problems with twilight hack

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kenio8185, Aug 12, 2009.

Aug 12, 2009
  1. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I was modding my wii (which is fully up to date), and I encountered a step that I can't figure out how to get past. I'm at the part early on where you have to copy the usa twilight hack onto the wii. The wii isn't letting me copy, it see's it there, but every time I try to copy, it says something like "this may not have been copied", meaning, it didn't copy. How can I get through this?
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    the only problem i see here is that your still using the tp hack!

    follow my guide to get backups up and running on your wii
     
  3. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Twilight Hack is old news now. Try using BannerBomb.
     
  4. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    U can't use twillight hack on wii foresee over 3.4. Use bannerbomb my friend much easier google it
     
  5. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,178
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    +1
     
  6. Mark McDonut

    Member Mark McDonut GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Country:
    United States
    you have a newer system menu that blocks copying the hack which is why it won't work.

    Like bowser said try bannerbomb. It's the "next" TP hack.
     
  7. jabmaster2

    Member jabmaster2 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    United States
    U can't use twillight hack on wii foresee over 3.4. Use bannerbomb my friend much easier google it
     
  8. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    just one thing about this new thing, these last three steps:
    1] Get NeoGamma and set it up on your sd card.
    2] Grab a USB loader [i recommend USB Loader GX or Configurable USB Loader] and set it up on your sd card.
    3] Download CiosCorp 3.2 [not recommended for novices] [[or at all by some people]] for playing games directly through the disc channel.

    Are they important and if they are, can you explain what they do and what I need to do with them?
     
  9. Tux'

    Member Tux' GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Location:
    The flat lands.
    Country:
    Canada
    1. Neogamma is a backuploader to load backups
    2. USB loader loads iso's from a HDD pr thumb drive formatted to WBFS
    3. I would/wouldn't reccomend it. I don't I have cioscorp and I play backups through the disc channel. It's all because of a patched ios60(yes, no?)
     
  10. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    neogamma is for playing backups. same thing with usb loader cept it uses a hard drive. i wouldn't mess with cioscorp since you don't know what you are doing. make sure you have preloader and bootmii as a ios or bootmii as a boot2.
     
  11. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada

    Also, tanis698, how can I make sure about the bootmii as a boot2?
    On my sd card I currently have a folder that says Preloader .29, and inside it there is a boot.dol file. Is that what you meant?

    AND, one more thing (i think i'm just about done, but I wanna figure this out). I got the neogamma file on my computer, it seems pretty normal (i'm assuming it's an app), however, what do I do with the sourcecode folder?
     
  12. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you dont need the source code file just the boot.dol

    set it up in the "apps" folder like the others and it will show in The Homebrew Channel.

    as for the boot2, it will let you know in the hackmii installer if it can be installed as both or only as an IOS.
     
  13. kenio8185
    OP

    Member kenio8185 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    222
    Location:
    canada
    Country:
    Canada
    ok, i'll be testing that out soon, i left the wii at my friends place so I can't really do that part now but we will see.

    As for the neogamma, so all I have to do is put the neogamma folder (the one with the boot.dol file) in the apps folder and ignore the sourcode folder and not put the sourcecode folder into the sdcard? ( I just wanna be 100% clear about it).
     
  14. Leo Cantus

    Member Leo Cantus So zeta slow!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    832
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ur modding ur wii which is "fully up to date"
    twilight hack only works with 3.2, so if ur on 4.0 it wont work.
    if its not working and u are on 3.2, upgrade to 4 anyway and use bannerbomb, its easier
     
  15. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yups. You never need the source unless you're a developer.
     
  16. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    the source code file is for coders and programmers to make their own mod's if they wish. as most of us are users we have no use for the source code.

    also, take a good look at how the apps folder is structured, and that will answer your question about the neogamma folder.

    it goes root: apps/application folder [in this case neogamma]/then the boot.dol, meta.xml, and icon.png
    no extra folders in between
     

Share This Page