ROM Hack Recommended Programs

matthewn4444

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
I want to try to translate some text from Etrian Odyssey 2 and I've been reading around. I know I'm a noob at this because I'm still a beginner.

Does anyone have any recommended programs (like hex editor) for translating text (something that reads shift_JIS)?

valyr

Trophies
XP
Country
here try this

Winhex32

Njstar

just unpack the rar file
have included some japanese table files that work quite well 1 in s-jis and
1 in euc standards

to read japanese fonts on winhex press ctrl-d to switch between ascii and unicode modes
and load the required table file (you need to be in unicode mode)

EDIT: am uploading njstar japanese/english wordprocessor for you as well (have found it useful)

EDIT2: njstar is up now

matthewn4444

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks I'll try it out. I'm sorry again but how do I do a relative search. I look for the Japanese text and relative search, but it doesn't work (maybe because the tutorials on romhacking only work on nes/snes).

Edit: Thanks for helping me. I still can't get it to work (I meant I can type/see the Japanese text) it can't find anything after I search. Maybe I don't understand what a relative search is. Anyways if you know a good tutorial can you tell me one? (I read the one on Gbatemp already).

Flam9

Trophies
Website
flamnews.info
XP
Country
Canada
Translating is much much harder than just using a program which works on every single game out there. No single program works on all roms.

matthewn4444

OP
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Thanks for the feedback guys. Ok, I tried to change the text in the Skill's name but when I changed it and reloaded the game, I didn't see any text. (like it was all blank). Is there a specific code I am suppose to change to make it able to read/view the text in the game?