R4 themes not working?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by InuYasha, Jan 29, 2008.

Jan 29, 2008

R4 themes not working? by InuYasha at 7:00 PM (2,511 Views / 0 Likes) 23 replies

  1. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    I can't get themes to work for the life of me,I took the theme folder from 1.11 firmware put in the required themes files in the theme folders still nothing,and yes i've hit select at the main R4 menu......
     


  2. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Do they have all the proper images and are all 24-bit bmps?
     
  3. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure,also someone sent me there working themes folder and they still didn't work......problem is i've never gotten any themes to work on the R4,reguardless of firmware.....
     
  4. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Did you follow that? You could be missing some stuff.
     
  5. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    _system_ folder

    [​IMG]

    themes folder
    [​IMG]

    inside one of the themes folder
    [​IMG]
     
  6. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    That looks about right. Try reformatting. *shrugs*
     
  7. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Something just dawned on me,do folders require to have any options checked when you right click and hit properties?
     
  8. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    No.. it should be just fine the way it is.
     
  9. InuYasha
    OP

    Member InuYasha Professional Coke Fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,778
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm then I guess i'm out of solutions......
     
  10. kompact

    Newcomer kompact Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Deleted.
     
  11. Talaria

    Member Talaria ...

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    ...
    Country:
    New Zealand
    Delete the _DS_Menu.sys (4MB) off the root of your card and then start the card up on your DS and the problem should be fixed (hopefully). Just an idea
     
  12. kompact

    Newcomer kompact Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Deleted.
     
  13. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Did you have some empty theme folders when you tried it before?

    Edit: I just tried adding empty theme folders to my card, and that didn't break anything.


    I can't imagine how changing the view mode in windows explorer would make any difference. It only sorts the files on screen, it doesn't change anything on the card.
     
  14. kompact

    Newcomer kompact Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Deleted.
     
  15. roothorick

    Newcomer roothorick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having the exact same problem. I've tried placing the theme in every single location I can find even the slightest reference to, including _system/, _system/themes/theme01..12, system/_system, system/_system_, and even all at the same time. I've even tried downgrading my firmware to 1.13 and 1.14 to no effect. My only other theory is that maybe the R4 firmware is picky about themes' physical locations in the filesystem (i.e. must be contained within the first 64MB of the card or something.) I'm going to go dig up the disk that came with my R4, load it up that way, and see if I can get the stock themes to work with the shipped firmware.

    -EDIT-

    Ladies and gentlemen, we have a bug.

    Here's the EXACT commands I did:

    # mkfs.vfat /dev/sda1
    # mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/usb0
    # mount /dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom1
    # cp -R "/mnt/cdrom1/system v1.11/English-1.11/*" /mnt/usb0
    # umount /mnt/usb0

    Took the card out of the reader, put it in my DS, the shipped 1.11 firmware booted up. Hit select, nothing happened.

    -EDIT2- I sent an email to R4. We'll find out on Monday what the official response is.
     
  16. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, you're having a different problem that has the same symptoms.

    Due to a difference in the way Windows and non-Windows OSs deal with filenames in FAT volumes, and a bug in the R4, all of the theme files & folders (including the _SYSTEM_ folder) have to have their filenames in all caps when you use a non-Windows OS to write the data to the card.

    Furthermore, you can't rename the files to the same filename in all caps while they're on the FAT volume, you have to remove them, rename them, then copy them to the card.

    Someone wrote a bash script (I think it was a bash script, I don't use a real OS so I'm not sure) to do this automatically, but thanks to all the SSBB tards flooding the site the search engine has been taken offline and I can't find it for you.
     
  17. kompact

    Newcomer kompact Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    Deleted.
     
  18. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I've heard. I have no way of testing it myself, and I got all of that from memory because the search engine is down, but I think it's correct.

    It's not just the folders, all of the theme files need to be in all caps.
     
  19. roothorick

    Newcomer roothorick Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Basically what you have to do is, copy over your entire "_system_" directory to your hard drive (any old place will do), and then manually change the case of EVERY file and directory using mv. DO NOT use rename, because for whatever reason, if you change only the case, it doesn't do the right thing. Then, you use mv again to copy the new "_SYSTEM_" directory back onto your card. Then your R4 will see it.

    If it's having issues with Moonshell (the infamous "Cannot find _DS_MSHL.NDS" error) then try something along these lines:

    # rm /mnt/usb0/_DS_MSHL.nds
    # ln -s /mnt/usb0 English
    # unrar x English-1.15.rar English/_DS_MSHL.NDS
    # rm English

    That worked for me.
     
  20. Smwbigboss

    Newcomer Smwbigboss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah this is true. I'm running Ubuntu 7.10 and I have to rename the files every time I add a theme. I don't remember having to do this in the older R4 firmware versions though, it just stopped working back in fall.
     

Share This Page