might be why it wasn't working for me earlier because I did a hard reset.

    So anytime I do a hard reset I will need to run indexiine installer and press A to back up and replace index.HTML? (To make indexiine work again)
     
  15. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9,957
    Country:
    United States
    if that's true, then indexiine is crap.
     
  16. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,051
    Country:
    United States
    It is highly recommended that you install the Homebrew Launcher Channel. The goal of Indexiine is to autoboot Mocha a few seconds after launching the internet browser. If you do that without installing the Homebrew Launcher Channel, there's no convenient way to launch the Homebrew Launcher after autobooting Mocha.

    No, Indexiine is not removed when you do a hard reset. Otherwise, it would be pointless.
     
  17. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    Oh. So if I successfully get indexiine working then the internet browser will send me right into mocha and HBL will take me to homebrew menu?

    Does this mean I won't be able to launch the HBL unless I'm running mocha? Or could I leave my browser homepage as something other than the default page, that way I can press the bluedoor to launch mocha and still run the browser exploit to get into HBL without running CFW?

    I'm asking because I use ftpiiu to drop roms for retroarch to my SD card and ftpiiu doesn't work when I run CFW.
     
  18. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,051
    Country:
    United States
    You can program Indexiine to send you to Mocha, or you can program Indexiine to send you to the homebrew launcher, so that's up to you. I recommend installing the homebrew launcher channel regardless, so you have a convenient way to enter homebrew when in Mocha.

    My suggested setup is to have Indexiine autoboot Mocha, since a lot of homebrew applications work better when using the homebrew launcher channel while running CFW (this is for various reasons). If FTPiiU isn't working with Mocha, then you're doing something wrong. In fact, it should only work with CFW like Mocha, so that doesn't make sense. We're not getting the whole story.

    You seem to be over complicating everything, so here is what you should do:
    1. Install the Homebrew Launcher channel (if you haven't already)
    2. Get the recommended browser exploit working (http://u.wiidb.de/)
    3. Install Indexiine
    4. If Indexiine autoboots the homebrew launcher, change it to Mocha
    Setting up Indexiine should not take this long.
     
    Last edited by Lacius, Jul 15, 2020
  19. pickinanameainteasy

    OP pickinanameainteasy GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2020
    Messages:
    152
    Country:
    United States
    To program indexiine to send you to mocha, you just replace the files in wiiu/apps/homebrew_launcher with the mocha files, and rename mocha.elf to homebrew_launcher.elf?

    Also I must have been tripping because ftpiiu is working with mocha
     
  20. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13,051
    Country:
    United States
    Copy the mocha elf to the homebrew launcher folder and rename it, yes. You should not remove anything from the mocha folder.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Hosting, browser, exploit