problem with BootMii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sheepgoat, Jul 13, 2009.

Jul 13, 2009

problem with BootMii by sheepgoat at 10:08 PM (1,007 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. sheepgoat
    OP

    Newcomer sheepgoat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    last week i started trying to get my wii to use the usb loader. i have the usb loader working now but i never did fix my problem with bootmii.

    here's what i've done:
    i started with the bannerbomb hackmii installer. i got the homebrew channel working. but on the installer for bootmii i wasn't sure what to do so i just went down the list and installed all the options. not smart i know. whenever i tried to load the bootmii from the homebrew channel it would just load to a black screen. after that i stopped worrying about that part and moved onto the usb loader. i followed this guide: http://www.wiihacks.com/other-faq-guides-t...os-any-wii.html and got the usb loader working.

    now when i goto the homebrew channel, press the home button, then tell it to load bootmii and it freezes on a black screen. i'm wondering what i need to do to fix bootmii. the install info on their site says to run the installer from the homebrew channel, but i don't understand how to do that.
     
  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    If your DVD slot light blinks while the screen is black/frozen then it's either there's no bootmii/ dir on your SD card (with the required files in it) or, if the dir & files ARE there, your SD card is incompatible.
     
  3. sheepgoat
    OP

    Newcomer sheepgoat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    i'm pretty sure i deleted the bootmii folder on my sd card somewhere along the line of me messing with it. last time i had my sd card plugged into my computer i only had an apps folder and wad folder on it.

    so do i need to run the bannerbomb to run the installer for it again? and will running the installer override anything that i've already done?
     
  4. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    You can simply run the HackMii installer beta2 from Homebrew Channel and select "Prepare SD card".
     
  5. sheepgoat
    OP

    Newcomer sheepgoat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    thats where i run into the problem of not knowing what to do. how do i run the installer from the homebrew channel? i don't see any options for running it.
     
  6. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
  7. sheepgoat
    OP

    Newcomer sheepgoat Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    oh man, now i feel like a twit. i had to do this for a few other things, but i dunno what happened to my thought process.

    thank you for your quick help Det1re
     

Share This Page