Quick DLC question

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by thesund0g, Aug 15, 2010.

Aug 15, 2010

Quick DLC question by thesund0g at 7:02 AM (1,198 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. thesund0g
    OP

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Is DLC usually hosted on the NUS servers or on a third-party server? If it's on NUS, can we pull it with NUSD? I understand without the ticket it's useless, just curious if the content is available for reinstall. I don't have a lot of NAND free and haven't got DJ Hero & RB2 working on UNEEK. My wifi doesn't work reliably, so I'd rather do an offline install.
     
  2. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty much all DLC goes through NUS. You can indeed pull several files using NUSD, since the DLC has a title TMD listing its contents, but as you've said, it's not any use to you since you don't have the ticket and, more importantly, it has not yet been decrypted and keyed to your Wii. DLC contents also tend to include some extra files that can't be obtained via NUSD without extensive fiddling with settings.

    So, you can grab the files and stare at their encrypted contents, and that's about it.
     
  3. thesund0g
    OP

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have the tickets, just looking for a little less hassle.
     
  4. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    I'm confused by what you are trying to do;
    It appears that you have a lot of DLC content you have purchased but you dont have room to store it all on your NAND and your wifi isn't reliable enough to re download it directly to the Wii. Why not just use several different SD cards?
     
  5. thesund0g
    OP

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    RB2 doesn't care for my SDHC cards for some reason, and I don't care to buy more just for that one game. I want to download the content on my PC, throw my ticket from my Wii on there, pack it and install at my leisure. Maybe I lack a fundamental understanding of this; I avoided all music games until DJ Hero came out, then I broke down and bought a used drum set and copy of RB2 for like $35.
     
  6. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    if i had to take a guess, its because rb2 doesnt support sdhc cards.

    just a shot in the dark, however.
     
  7. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    Rock Band 2 doesn't support SDHC cards, only SD cards (typically 2GB or less, although some companies make 4GB SD cards).

    I could also tell you that pirates have made a set of PC tools for downloading DLC on your computer, but I assumed that was common knowledge. Google it if you're into that kind of thing.
     
  8. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Well RB2 only works with SD (2GB max (tho there is talk of a rare 4GB non SDHC working)) so that could be the problem.
    I'm not trying to tell you what to do, but from my thinking the best way to go about this would be to:
    1. Buy a cheap 2GB SD card (hell I think they can be had for less than $5.
    2. Load up RB2 copy all the DLC you want and store it on the SD card (I assume you dont have a need for more than 2GB per game.
    3. Stick the SD card in your computer and save the contents to \RB2 DLC\ or the like, format SD card.
    4. Repeat 2 and 3 for DJH

    Now you can take the card and just copy the files for whatever game you want when you swap back and forth and you wont have to spend time downloading the DLC to your computer, well worth $5 IMHO.
     
  9. Mrkinator

    Member Mrkinator Neil Peart Wannabe

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Great White North, Eh!
    Country:
    Canada
    RawkSD 3 will support SDHC for RB2, so just wait for that.
     
  10. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Babies have been born in less time than RawkSD 3
     
  11. SFenton

    Member SFenton ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Derp
    Country:
    United States
    Not only are we in the beta, but we brought forth children into this world as well. :> Is there anything this thing can't do?
     
  12. Szalkow

    Member Szalkow RawkSD Cheerleader

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    673
    Location:
    Uni
    Country:
    United States
    I know misquoting is immature but it's so much fun.

    We're in beta and the program works beautifully. Once Aaron gets back from vacation and a few more bugs get squashed you impatient lot might get to try it.
     
  13. thesund0g
    OP

    Member thesund0g GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    The Boonies
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Thanks for some more feedback guys. Like I said, I avoided all the music games and any threads pertaining to them for quite some time because they just didn't appeal to me, so I'm completely in the dark about this RawkSD stuff, etc.

    OK, getting off-topic, but can anyone point me to a good entry-level guide for getting the games (not DJH, the others) to work on USB loaders/UNEEK? I didn't have much luck, got frustrated and gave up for the time being. I couldn't even get a burned backup I made of RB2 to work, only my original, which surprised me. I have a cIOS for just about every base available installed, what bases will work?
     
  14. jakejm79

    Member jakejm79 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    I would suggest either cIOS rev20 since it gives you a selection of bases and slots. You will need either one based off IOS 37 or 56 (37 was the popular option for USB instrument games since that is what the earlier ones used, but it has been discussed a few times that 56 offers almost identical compatibility and increased speed) and just install it to the slot you want (preferably slot 250 or 249) and then make sure you USB loader is specified to use that IOS slot (250 or 249) for the music game.

    My setup is has follows:

    cIOS rev 20 base 56 installed in slot 249, I use Wiiflow 2.1 (249 version) and every game I have loads with default settings, including RB2, B:RB, GH5, BH, DSI:PH and my RB2 instruments and DLC on SD card work with all flawlessly.
     
  15. DunkrWunkah

    Member DunkrWunkah GBAtemp's Official Dunkr

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Country:
    United States
    LOOOOL WUUUT
     

Share This Page