Runescape on wii (Don't Laugh lol)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MeowMix, Oct 3, 2008.

Oct 3, 2008
  1. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Is it possible to run java through wiilinux and then run runescape through that? If not i have a better solution, Vnc. like on the ds there was vnc that let u play pc games like runescape and it ran at like 95% speed which was enough.. so how about VNC on the wii? then make a seperate sound server which would send the sound through.
     


  2. cosmiccinema

    Newcomer cosmiccinema Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    East Tenn
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, I'd rather see Maple Story on the Wii....considering the DS version wasn't good enough to dump for DS, perhaps the PC version would be awesome for the Wii.
     
  3. zsakul2

    Member zsakul2 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Country:
    United States
    Runescape on the wii would be wonderful.. I've been playing it since late 03.. With how homebrews going i wouldnt doubt this possible.. I think it is very possible and if it is i'd love to play runescape on my tv screen and wii [​IMG]
     
  4. JesseAs

    Newcomer JesseAs Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ye it would be possible but very very very very hard too i think [​IMG]
     
  5. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    well, definitely a lot of people would like it.

    personally Id rather see a port of Still Alive
     
  6. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Hmm.. after some research, Runescape on wii through linux possibility? No. runescape requires 128mb ram.

    However VNC would work, it works on DS so it would on Wii, basically you run the server on your pc and login to runescape, then on your wii you run the VNC Client which basically displays your PC'S screen and lets you control it, thus playing runescape. this would run at full speed most likely (my wireless is like 2mbps). the only problem is achieving sound, vnc does not send over the sound. although a seperate program to send sound could be made. with the usb ports, we could have a usb mouse and keyboard, get a USB mouse and keyboard converter and done, you have wireless keyboard and mouse and playing runescape on the tv. only tricky bit here is implenting sound, but really you need is some sound effects. if anyone of you guys have a ds with flashkart, go on youtube and search runescape on wii fusion update, and theres a download link to let you play rs on ds using the touchscreen features and such.
     
  7. Moon_child

    Newcomer Moon_child Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's funny to see that there are still so much people playing that crappy MMORPG.
     
  8. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    yep, so much people.
     
  9. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    MeowMix, your "solution" is so far-fetched, it's rediculous.

    The game only has set requirements because it was developed for those requirements. It can easily be curtailed, especially since the underlying language is all bloated Java.

    Using a VNC for such a horrible game doesn't even seem worth it.
     
  10. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Erm its not horrible.. second we need a vnc client for the wii cos they aint one. go flame somewhere else.
     
  11. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    "Horrible" in terms that a 300MHz P2 is capable of running it flawlessly... "horrible" in terms that the graphics engine is even scoffed at by the DS. My point is simple: why bother trying to get it running on the Wii when computers that cost less than the Wii can run it?

    You're wrong about there not being a VNC capable of running on the Wii. They just take a little knowhow to get running.


    Furthermore, who do you think you are, with so few posts and a blatant lack of insight, to be telling me where to spend my time?
     
  12. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    FYI Last time i check the wii had somewhere around a 730mhz processor, It dosnt really matter the Ds runs vnc at 67mhz almost flawlessly, As long as you got more mhz then that then it should be fine, the wii has a better network card then the ds so it will be faster and tbh i dont really mind if it wasnt faster then the ds the ds is fast as it is for vnc.

    And when did i say VNC will not work on the Wii? It already does, Logmein.com but thats crap.

    To get it running on the wii because it can?
     
  13. Relys

    Member Relys Master of Computer Science

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    860
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of idiot plays runescape anyways..

    Oh, sorry.
     
  14. Sorox

    Member Sorox Master Firo Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    çİş
    Country:
    United States
    Heres what i do. i bot RS, sell accounts to my friends and give up the game for about a month. The game is going to keep sucking until it becomes better graphicaly and strategetically.
     
  15. Shinster

    Member Shinster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Philippines
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!


    [​IMG]
     
  16. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    It's senseless to even argue from a technical standpoint, seeing as you don't seem to grasp that you're comparing apples and oranges.

    With that said, if you had some tact, maybe you would suggest getting a Java interpreter working for the Wii, instead of narrowing it down to Runescape?
     
  17. MeowMix
    OP

    Newcomer MeowMix Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    How about no? All im asking is for VNC and you keep coming out with silly remarks..
     
  18. jinxvorheeze

    Member jinxvorheeze GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Country:
    United States
    First of MeowMix, you need to go back and read the rules. As I'm pretty sure that telling someone to get hit by a truck falls under the no-no section of this forum. (Sinkhead edit: he's right on that one!) As for playing Runescape over VNC, have you ever used a VNC to try and play games? It barely works on good hardware. GfX Acceleration data cannot be transferred accurately over a Network. It's not the amount of Data sent, it's the speed at which it must be translated-sent-retranslated-shown, to the time it takes to input controls in the first place. Your talking over 2 seconds lag at the very least. If you wanna play Runescape on your television, I suggest you plug in the S-Video Cable into the spot on your Graphics card (which 95% of all cards made after 2000 have on them) and then plug it into your television. Don't have S-Video on your TV? Buy an S-Video to Composite cable for $10. Don't have S-Video on your card? Then buy a card that does for $20. The easiest solution is one you can do something about.
     
  19. squirrel007

    Newcomer squirrel007 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Whats the point of playing a game over vnc anyways...
     
  20. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Runescape was originally developed as a MUD game with a graphic overlay, which is why graphics don't look so great

    Of course now it's more like a traditional MMORPG, a lot of the command text is gone
     

Share This Page