1. TurdPooCharger

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    5,342
    Country:
    United States
    post #566 regarding merging multiple files into a single BIN + CUE.
     
  2. FateForWindows

    FateForWindows GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1,107
    Country:
    United States
    You'll need to find a different dump as Picodrive is incompatible with ISO/MP3 and BIN/CUE/MP3 dumps (as far as I know, correct me if I'm wrong). It's possible to convert it to a dump that will work, but I don't have the time right now to list out all the steps and the end result will still have slightly lower audio quality than an authentic rip (which has the music in its original PCM format rather than converted lossy MP3s), though that usually doesn't matter anyway given the speakers.

    I could try to see if I can post the steps I'd take tomorrow, though.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
  3. Tom-B

    Tom-B Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2019
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If this is for the Old 2ds/3ds, what's the best genesis emulator for the New 3ds? Presumably that can be the same but without the reduced audio?
     
  4. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,297
    Country:
    United States
    This emulator already uses 44khz on New 3DS. The audio engine is still less accurate than GenesisplusGX which you can run on Retroarch, albeit a few games are just shy of fullspeed on New models.
     
    FateForWindows and Tom-B like this.
  5. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Do you know which games that might be? I'm just curious.
     
  6. Rahkeesh

    Rahkeesh GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2018
    Messages:
    1,297
    Country:
    United States
    Mega Turrican has a few frame dips in specific areas, like when you're on the upper platforms between flame jets just before dropping down to the first miniboss worm thing.

    I've had trouble on more games with slightly older versions of retroarch, like S3&K special stages running badly, but that may come down more to unoptomized default settings on older versions.
     
    FateForWindows and Zense like this.
  7. Johnny675

    Johnny675 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you for this great emulater
    I noticed that it runs better with bin / cue images
    When trying to use ISO / MP3 like on the PSP version to save space the game froze more lunar Silver Star or lunar Eternal blue and some games weren't playing at all
     
    Zense and Robz8 like this.
  8. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Argentina
    The emulator works better with Euro version of games since they have a lower framerate.

    If you have the big 3DS or 2DS there is a emulator for that one that takes advantage of the more powerful hardware.
     
    Robz8, Zense and AmandaRose like this.
  9. SCOTT0852

    SCOTT0852 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,124
    Country:
    United States
    This is that emulator.
     
  10. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,852
    Country:
    United States
    U mean Old 3DS XL as it's a big one?
     
    FateForWindows likes this.
  11. raxadian

    raxadian GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2018
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Argentina
    And the New Nintendo 2DS XL.
     
  12. igdegoo

    igdegoo Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    is there a cheat pack i can download
     
  13. Dodain47

    Dodain47 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,975
    Country:
    Austria
  14. Sigurd776

    Sigurd776 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Does anybody know how to get Sega CD Roms to run on Picodrive?
     
  15. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Yes, you need to run the .cue file. What game and what filetypes do you have?
     
  16. Sigurd776

    Sigurd776 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm trying to play Sonic Megamix 4.0 and Sonic CD. Megamix doesn't have a .cue file and when I try and look for rom files, the Sonic CD .cue file isn't shown
     
  17. Zense

    Zense GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,027
    Country:
    Italy
    Ah I see. Maybe I was wrong about it having to be .bin and .cue. Maybe it needs to be .iso. I know it's possible since I've used picodrive for Sega cd games before.
     
  18. Johnny675

    Johnny675 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    It depends which version of pico drive your using
    On my PSP I could use Iso/mp3 and convert the Iso to a CSO to save space
    On my 3ds I can only use Bin/Cue
    The same with my pocketgo 2
    You also have to make sure you have the bios files in the right folder and named correctly
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [Release], PicoDrive,