Pokemon White - White Forest

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by PyRoManiAcV3, Oct 20, 2010.

Oct 20, 2010
  1. PyRoManiAcV3
    OP

    Newcomer PyRoManiAcV3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, not sure if this is the right to put this, but, I've been playing Pokemon White and I've gotten further then the E4 (woot). I've hit White Forest and...there's no grass patches...it's empty. [​IMG]

    No one seems to know what this is. I am running White on my DSTT, so it's patched with Kazo's english patch, but I know it isn't the patch nor the ROM, nor even a form of AP as I know someone using the exact patch and gave me their .sav file and I ran it on my ROM, and it worked.
    So it has to be some kind of event within the game, maybe?
    If so, does anyone know what to do?
     


  2. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    lol
    If you "had" grass patches, possibly it disappered. Go to white forest/black city in "friend's hilink" to get other people.
     
  3. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Xenon, I'm having the same issue and it's not all that funny. Also, High Link has nothing to do with this lack of grass patches issue. We're not trying to get other people so that our Forest will appear diffrently, the grass patches are not appearing, so we cannot capture certain pokemon. Having people on High Link will not make grass show up nor vanish. The grass should be there already...
     
  4. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    I heard grass patches depend on the people living in white forest
     
  5. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    You do realize that a char walking around the forest or near it says that right? :wtf:
    How is that "hearing" it? It has nothing to do with High Link or ... how many people live there in your game >.>
    PyRo and I are looking for facts about the issue
    Facts > "I heard"
     
  6. Xenon++

    Member Xenon++ Taiju Yamada

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,394
    Country:
    Japan
    I mean "talk to people in friend's white forest via high link to get them live in your white forest"

    I have 3 persons outside the ancle's house
     
  7. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I understand that. It still has nothing to do with why there are no grass patches that contain wild pokemon in the forest :wtf:
     
  8. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    I hope you have at least tried what he said first...I mean, if you didn't...and it happens to work...well, it would save a lot of embarrassment.
     
  9. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    We've tried. It's not that we need to see more people in high link... it's that the grass is literally NOT there LOL
    I've done the high link thing a lot, and all it has changed is the appearance of the forest, there is still no grass...

    EDIT: jurassicplayer - I have a question for you. When you first got to White Forest, did you have grass patches WITHOUT ever doing high link?
     
  10. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I haven't even played any of the latest pokemon games. I'm more of a homebrew/multimedia guy. For the most part...I haven't played any of the new games (save a test on super scribblenauts to see if the EZVi could play it).
     
  11. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    im currently playing white (without cheats lol), (after beating black) and unfortunately not up to white forest yet.
     
  12. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    If/When you reach that point, would you mind posting here and letting us know if you have grass patches in White Forest without doing High Link activities?
    I've tried before using high link and after, still have the same result.

    I don't wanna have to pokesav my pokes to someone else's save file just to catch those pokemon O.o - nor do I wanna have to cheat to capture them... lol
     
  13. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    well, i could also just use the walkthrough walls cheat to check up on it. don't know if it'll affect the forest or not.
     
  14. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    I would think it wouldn't, never know with a japanese Pokemon game though LOL

    Leave it to Nintendo to screw things up [​IMG]
    *Surfs through E4 gate and walks to the champion room to win in seconds*
     
  15. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    okay, i just walkthrough walled my way to the white forest with level 17 pokemon [​IMG] xD

    and i have grass [​IMG] just some patches, about 3 steps wide; just encountered a togepi.

    if it helps, im using a clean rom.
     
  16. AcekardFan

    Member AcekardFan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    Stockton
    Country:
    United States
    I Begin To Ask Myself If This Problem Is Just Random......Happens On Some Sav's And Not On Others


    The Rom....And Sav Runs Completely Fine I Can See The Patches Of Grass
     
  17. basher11

    Member basher11 GBAtemp's Official Vocaloid Lover

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,382
    Country:
    United States
    it could be just your rom.
    i can play it without problems, while others have it patched.
     
  18. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    It's not the rom, I can load someones save file and see grass lol. It shouldn't be the save file either, but it looks like that's what is wrong.
    I'm using the V4 english patch and it's rudolph patched, I don't see why I'd be having these issue.
    Whereas, PyRo is using V4 without rudolph's patch (that I know of) and is having the same problem.

    @AcekardFan - Yeah it appears to be random. PyRo and I have known eachother for like 7-8 years now, something like that, and this ironically happened to both of us? lol it's weird man.
     
  19. PyRoManiAcV3
    OP

    Newcomer PyRoManiAcV3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Location:
    US
    Country:
    United States

    How far into the game are you? City-wise?
     
  20. Hatchetball

    Member Hatchetball GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Country:
    United States
    Rotflmfao
    Exactly.
     

Share This Page