R4i (1.4) working on DSi XL or not?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by mechagouki, Mar 25, 2010.

Mar 25, 2010
  1. mechagouki
    OP

    Member mechagouki Kill 'em all...

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm sure some NA members have DSi XLs by now (work at retailer (they have machines in stock already) or something), and I know the NA machines are shipping with 1.4U firmware, can anyone confirm R4i 1.4 is working on these machines? Thanks.
     
  2. Damian666

    Member Damian666 Coder from Hell

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    614
    Location:
    In your code...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if ya mean the r4i from www.r4ids.com, then i can say yes.

    else, no idea xD

    Damian666
     
  3. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    why r4 [​IMG]

    as long you are getting the recent batch of r4 then it should be compatible with r4i
     
  4. rickth64

    Newcomer rickth64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I had an R4i Gold Upgrade from www.r4igold.cn and it worked, but I threw it away and bought an AceKard2i [​IMG]
     
  5. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Best thing to do if you own an R4. It prevents n00bs from getting one.
     
  6. Thoob

    Member Thoob LOLmonade.

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Most DSi-compatible carts launch on an XL, but a few have issues when actually in use.
     
  7. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Such as?
     
  8. Lakerfanalways

    Member Lakerfanalways GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    825
    Country:
    United States
    Does the AceKard 2i have any issues or are they fine with the DSi XL
     
  9. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't know what Thoob is talking about. The DSi XL is almost completely identical to the DSi (excluding the size). DSi flashcarts should work flawlessly on a DSi XL.

    If not, I just wasted $25 (although the Acekard 2i is confirmed to work on the JP and EU versions of the DSi XL).
     
  10. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    so far yet to hear any complains on ak2i and many claimed it works [​IMG]
     
  11. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    Haha I just got mine for $15
     
  12. NDSRevolution

    Newcomer NDSRevolution Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Kind of annoys me this, the DSi XL is more or less the same as the DSi, the R4i SDHC (Happy Box 2010) is working 100% on both.

    Fact, this has been tested by our geek squad and also we have sold plenty to DSi XL owners, we asked them for feedback and the only issues people seem to be getting are their own, such as installing incorrect Kernels.

    Make sure you get thjem from a place that knows waht theyre on about, make sure they offer support, and you should be fine, R4SDHC don't deserve the press they get, yes the old ones did have issues, but the 1010 releases (Red Cards) are bang on, Im not saying buy from us by the way, you can buy them wherever you want, just be sure the place has a bit of a tech section prior to purchasing.
     
  13. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,882
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    BTW, the R4 you're talking about IS A CLONE.
     

Share This Page