PSP turning off when entering recovery menu

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by TCC Tan, Nov 29, 2009.

Nov 29, 2009
  1. TCC Tan
    OP

    Newcomer TCC Tan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly like the title says. I tried looking around on google, but couldn't find an answer to it. It's a 1001 series. Using a Pandora and MMS with DCv8. When I hold L to get into the recovery menu, it just switches off. It got into the menu fine earlier, but now it totally bricked. Can anyone offer help?
     


  2. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    It's toally bricked now? If you turn it on without hitting either shoulder buttons it doesn't do anything at all? Or your recovery menu is "bricked"? Recovery menu is R not L by the way. That could be the problem right there.
     
  3. TCC Tan
    OP

    Newcomer TCC Tan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I set my Pandora recovery to come up when L is held. If I don't hold that down, it stays on, but it's still bricked.
     
  4. rontonimo

    Newcomer rontonimo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tryed hellcat recovery?
     
  5. TCC Tan
    OP

    Newcomer TCC Tan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Wouldn't work, it's bricked. Can't access the firmware's recovery menu either.
     
  6. Raika

    Member Raika uguu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4,864
    Location:
    uguu
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you can't even access the recovery menu you're most likely screwed... Your psp's most likely bricked.
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you holding L when you are putting the battery in?
    I don't think it does it if the battery is already in
     
  8. zhuzhuchina

    Member zhuzhuchina GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    537
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Country:
    China
    install again with pandora battery and magic stick the custom firmware?
     
  9. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    ^^^Do that. Try reinstalling CFW and see if that gets you anywhere.

    Putting a pandora battery in your PSP will boot it bricked or not. I've had to do it myself a couple times.
     
  10. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well she cant re-install when she can't access the MMS menu.
    It sounds like her Pandora is fine. It might be her MMS.
     
  11. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    If your trying to get on and play your PSP with a pandora battery and MMS in it, then that could be a problem as pushing L on the pandora install screen might have made you do something to your PSP you didn't want to do. I haven't seen that install screen in years so I can't be certain if pressing L does anything though.

    And I'm pretty sure you need a regular battery and a normal memory stick in your PSP to access the recovery menu. The recovery menu is built into the CFW and has no dependancy on a pandora battery to boot.

    Put a regular battery and memory stick in your PSP. Still bricked? Put your MMS in your computer, make sure it's all good, slap MMS into PSP, put in your pandora battery, and reinstall CFW. Just keep coming back here after everything you try. I'll get your PSP up and running [​IMG]
     
  12. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you can use a pandora as a normal battery.
    She can just use the AC charger.
     
  13. -aXe-

    Newcomer -aXe- Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Just have plug in the AC charger then put the battery in if you don't want to be tied down. Or you can just use the AC charger with no battery in. I know how to make 'em work. Had to mod a phat PSP with a slim battery. You learn all the battery tricks when you have to do that >_
     
  14. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
     
  15. Shardnax

    Member Shardnax GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Country:
    United States
    I'd say that post covers it.

    My original battery exploded, so that's what I've been doing. It has a 6 - 7 hour life depending on what games I'm playing it can be less though.
     
  16. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Gutted.
     
  17. TCC Tan
    OP

    Newcomer TCC Tan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks you guys for your replies. I tried your method, piratesmack, but it had the same symptoms. Then I violently smacked it and hooray! It works! ...But....

    Extracting special updater.prx....
    Loading updater modules
    Checking updater .PBP.... CHECKSUM FAILED!

    Expected: 0x50470aff
    Got: 0x3bea0054

    Canceling install!

    Any idea what that means?
     
  18. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get a different firmware eboot.
     
  19. TCC Tan
    OP

    Newcomer TCC Tan Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Well, there it goes. Same non-responsive state again. Maybe it's the frame, I think it's a bit warped and it's not allowing proper operation or something.
     
  20. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,764
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    try reinstalling cfw is what id do? do you mean it goes off once you get to the cfw install menu? do you have a nand backup?
     

Share This Page