R4, memory card or DS problem?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Switchy, Sep 12, 2007.

Sep 12, 2007
  1. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    Hello all.

    A couple of weeks ago, after doing a lot of research, I ordered an R4 along with a 1GB MicroSD card (Kingston - Japan).
    I dug out my DS Phat from the dust that was its blanket (Bought it on the release and had hardly played it!)
    It worked perfectly! The whole DS world was at my feet! [​IMG]

    But good things don't last, eh?
    A little over a week ago, I started having problems.
    Sometimes my DS wouldn't recognize the R4 when booting, which I assume is normal as I've read so many people have this little issue.
    I can perfectly live with it, although sometimes taking out the R4 and blowing on the contacts on the cart as well as inside the DS wouldn't help and I'd just be taking out the cart and putting it in again 4 times in a row before it would be recognized.
    My other BIG issue is that games get stuck. In the middle of playing them, not when starting them.
    This happens to several games, not just one.

    The first thing that came to mind was that I had to format my MicroSD card and so I did.
    Yet, right after formatting the card and reinstalling the V1.11 again, a game got stuck again while playing.
    I contacted the shop where I bought my R4 and explained everything.
    They said that they believed that my problem lied with the MicroSD card and that I should send it back to get it replaced.
    I thought it was odd as I'd written that I could read the card perfectly on my computer, and could write and read from it without any issues.
    But yes, I considered it as a possibility. Before sending off my card (and possibility to have my daily DS fix!), I bought myself another MicroSD card in another store around the corner yesterday. This is another 1GB Kingston Japan card.
    Everything seemed to work perfectly up to now. Yet another game got stuck!

    Tomorrow, I'll be mailing the shop where I bought my R4 again to write that I'm having the same problems with a new memory card.
    The thing that I'm worried about is... Are these problems most probably caused by my R4?
    Or could it be my DS Phat which is showing its age?
    See, the shop charges quite a lot if you return a product that is working perfectly!
    And this is not something along the lines of: "It's broken." but more along the lines of "It works but sometimes I have a problem".
    See my issues?

    I'm just wondering if other people are having or have had the same problems?
    If so, what were they caused by?

    Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me!
     


  2. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    It may simply be the game that you're trying to play. Make sure it is a clean ROM. Can you tell us what game/games are hanging?
     
  3. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    The ones I can come up with from the top of my head are:

    - Animal Crossing (trimmed)
    - Clubhouse Games (trimmed)
    - Feel the Magic XY XX
    - Tamagotchi Connexion Corner Shop 2
    - Touch Detective (trimmed)
    - Trace Memory (trimmed)

    I've gotten nearly all my ROMs from the same site of which I think is quite reliable, although I can never be sure, really.
    Are these games known for having bad dumps?
     
  4. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    What did you use to trim them?
     
  5. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    I used R4DS ROM Trimmer 2.0 which I got from the R4 official site.

    Another question, could one bad ROM corrupt the others on a card?

    I'm sort of starting to think there's a bad contact between my DS and the R4, but don't know which of the two could be to blame.
    Maybe I should spend a couple of hours playing with my original carts to see if the same thing occurs..
     
  6. Beware

    Member Beware GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    991
    Country:
    United States
    Just try using clean, untrimmed ROMs. See if that solves your issue.
     
  7. XeroRestraint

    Member XeroRestraint GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United States
    I'd recommend reformatting it as FAT32 if it's not already. I've heard of some people having problems that were miraculously solved by formatting FAT16 --> FAT32
     
  8. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    Both cards were formatted in FAT32 and my problems have occurred with both trimmed and untrimmed ROMs but I'll be replacing my trimmed ROMs with untrimmed ones. I hated how sometimes intros were trimmed and such. And as I almost always play at home, it's not that hard to switch ROMs from my computer to my card and the other way around. [​IMG]
     
  9. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Might be the trimmer cutting off necessary info. Try a different (popular) rom trimmer. I suggest NDSTokyoTrim.
     
  10. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm not trimming games anymore [​IMG] It's pretty useless for me.
    But I will be replacing my trimmed roms with untrimmed ones.

    Just... The games have been hanging with untrimmed roms as well.
    Maybe I'm just having bad luck with my games after all then, eh?
     
  11. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    It might be your source. Try a different site/location.
     
  12. maxpowersin

    Member maxpowersin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    India
    Country:
    India
    An unusual problem there!!!

    For me the only game which ever gave problems is Worms.

    But that's just because of the "arm7" thingy!!

    Maybe there is a fault in the r4?
     
  13. Freaker

    Newcomer Freaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Had a similar problem. I actually had a spare MicroSD from my mobile phone which I tried as well. I still had the occassional hang. I'm pretty sure it wasn't game specific either - it'd hang in Phoenix Wright, Advance Wars, Chocobo Tales, just whenever it felt temperamental.

    Since getting my DSLite it's only frozen a couple of times mid-game. I'm not sure if it can be completely attributed to the DSLite, but obviously there was an improvement somewhere.
     
  14. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    Maybe I should use this as an excuse to get myself a very pretty & shiny Lite [​IMG]

    Well, I've been in touch with the store where I got my R4 from and they've asked me to send them my R4 and memory card to see what is going wrong since it's not a problem they've encountered up to now. I am not a happy puppy [​IMG]
     
  15. thomasroberts6

    Member thomasroberts6 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    496
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THats very weird.... Mkaes me wonder if this might happen to me after a while [​IMG]

    This is a stupid question, but what is a 'DS Phat'?


    Does it mean the original NDS?
     
  16. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Yea.

    DS Phat = Original DS
     
  17. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    Well, I've decided to sell my Phat and get a Lite instead.
    If the problem still occurs, that'll mean it's the R4 and I'll have it exchanged.

    Now only to find a way to get that Crimson/Onyx to Belgium without paying twice the value [​IMG]
     
  18. maxpowersin

    Member maxpowersin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    India
    Country:
    India
    Most likely it's the r4.

    Check the r4 in your friends' ds phats and lites.
     
  19. Switchy
    OP

    Member Switchy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Belgium
    Sadly, I know no one with a DS :-(
     
  20. gravolik

    Newcomer gravolik Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunately, this happens to two of my three R4s.
    The games will just freeze right in the middle of playing. I use untrimmed roms and it happens on any/all of them.
    It is really annoying when playing Animal Crossing because then you have to put up with that Resetti bastage. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page