PuzzleBoy v1.02

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by Minox, Dec 30, 2009.

Dec 30, 2009

PuzzleBoy v1.02 by Minox at 1:17 AM (5,456 Views / 0 Likes) 24 replies

  1. Minox
    OP

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    PuzzleBoy v1.02
    Update
    [​IMG]
    maRk2512 has released a new update for his homebrew game PuzzleBoy. For a list of changes, see below.

    Changelog:
    FIXED: Missing confirmation box for "Restart map" and "Save + Quit" when you use the START and SELECT key. - Again thanks to M.Lucanius

    - Added a autoave function. When you solve a map your progress will be automatically saved.


    [​IMG] Download
    [​IMG] Source
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. nicky041192

    Member nicky041192 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a fine piece of homebrew
     
  3. Deathstryker

    Newcomer Deathstryker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't seem to work with Sakura 1.45b X (not newest but the one from the 28th) on my M3i Zero. I get black screens.
     
  4. 25FF

    Newcomer 25FF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Innanets, Indonesia
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Doesn't work on R4 either, even with manual DLDI patch. Same black screen as above.
     
  5. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Hi,

    first i have to say "thank you" for trying my game.

    I've tested my game with the latest version of Sakura (M3Sakura Ver1.45 X 3rd The Europe/USA/Asia Version, 31-12-2009) and it work's fine on my M3i Zero.

    I have no R4 so i can't test it by myself.

    Sorry, that's all i can say... [​IMG]
     
  6. Deathstryker

    Newcomer Deathstryker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try the newest Sakura and see if that corrects it.

    Also, is the recommended install method to place the folder in root or place the .nds file in root? I tried both ways.

    EDIT: Nope, that didn't fix it for me. Even when I try to access the launch options for the game it locks up Sakura.

    What kind of DS do you have and what's the size of your SD card? It might not mean anything but I still want to try some different variables and see if I can get this to work.
     
  7. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    I have DSLite and DSi. SDCard is a Kingston 1GB and a Sandisk 2GB.

    I think that is normal because these options are not for homebrew games...

    PuzzleBoy on M3iZero with Sakura http://www.mediafire.com/file/qxzmwky32mj/PuzzleBoy.avi

    Hope that helps...
     
  8. Deathstryker

    Newcomer Deathstryker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I found it out. It will only run from the NDS folder and not the root drive for some odd reason.

    The game is quite fun, btw. I'm on level 25.

    The only decent sized bug I've encountered is that sometimes when you move away from your initial start spot, you can't go back over that spot. This sometimes makes puzzles impossible to complete. It seems to act like you are still there in that spot so you can't move any levers that have to travel over that spot. Restarting the level fixes it though.
     
  9. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  10. Deathstryker

    Newcomer Deathstryker Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the fast response. I've played the new version a bit more and it seems to work well. Thanks.
     
  11. dib

    Member dib GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,561
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure the exact level from the screenshot is from Kwirk.
     
  12. kamo

    Member kamo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Country:
    Italy
    Just want to thank maRk2512 for this great piece of homebrew. I loved Kwirk as a kid, it's great to play this remake on my DS. Do you have plans for additional features? Maybe a highscore system where you can get points for finishing a level in record time. Or a list where you can replay already beaten levels.
     
  13. mhkwong

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i cant seem to get it working on a ak2i. anyone managed to get it working?
     
  14. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you very much for all your positive comments!! [​IMG]

    Sorry but there are no more features planned. I've worked nearly a year on this game and i start to hate it! [​IMG]
     
  15. mhkwong

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i normally have my .nds files in a folder. i tried that. that didnt work. so i tired putting it on the root. that didnt work either. are you using the official firmware or the akaio? i really want to play this game again. i used to have it on my gb. but i have lost the cartridge.
     
  16. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  17. mhkwong

    Member mhkwong GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok nevermind it works now. akaio ran puzzleboy and created the puzzleboy folders. but it didnt create the .sav file. i created it myself, and it works. thanks for the great game port.
     
  18. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    @mhkwong: Good to hear that you get it working on your card.

    BTW a "PuzzleBoy.sav" is not necessary because the game reads/writes direct from/to SDCard via FAT. The .sav files is for saving with flash memory used by "non-homebrew [​IMG] " games.
     
  19. MadBob

    Member MadBob Nostalgia ain't what it used to be!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,529
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Once I has pressed to save and quit, but then cancelled and continued playing, the end of level tune did not play, also any thoughts on adding the Kwirk music to the game?

    and also how about the Going Up / Heading Out selections where it gave random order up to 99 levels (once you chose how many) I think tha Going Up is pretty well covered but Heading Out would be a good addition.

    Great game BTW
     
  20. maRk2512

    Newcomer maRk2512 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    @MadBob: Thanx for the positive comment and the bugreport - i will check/fix this ASAP...

    As i said some posts before: I work nearly a year on this game and i begin to hate it... [​IMG]

    I don't have the passion to do more then bugfixes and small additions, sorry... ...but i think 136 maps is puzzlestuff enough.
     

Share This Page