Seagate 500gb freeagent pro external HDD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Alexrose, May 14, 2009.

May 14, 2009
  1. Alexrose
    OP

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now.. it's very ambiguous on the compatibility page and through discussions I've had with people which ones of these actually work. It seems Seagate Freeagent Gos are really good, however, does this stand for freeagent pro's as well?

    I read through here:

    http://www.gbatemp.net/lofiversion/index.php/t146239.html

    But I'm still not convinced.

    Anyone got any ideas? I really don't want to shell out a huge amount of money on a drive and then find it won't actually work, or it'll go to sleep or something.

    I was thinking that I should just use a third party app to format it to FAT32, then use WBFS manager, use the seagate software to disable sleep mode, then use USB Loader GX to run it.

    I'm also wondering if newer versions of the USB Loader have made these concerns obselete.

    Also, is it true that I should have 1.1 as well for really fast dumping?
     
  2. maximusprimate

    Newcomer maximusprimate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Canada
    I have both the Seagate FreeAgent Pro and the FreeAgent Desk. The Pro is, well, pro... it's got firewire ports, spins fast and is quiet, but was expensive. It's for my computer, and only my computer. The Desk however is a fraction of the cost (I got mine for about $90 Canadian), and does the trick for USB loaders. It's quiet, sleek, and doesn't sleep. Keep in mind, if you don't want it to sleep, you have to download the Seagate program (I forget what it's called, but it's on their website), and change the sleep settings to "never". I unplug mine when I'm not using it to save energy, and I also turned power light off.

    Definitely the best HD I can imagine, the only one I've tried, but from the complaints I hear about other people's drives, DON'T BUY ANYTHING ELSE!
     
  3. G2K

    Member G2K GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    Cambridge, Onatrio
    Country:
    Canada
    I have the Seagate FreeAgent... uh... not sure about wther or not it's Pro or Desk, but it has a power cable. I've got the 500B model which I also got for about $90 Canadian. Works like a charm [​IMG]. One problem though, not sure if it's universal, but mine only works with my computer if my wireless adapter is unplugged, but sometimes it will work even if it is plugged in.
     
  4. Knocks

    Member Knocks GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    I got the portable version with a dock, and it works great with only one USB cable connected.
     
  5. thc42O

    Banned thc42O Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Country:
    Canada
    i have a freeagent desk, 500gb only problem is i have to unplug the power to get the loaders to read it, after that u can play hours and hours without any problems.
     
  6. Moose13

    Member Moose13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I have the 500 pro, with teh triple interface. I can't get the wii to recognize it no matter how many times I unplug it. I went with the 750G WD esential, I got for a steal at $55. Works like a charm. No problems with spindown or anything, the newer models down't shut down until the PC (or wii) shuts down. My kids leave games paused for hours, and come back to play it with no problems what so ever.

    There's a mix of people that had problems with teh Freeagent. Many didn't have problems at all.
    Even if I did get the drive working by unplugging it, it's a fail for me, beacuse I don't want my little guys to unplug anything.
     
  7. Innovative1

    Member Innovative1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I have the 500GB FreeAgent Desk with the swirly lights on the front. It works great (after putting it in 'never sleep' mode). I also occasionally have to power cycle the drive after launching the USB Loader but not every time.
     
  8. ShaneC

    Newcomer ShaneC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States

    640gig here, but same thing. If the Wii is on before the HD, then it works great. If the HD is on first, I have to power cycle it.
     
  9. Empyr69er

    Member Empyr69er GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Country:
    Canada
    I got the 500 gig freeagent desk and it works like a beauty!
     
  10. robman62

    Member robman62 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    seagate outlet was just selling the 500g desks for 60 w/free shipping....I got one for my lappy, but have heard bad things about sgate drives
     

Share This Page