[Release] FBI - Open source CIA installer

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by Steveice10, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. David Cortez

    David Cortez Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    May 16, 2016
    United States
    Having an issue can anyone help? I downloaded .cia dragon quest 8 but once i go to install in FBI i get an error message

    Result Code: 0xC86044D2
    Level Status (25)
    Summary : Out of resource (3)
    Module: FS (17)
    Desc: Partition Full (210)
     
  2. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,523
    5,385
    May 27, 2016
    United States
    New York
    Is your sd card full? It says partition full...
     
  3. David Cortez

    David Cortez Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    May 16, 2016
    United States
    I have deleted 3 games well over the storage this game needs and still same error message
     
  4. Candy7

    Candy7 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Jan 27, 2017
    Italy
    @David Cortez How big is the game you want to download and how much is big your SD Card?
     
  5. yoshinatsu

    yoshinatsu GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    379
    175
    Sep 14, 2009
    Greece
    Downtown Jigoku
    Would an auto-shutdown (or at least auto-sleep) function after CIA installation be possible with a future update? Or do we not have this level of control through homebrew? It'd be really nice if we could keep those huge CIAs installing while we're away or alseep without having to worry about screen burn-in etc.
     
    Last edited by yoshinatsu, Feb 3, 2017
    I pwned U! likes this.
  6. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend

    Member
    10,523
    5,385
    May 27, 2016
    United States
    New York
    Screen burn in is still a thing we have to deal with in 2017? What madness is this technology of this decade? :wtf:
    Also, i still agree, eshop installs during sleep mode (lid closed) is cool, not even freeshop can do that, and i only use it to download demos from other regions. Some are kinda big for a demo, those region exclusives. :P
     
    Giodude likes this.
  7. Gotolsete

    Gotolsete Newbie

    Newcomer
    5
    0
    Oct 12, 2015
    Colombia
    Hello there, I've encountered a problem with FBI, and even if it was in 2.4.2, the error is still on 2.4.7. A while ago I tried to send a game through SocketPunch, but I saw the game would need around 5 hours to send and install, and thus, I cancelled the sending of the .cia, from that day on, my New Nintendo 3DS stopped being able to connect to the wi-fi I tried to send the file over, do you know any possible fix for this?
     
  8. shafty710

    shafty710 Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    91
    13
    Feb 28, 2009
    United States
    South U.S.
    Been a while since I've been in the 3ds scene. Just updated my Luma to 6.6 and I am now team a9hl. ;)
    Used to use Devmenu/BigBlue Menu to install cia & dlc with no problems, but I just updated FBI to the latest 2.4.7

    2 Questions:
    - As of 2/2017, is FBI the fastest/best method to install both cia & dlc compared to the rest (Devmenu,BB Menu)?
    - Can FBI use my internet connection somehow to speed up cia installations? If so, how can I access this power?


    Thank you for help!
     
  9. OkabeChris

    OkabeChris Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Feb 14, 2017
    Mexico
    Excuse when I try to install to install a cia it reaches like 7-10Mb and it stops with an error and then it seem the sd become undetected and I have to rebooted it for it to be detected, i can install other apps like chmm but the games placed in my sd for install won't install I can install through qr code but not all games are avaible so what's the problem?
    Error
    Failed to install cia file
    result code: 0xC9604548
    Level: Status (25)
    Summary: Internal (11)
    Module: FS (17)
    Desc: Bus error / TWL partition invalid (331)
     
  10. eroz76

    eroz76 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    238
    55
    Feb 13, 2015
    United States
    Chicago
    Sounds like you sd card is going bad. Same error as yours in this thread. https://gbatemp.net/threads/problems-installing-cias.429215/page-3#post-6921441 Below is the solution.

     
  11. CainhurstKnight

    CainhurstKnight Member

    Newcomer
    16
    0
    Nov 16, 2016
    United States
    Hi, i'm following this guide:
    https://3ds.guide/updating-a9lh

    In the section IV, i got a error:

    Failed to open file listing archive
    result code 0xE0E046BE
    Level: Usage (28)
    Summary: Invalid Argument (7)
    Module: FS (17)
    Desc: Invalid Path / Inaccessible archive (702)

    I have to copy arm9loaderhax.bin in the CTR NAND. I am in the sysnand, in the emunand works fine (but i think the guide is telling to do this using the sysnand...)
     
    Last edited by CainhurstKnight, Feb 15, 2017
  12. OkabeChris

    OkabeChris Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    0
    Feb 14, 2017
    Mexico
  13. Steveice10
    OP

    Steveice10 GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,103
    1,661
    Jul 19, 2009
    United States
    FBI v2.4.8 has been released.
    • Fall back to region-based language if a title does not have a name for the current system language.
    • Treat .cetk files as tickets.
    • Fix self-overwrite check when FBI has a different unique ID.
    • Fix TWL cartridges being sorted at the end of the title list.
    • servefiles: Add .cetk to supported extensions.
    • servefiles: Add drag-and-drop batch file. (@Remnence)
    • servefiles: Exit with code 1 if a socket error occurs.
    • servefiles: Miscellaneous clean-ups and improvements. (@emeric254)
    • servefiles: Use /usr/bin/env for shebang.
     
  14. PrometheusG.

    PrometheusG. GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    322
    127
    Jun 27, 2016
    Greece
    thank you for you hard work Steveice10 !
     
  15. Blaithnaid

    Blaithnaid Member

    Newcomer
    10
    0
    Oct 9, 2015
    Is there a way for me to get FBI its own icon on the home menu, instead of it occupying my H&S app? I've just finished following 3ds.guide
     
  16. fr3quency

    fr3quency GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    797
    348
    Jan 11, 2016
    Greece
    Wherever my imagination decides.
    Download the latest .CIA and open H&S app(which is FBI) and install the .CIA that you downloaded. So now you will have the FBI in home menu and the FBI in H&S app(you can restore the H&S app through Decrypt9 I think but it's not needed)

    Sent from my Nexus 5
     
  17. mike4001

    mike4001 Member

    Newcomer
    33
    7
    Sep 27, 2016
    Australia
    It seems you didn't finish the guide ;-)

    In https://3ds.guide/installing-arm9loaderhax Section VI you install FBI from within the H&S injected FBI version and then reinject the original H&S app into H&S.
     
    eroz76 and KunoichiZ like this.
  18. leezantua

    leezantua Member

    Newcomer
    17
    2
    Feb 13, 2017
    If i installed all titles using cia files, if i need to delete some games do i just select uninstall titles and NOT the uninstall title and tickets?
     
  19. Blaithnaid

    Blaithnaid Member

    Newcomer
    10
    0
    Oct 9, 2015
    Ah! okay. Seems I missed that step :P I reinjected FBI and got that installed. All done!
    Now I've done that, can I just put .cias on my sd card and install them with FBI?
     
  20. Giodude

    Giodude GBAtemp's official rock

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Giodude is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,235
    1,309
    May 17, 2015
    United States
    New York
    Lg v10 has massive screen burn and it came out November 2016. I don't get it.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Actually, what alot of people don't know is you don't have to do that. If you simply go inside fbi and hit update, it installs the fbi cia to your home menu.