1. _Tim_

    _Tim_ Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Belgium
    I would like for someone to verify olfa's findings. Please download the latest version of my program from here. First use the "scan" command to find a game with a fragmentation count of 1. Example: "gw3ds.exe scan x:". Try to load/play that game. If it worked, use the "frag" command to fragment the file into 2 fragments. Example: "gw3ds.exe frag -frag 2 x:\game.3ds". Try to load/play the game. If it does not work, it means that the Gateway clones don't tolerate ANY fragmentation. I tested the fragmentation on a Gateway card and the limit is 32 fragments.
     
  2. Allen90

    Allen90 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Romania
    anyone managed to play any online games?
     
  3. alirezay

    alirezay GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    United States
    so today i updated my 3ds link!but i cant play nsmb2!every other game works great but after i start the game 3ds logo comes and takes more time than usual and a black screen comes that says "an error has accurred..." and sometimes in multirom menu it says cluster error(nsmb2 used to work on last version)
    any help?
     
  4. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,063
    try that program there, sounds like they just changed the "fragmentation error" text into "cluster error"....yay for text string editing.....if you see a word you just HAVE to change it no matter what
     
  5. AmeenX

    AmeenX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    269
    Country:
    Antigua and Barbuda
    It's said on their website 32GB max!
     
  6. fatkinglet

    fatkinglet Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Does Animal Crossing New Leaf work now? I am not able to load the games and is there a list that shows what games are still not supported?

    thanks
     
  7. satan89

    satan89 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    India
    It doesn't work yet. I haven't tried patching it but I heard that won't help it either.
     
  8. olfa

    olfa GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Bolivia
  9. dartuil

    dartuil Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    France
    Oh man so bad.What was your firmware?
     
  10. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    Can you check if it's a gateway brick or some problem that happened to your console? . first thing to check would be the errcode as it's always the same on the gateway bricks. Then if its the same check if you can if you have access to the nand or not
     
  11. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,063
    :unsure:ooof that was a long delay....but then again so was the first brick for gateway users on b2
     
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I told you it would happen! I had my suspicions and here the brick wave cometh !
     
  13. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    Please.. wait for him to confirm if it's a gateway brick or just a problem he had
     
  14. zerofalcon

    zerofalcon GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    666
    Country:
    It's not the same bootrom errcode (olfa confirmed on the unbricking 3ds thread)... we have to wait a little longer to confirm if this is gateway's brick code.
     
  15. ghjfdtg

    ghjfdtg GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Country:
    Panic over nothing. That's the errcode, some people get if they connect a card reader to the NAND, which means it's a electrical problem.
     
  16. gamesquest1

    gamesquest1 Nabnut
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15,063
    lets just wait for confirmation either way....could also be that he just copy and pasted the details from else where to not have to type it all up and assumed it was the same..........but if that is indeed the error code he is getting it does seem like it might be a short or something

    EDIT: ok.....now looking into olfa it seems they have a hardware modded 3ds.....it could be possible one of their wires has come loose and is shorting out resulting in the bsod.....it also appears they have:rofl2: a raspberry pi too, so we will find out soon enough i would imagine......might be a bit embarrassing for them to come and admit it though :P.....but theres no reason to be you where only looking to warn people if this was the case :D
     
  17. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    621
    Country:
    More than possible. I hardly believe they made their brick code random just because instead of bricking tons of consoles at once .... they will brick like what , 1 , 2 consoles? then everyone will remove it.
     
  18. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Country:
    Chile
    oh really? last time a random (poor) soul, claimed this once unknown blue screen of death was because of poor NAND soldering he did, and his 3DS wasn't even modified in 1st place. Which caused the unbricking research to happen and .. well you know the rest.

    Also olfa helped with a few tests while the bricking occured. I'd stay away from R4i 3ds carts or faulty bricking code
     
  19. masterzero

    masterzero GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    621
    Country:


    Still the error code is not the same that happened with gateway bricks or emmc locking , so it's more than obvious that it's not a brick code fault. Still if he has the hardware mod why not easily check if it isn't really the brick code? the emmc should be locked if that was the case.

    Stop telling people to stay away from r4/3dslink cards , not gonna happen. Even if there was brick code , the brick is right now "Easily" fixable ( at least doesn't even need a nand dump)
     
  20. Coto

    Coto -
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,710
    Country:
    Chile

    No. R4i carts were the first ones to begin bricking consoles, then gateway did. Also if you don't have anything else to add besides "3ds can be fixed so who cares", refrain from commenting, there is people who can't afford a device to unbrick, or don't have the knowledge to do it.

    Also, we discovered the issue because no one wanted to blame the cart vendors. I'll re post everywhere where it's neccesary to stop using devices that may cause your 3ds to die
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - firmware, released, Edition