Qts about CycloDS firmware on M3real

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Pamela, Feb 10, 2009.

Feb 10, 2009
  1. Pamela
    OP

    Newcomer Pamela Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I wanted to know if the CycloDS firmware would work on the M3real. I just ask this just in case the M3real ever turns into the R4 so I could continue to update my firmware and not have to buy another card for a while, thanks!
     
  2. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    No, the CycloDS firmware won't work on the M3 Real. Nor will any other firmware, for that matter. The only firmwares that work on it are TouchPod and M3 Sakura. iTouchDS can be hacked to work on it as well, but that's only because the hardware inside the two cards are practically identical.
     
  3. Pamela
    OP

    Newcomer Pamela Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    FL, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I see, thanks for the information!
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    actually, it's perfectly possible.
    it just takes so much effort, and requires half the firmware to be rewritten in order to work properly.

    a similar trick has been done before, tough incomplete.(remember m3sakura dldi version? the unofficial one, not the beta version)
     
  5. hdofu

    Member hdofu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    you can't just magically wave a magic wand and make the firmware work on hardware it isn't designed for as the above poster said.
     
  6. Densetsu

    Former Staff Densetsu Pubic Ninja

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,435
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    That's what I meant [​IMG]

    I was just going under the assumption that no one is willing to take the time to rewrite the code from scratch just to get it to work on another flashcart. There would also be legal issues. I'm sure Team Cyclops would be pissed off if someone released their firmware for another, cheaper flashcart from a competing company.
     

Share This Page