R4 FAILIURE

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by dragonsroar, Jan 25, 2009.

Jan 25, 2009

R4 FAILIURE by dragonsroar at 5:03 PM (859 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. dragonsroar
    OP

    Newcomer dragonsroar Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    CAN ANYONE HELP EVERYTIME I TURN DS ON _DS_MENU.DAT IS DISPLAY.IF YOU CAN IM A NOVICEON PC NO TECHNICAL TERMS PLEASE
     
  2. Reaper

    Member Reaper Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    United States
    THAT IS WEIRD PROBLEM
    DID YOU REINSTALL 1.18?
    DO YOU HAVE A CLONE
     
  3. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    NICE USE OF TOO MUCH CAPS, GUYS. DID YOU INSTALL ANY FIRMWARE AT ALL?
     
  4. NDStemp

    Member NDStemp GBAtemp?! No! NDStemp

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    627
    Location:
    Canada, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh I wanna join! :

    REDOWNLOAD THE FIRMWARE THEN YOUR PROBLEM MAY BE SOLVED. ;D
     
  5. dragonsroar
    OP

    Newcomer dragonsroar Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    i downloaded something called a kernal 1.8 but still no joy
    whats a clone

    Posts merged

    where will i get firmware
     
  6. skyman747

    Member skyman747 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    399
    Country:
    United States
    A CLONE SHOULDN'T AFFECT IT. THAT HAPPENS IF YOU DON'T HAVE ANY TYPE OF FIRMWARE ON IT.
    LOOK ON THE BOX. IT SHOULD SAY A WEBSITE. DOWNLOAD AND PUT THE FILES INSIDE OF THE ZIP FILE ONTO YOUR MSD CARD!
     
  7. Surexius

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Was it working correctly previously?

    I'd agree with the others. Simply clear your SD card (copying over the games and save files) and simply reinstall all of the most recent software.

    If your stuck just follow the instructions on the CD.
     
  8. dragonsroar
    OP

    Newcomer dragonsroar Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    didnt come with a cd
     
  9. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    This is the biggest problem with "R4" these days. There are so many clones it can be difficult to determine if the one you have is a clone or not.

    Most likely, you either didn't put ALL the necessary files on the card, or you are trying to use the official firmware on a clone, which won't work.

    Do you still have the box the R4 came in? What URL did it say to go to for firmware on the box? Can you take a pic of the front of the box and let us see it? We may be able to determine what firmware you actually need to use to get it to work for you.
     
  10. Surexius

    Newcomer Surexius Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well download R4 version 1.18 and stick it onto your SD card

    It should have the following folders:

    '_system_'
    ''moonshl'

    and 2 files:

    _DS_MENU
    _DS_MOONSHL.NDS

    Hope that helps. You do know that the card won't work unless you install the software right? Also it should have had a CD in the package.
     

Share This Page