problem playing cso's on CFW 3.90 M33-3...

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by timbojill, Jun 12, 2008.

Jun 12, 2008
  1. timbojill
    OP

    Member timbojill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    got a pandora battery and I am able to run some CSO's. For some reason I can not get ironman.cso nor vice city liberty and vice city running. SO I was wondering if I am doing something wrong.
     


  2. hybridkit

    Member hybridkit GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try switching the UMD mode between M33 Driver and Sony NP9660.
     
  3. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    or convert the CSOs into ISOs and try the difference.
     
  4. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Whoever you get the ISO from should warn you of what mode you have to run it from. (I don't think mentioning a name is problematic?, if so let me know). I'd say that getting ROMs from 'hako' (Googling that won't net yuo anything, you have to know where to look) would be your best bet, as I've found them all to run fine in both M33 and NP9660, so I never really have to change modes.
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    running them in different modes wont mess anything up
    the CSO/ISO simply will not boot and will go back to the PSP XMB
     
  6. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    The Grand Theft Auto games supposedly run poorly when in cso format.
     
  7. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    So does God of War, it's because they have to read/write too often, and decompressing is just a chore at that point.

    -- I know different modes won't mess them up, but it's annoying to have to swap modes for different games :[
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,179
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you can push the home button while in XMB and it will open a menu where you can select different UMD modes without resetting (it might be select, I think they moved it to a different button)

    played and beat both in CSO
    worked fine for me
    I had a 1GB card at the time...
     
  9. PW1337

    Newcomer PW1337 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
    I had a problem running GTA: VCS on my brother's Slim, it would just get stuck at "Loading" and then the PSP turned off by itself I changed to M33 Driver and it worked. This also happened with ATV: Offroad Fury, but it didn't even get to the loading screen. I changed the UMD mode to everything there was, but it wasn't working.

    After trying lots of things(deleting and copying the game again), I went to the Recovery Mode and checked the Plugins section, and there was something enabled, Nitepr, a cheat application often used for Socom FireTeam Bravo 2, then I disabled it and they it worked, so if you have some plugins, disable them if you don't need them, that might just do the trick.
     
  10. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I prefer iso over cso.
    First game I encountered was Daxter.cso - lots of slowdown.
    Converted it to iso and it runs fine.
     
  11. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I know of the select mode, that's what I do. In fact I knew of it before the resetting way, but either way, it's just an annoyance, because you also have to remember which works in which mode. That's why it's better to either get all of them from a single person so that they work in the correct mode you use, or to make sure they work in that mode before bothering to obtain them.

    --
    CSO is generally better for most games as it's compressed, but for roaming games where there is a lot of reading/writing going on all the time, it's probably not the best idea.
     
  12. solange82200

    Member solange82200 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I can vouch for Hako too. Good stuff
     
  13. timbojill
    OP

    Member timbojill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    I was reading some where that i should reformat my memory stick. but if I do that won't I have to use that magistick program agian ?
     
  14. timbojill
    OP

    Member timbojill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    there is this site that has every psp game but in cso format. so it is not just the GTA games. half run and half dont.
     
  15. Tortimer

    Newcomer Tortimer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Sweden
    No you won't. Reformatting your memorystick is not the same as reformatting the PSP's internal memory.

    The reason why you should reformat your memory stick from time to time is because it gets fragmented when you move a lot of files to and from it. And that means increased read-times for your PSP (it has to find all those tiny scattered bits of the game) which means you get slowdowns when you play games.

    note: If you meant "Reformatting my Magic Memory Stick - will it still be a magic memory stick?" Then no, it won't. You have to run (for example) PSP Grader again.
     
  16. timbojill
    OP

    Member timbojill GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    thank you all for your help. This should be made into a sticky. Depending on how the person ripped and compressed the CSO, or just system requirements needed to run the game, you will need to change the speed mode from my understanding.
     
  17. tornadotcom

    Newcomer tornadotcom Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Hmm Hellow

    I got this PSP Slim 3.90 m33-3 (with UMD Game [Forgot Title]) with a 4gb Normal MSPD, so I put some games into the memory stick such as God Of War, Megaman, Rockman, Kazook, Silent Hills, Juiced 2 etc etc.

    The problem is, I cant run the Megaman, Rockman, Kazook, Bowling, & etc.(quite alot of games I think). After run it...it just stay black screen... (kazook stuck at Loading Screen), but some other game I manage to play like God of War, Juiced2, Silent Hill, Bomberman, Street Fighter...

    I dont know what happen so I borrow my cousin PSP Slim 3.71 m33 (without UMD Disc Inserted)...take his 4gb high speed mspd and insert into my psp (with his game - rockman, megaman, harvest moon) ...I still cant run the rockman/megaman but can run the Harvest moon...

    and then I take my MSPD and insert into his PSP, those Megaman/Kazook/Rockman/GoW can run smoothly. So what the problem here?

    Hope you guys can guide me..PSP noob here
     
  18. Shyn

    Member Shyn GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Country:
    United States
    While in the normal XMB (the normal menu), press select, change the UMD ISO MODE to Normal if isn't. Make sure the UMD you have inserted in the PSP is a game, and not a movie. If you only have a movie in there, change between the M33 driver or the Sony NP9660 driver to get the individual games to work.
     
  19. m3rox

    Member m3rox GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    WA
    Country:
    United States
    Sony NP9660 works best from my experience.
     
  20. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I tend to keep it in M33, but most people say that NP9660 probably has more releases worked to be compatible especially for it. It's standard, so most people I know just keep it on it, but Sony NP9660 is just as good for most.
     

Share This Page