Possible to increase speed of roms on acekard like on a pc emulator

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by lightning099, May 1, 2012.

  1. lightning099
    OP

    Newcomer lightning099 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Just curious title pretty much says it all just kinda sick of playing pokemon on the run and waiting forever for the thing to transition between frames and stuff. Pace is to slow
     
  2. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    No, you're pretty much limited by the hardware's ability there.
     
  3. lightning099
    OP

    Newcomer lightning099 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    figured as much. think when the 3ds finally get cracked well have the option to use that extra power to increase speeds?
     
  4. emugirl1994

    Newcomer emugirl1994 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Country:
    United States
    Don't think any DS games are able to be sped up. Think that's only possible on the GBA emulators like the one on SuperCard DSTwo.
     
  5. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    At least the load / transition times are a bit faster on the flash cart than the original. At least mine are anyway. It probably depends on your SD.
     
  6. Sinistral89

    Member Sinistral89 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    If I remember correctly there is/was some cheats that made some aspects of the game faster (like running and some other stuff).
     
  7. EnigmaBlade

    Member EnigmaBlade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, i think you will find your SD is the issue there. I've never had any speed issues with Acekard before.
     
  8. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your best bet is activating cheats. There's plenty which speed the game up:
    >instant text
    >skip battle animations etc.
    >skip transitions between buildings (possibly battles too)
    >run faster (like, really fast :blink:)
    etc.
     
  9. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    If you mean DS games, then no.

    If you mean emulators on the DS, then you can dig around to find the Framelimiter option, which you want disabled.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The cheat only made things faster if they weren't already limited by the hardware (such as menu navigation when the map was out of view).
     
  11. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,743
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you want to get a bit more technical I answered a similar question a couple of days back
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/325923-speed-up-game/
     

Share This Page