revert botw to 1.0.0 and new game for exploits

Discussion in 'Switch - Games & Content' started by souler92, Dec 3, 2017.

  1. souler92
    OP

    souler92 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    260
    118
    Jan 5, 2017
    Netherlands
    i kinda wanna delete all the patches and play on 1.0.0 botw, but when i delete them and i want to start it tells me to update the game(even with wifi off)

    i didnt delete my save, but if i delete my save is it then possible to play on 1.0 ? because i dont want to delete my save, to find out i still have to update....
     
  2. KiiWii

    KiiWii GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,194
    2,326
    Nov 17, 2008
    United Kingdom
    No its not, once a game is updated it requires a system update to play.

    If you remove the update, it still requires system update to play.

    It doesnt roll back this updaged nag.
     
    peteruk likes this.
  3. Edgy_Edge

    Edgy_Edge GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    154
    77
    Apr 2, 2017
    Uganda
    Hey OP, what a strange avatar. Is there hidden meaning in it?
    Buy a WiiU and install any BOTW patch you want.
     
  4. g00s3y

    g00s3y Asshole

    Member
    420
    317
    Aug 6, 2008
    United States
    FL
    It means OP thinks driving a car that can't make it over speedbump without breaking everything is cool.
     
    TotalInsanity4 and Edgy_Edge like this.
  5. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    13,897
    6,421
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    I don't think even a factory reset (while keeping saves) will let you play it again, possibly not even a full format.
     
  6. Edgy_Edge
    This message by Edgy_Edge has been removed from public view by Sicklyboy, Dec 4, 2017, Reason: nicememe.tiff.
    Dec 3, 2017
  7. Risingdawn

    Risingdawn Tempallica

    Member
    778
    620
    May 22, 2010
    United Kingdom
    I can't remember exactly how it works but I believe you can revert to 1.0.0 following the same process of removing another regions NNID.

    There is a Reddit thread about it, you'd need to Google it and rolling back updates was purely hypothetical on my part but there was a reason I believed that process could also be used to roll back updates, I just can't remember why ;)
    Edit:It's the process for removing another regions news feed..
     
    Last edited by Risingdawn, Dec 3, 2017
  8. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,978
    3,024
    Dec 19, 2014
    Antarctica
    It doesn't work, I've tried it.
     
  9. jt_1258

    jt_1258 GBAtemps Midna

    Member
    2,060
    1,270
    Aug 21, 2016
    United States
    The Twilight Realm
    so the way its sounding here is that even if you have the game cart you can't roll back the update, so in a sense with the way they have it set up they have it written to the nand that a game has an update if you ever connect online and never allows you to play if you don't have the update?
     
    Nowonmai likes this.
  10. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,978
    3,024
    Dec 19, 2014
    Antarctica
    If you connect online, it still lets you play the current version for as long as you want. But after you install the latest update, you can't go back to any older version.
     
  11. Risingdawn

    Risingdawn Tempallica

    Member
    778
    620
    May 22, 2010
    United Kingdom
    Weird, I thought entering maintenance mode unlinked the update files from your account, which is why when you "initialize keeping save data" you then have to archive the game, eject the cartridge, reinsert then download the update files again, due to the existing save game not matching the version number.

    My theory was if you initialized the console, removing the save game, the updates would be unlinked and allow the cartridge to be played from 1.0.0 again.
     
  12. x7l7j8cc

    x7l7j8cc Member

    Newcomer
    41
    41
    Jan 26, 2014
    Italy
    Italy
    if you have a Cartridge game, then after delete the update/dlc etc.
    You can do, 2 options:
    1) Delete your savedata.
    2) Create a new user (switch user only, without nnid) and play
     
  13. Super.Nova

    Super.Nova GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    313
    118
    Dec 20, 2009
    Saudi Arabia
    Under Government Suppression
    Shouldn't deleting your save file and removing updates prompt a clean new game from v1.0.0?
    I know OP doesn't want to delete their save file but I'm just asking either way.
     
  14. Risingdawn

    Risingdawn Tempallica

    Member
    778
    620
    May 22, 2010
    United Kingdom
    You have to unlink the updates from your NNID too, I'm not sure it still works exactly like this but essentially the ticket for the update would still be stored under your NNID. The console would still know of a more recent update available, in the same way it knows you have purchased a game.

    You may have to completely remove your NNID from the Switch to roll back if maintenane mode isn't un-linking the update.
     
  15. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,978
    3,024
    Dec 19, 2014
    Antarctica
    Remember: NNID and Nintendo account aren't the same!
     
Loading...