Hacking Problem with restoring Nand

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
Hi guys!

I am helping a friend out with a Switch. However we have a little bit of difficulties restoring it's Nand.

I am trying to restore the Switch into a clean 5.1.0 Nand backup.

It has been running SX OS - Autorcm, with a ChoixDuJourNX installed firmware of: 8.0.1
No fuses are burned over 5.1.0 (just checked).

Here is the deal, I have the rawnand.bin file, I also have keys and a few other files such as "SYSTEM", "SAFE", "PRODINFO" and "PRODINFOF".
However I don't have the boot0 and boot1 files.

Is there anything I can do to restore the Switch back to it's original state?
 
Last edited by Madsmaten,

mattytrog

You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
3,708
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
4,328
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys!

I am helping a friend out with a Switch. However we have a little bit of difficulties restoring it's Nand.

I am trying to restore the Switch into a clean 5.1.0 Nand backup.

It has been running SX OS - Autorcm, with a ChoixDuJourNX installed firmware of: 8.0.1
No fuses are burned over 5.1.0 (just checked).

Here is the deal, I have the rawnand.bin file, I also have keys and a few other files such as "SYSTEM", "SAFE", "PRODINFO" and "PRODINFOF".
However I don't have the boot0 and boot1 files.

Is there anything I can do to restore the Switch back to it's original state?
May I ask why a clean 5.1.0?

As soon as you connect, it will update.

I`d go back to 8.0.1 and choiNX down to 5.1.0 ticking the system initialise - full factory reset option.

This will give you a clean emmc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

NoNAND

Give me back my legions!
Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2015
Messages
2,275
Trophies
1
Location
Somewhere
XP
5,064
Country
Albania
I believe you would need the BOOT 0/1 of the original NAND backup in order to achieve a proper system restore.
There ought to be blank boot 0/1 sample files somewhere in the homebrew section.
If you're sure that your current number of fuses aren't burnt and are eligible for booting a 5.1.0 OFW you should consider rebuilding your NAND with ChoiPC and upgrade to 6.0 if you can't get your backup to restore in the end.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Deleted User

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
May I ask why a clean 5.1.0?

As soon as you connect, it will update.

I`d go back to 8.0.1 and choiNX down to 5.1.0 ticking the system initialise - full factory reset option.

This will give you a clean emmc.

This Switch is going to be restored and used without CFW.
It would not stay on 5.1.0 for long.

So I should downgrade it to 5.1.0, factory reset it, and the backup the boot files?
Afterwards uninstall autorcm and then restore the rawnand, and boot0 + boot1?
 

mattytrog

You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
3,708
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
4,328
Country
United Kingdom
This Switch is going to be restored and used without CFW.
It would not stay on 5.1.0 for long.

So I should downgrade it to 5.1.0, factory reset it, and the backup the boot files?
Afterwards uninstall autorcm and then restore the rawnand, and boot0 + boot1?

Just grab 8.1.0 firmware from the site that cant be mentioned(hint - umbrella) and choiNX to that firmware.

You cannot restore same version with choiNX. Thats why I say 8.1.0.
 

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
Just grab 8.1.0 firmware from the site that cant be mentioned(hint - umbrella) and choiNX to that firmware.

You cannot restore same version with choiNX. Thats why I say 8.1.0.

I apologise, but I don't understand :D

Why would upgrading to 8.1.0 with choiNX help me restore my boot files?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I believe you would need the BOOT 0/1 of the original NAND backup in order to achieve a proper system restore.
There ought to be blank boot 0/1 sample files somewhere in the homebrew section.
If you're sure that your current number of fuses aren't burnt and are eligible for booting a 5.1.0 OFW you should consider rebuilding your NAND with ChoiPC and upgrade to 6.0 if you can't get your backup to restore in the end.

Fuses burnt: 6 = either a 5.0.2 or 5.1.0 firmware.
 
  • Like
Reactions: NoNAND

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
Alrighty then, if your fuse count matches your current CFW there's no need to update, simply fix your NAND with Choi.
Not sure I know how to do this?
I thought that the only sure way to get back online, would be a "clean" nand restore.
 

mattytrog

You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
Member
Joined
Apr 27, 2018
Messages
3,708
Trophies
0
Age
48
XP
4,328
Country
United Kingdom
I apologise, but I don't understand :D

Why would upgrading to 8.1.0 with choiNX help me restore my boot files?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------



Fuses burnt: 6 = either a 5.0.2 or 5.1.0 firmware.
because you already have 8.0.1 on there. you havent restored yet have you?

Hidden on my git, there are blank files.
 

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
because you already have 8.0.1 on there. you haven't restored yet have you?

Hidden on my git, there are blank files.
No nothing has been restored.

I realized that I did not have the boot files, I would not go through with it without consulting you guys.

Does it matter whether it was 5.0.2 or 5.1.0 the backup was taken on?

So I will install 8.1.0 with ChoiNX.
And then restore boot files with the one from your Git?
+ the original rawnand?
 
Last edited by Madsmaten,

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
18,100
Trophies
3
XP
18,324
Country
United States
As far as I can tell they only goes from 6.20 and up.

Would this work: Uninstall autorcm, flash blank 8.0.1 boot files, restore original 5.0.2 nand? :)

Or do I need blank boot files for 5.0.2?
If you're on 5.1.0, you can just generate the BOOT files on your PC with ChoiDujour. Sorry, I wasn't paying close attention.
 

Madsmaten

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
May 31, 2015
Messages
23
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
219
Country
If you're on 5.1.0, you can just generate the BOOT files on your PC with ChoiDujour. Sorry, I wasn't paying close attention.
I have tried for two days to generate my 5.0.2 boot files :D
And I seriously don't get it. Have been following every guide I could fine, but I always hit a stop somewhere.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    just get some used shit off ebay or smth for ram
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    that's what my dad's friend does
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Don't buy used ram it's too cheap now lol
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    But it's probably on board ram with that device
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah, it's a SoC.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I've done more shell scripting in my current job in the year and a half I've been here than I did in my entire 8+ years at my last job. Wild.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Scripting isn't even in my job description, but it enables me to, say, take multiple hours of multiple touches to servers to run commands over the course of a month, to a few minutes and it's ready 2 days later.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Shell scripting is very useful.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    For batch operations.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Massivley so. Glad I'm getting more experienced with it now
  • Veho @ Veho:
    "Hey can you make this [inane change] on 50 servers?" Yes.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    The scenario in question is to do disk erases on some storage servers at my job that have I think 12x 14TB spinners, SATA SSDs, and nvme disks. The process I'm using to erase the spinners is to kick off an ATA Security Erase in the disk's firmware, then once that's done do a dd zero-fill as a second pass.
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    These spinners take like 22h per each of those operations
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'll admit sometimes it takes me longer to write and debug a script that will do that for me, than it would take me to make the changes manually, but this is more fun.
    +1
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    And running it over a serial console I'd either have to spin up a dozen and a half screen sessions or just run one operation at a time
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Wrote a horrifyingly long one-liner to do all of that - spin up a shitload of screen sessions, run these commands to it, pipe output to kmsg so it shows up in the default tty's shell, and some other shit on top of that.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Can't you run pssh?
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Some day I'll write out a properly formatted shell script that lives on our firmware server or git repo and just call that, and have that handle every kind of server we run much more gracefully than my hobbled together atrocity does right now
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    pssh - nope. 1, what I'm doing gets done from our bootable provisioning environment, and you can only interface with that via serial console - we don't accept ssh connections on the servers in that state, and 2, I don't even know if our bootable environment has pssh baked into it
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    3, I've never even heard of it before lol
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Anyway I can open serial console sessions to multiple devices at the same time, and broadcast my input to all of them (iTerm on Mac is the terminal emulator I'm using). It's just a matter of how many commands I'd have to run by hand, and how long they'd take otherwise lol
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I just assumed you were working via SSH. I know my way around that. If a server is only accessible locally it's waaay beyond saving from my end so I let the DC team work on that :tpi:
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I *am* the DC team :P the remote arm of it, anyway
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    Trust me, I wish I could do everything I need to do via ssh. Working through these serial console servers suuuuuucks in comparison
  • HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl:
    SSH rules
    HiradeGirl @ HiradeGirl: SSH rules