Question about PSUs

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by mflo, Feb 6, 2008.

Feb 6, 2008

Question about PSUs by mflo at 11:44 PM (635 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    okie doke. I plan on getting an eVGA 512MB 8800GTS. And according to a few google searches, 8800GTS card requires a minimum of 400w with a +12V @ 26amps. I've looked at a lot of PSUs and none of the 12v rails exceed 17-18a. So I'm guessing that the minimum requirement for the 8800GTS is just a sum of the 12v rails?
    So this PSU Here has a total of 35amps on the 12v rails, and that is what counts?

    -Thanks in advance
     
  2. Devante

    Member Devante Crescent fresh at best.

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,212
    Country:
    United States
    How is a regular guy who wants a good graphics card supposed to know about stuff like voltage rails and amps per rail?

    Anyway, I'm not completely clear on the whole voltage/rail/amps thing.
    I always though a 500w power supply meant you were getting a 500w power supply. I didn't realize there was so much involved.
     
  3. mflo
    OP

    Member mflo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't know either. I'm just going to assume that my speculation is correct.
     
  4. Pigiot

    Member Pigiot GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Put it this way. As long as the power supply is sli certified and it is a 8000 series card, it will work. SLI certified power supplies work with all geoforce 8000 series card but make sure it fits in your case.

    Edit: forgot to mention that psu will work with that card. dont 4get to take in account every other detail. e.g. proccessor
     

Share This Page