Pokemon Black/White 2 Cheat problem

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by vzdragonite, Feb 9, 2013.

Feb 9, 2013
  1. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I am unable to use any cheats on pokemon black 2 or white 2. I have tried unpatched roms, patched roms. I've tried different usrcheat.dat files. Cheats work fine on other games and my EOS is updated to the latest version. There is no reason cheats shouldn't work on black or white 2, but they aren't. I was wondering if anyone else was having similar problems or knew a solution. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section, I know some people get butthurt from that.
     
  2. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,749
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    is this set?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah. That was the first thing I checked.
     
  4. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Describe "won't work".
     
  5. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    My bad, I should have gone into more detail. By not work I mean the when I go to the in-game menu, or the cheat menu before I start the game, no options will appear. Just a blank list with no cheats. Cheats for other games show up no problem.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Get an updated database that has cheats for the game, and make sure you're overwriting the old database (that is, the filename is the same).
     
  7. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  9. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    That usrcheat.dat didn't work either. Maybe it isn't the database that is the problem. I just updated my supercard's EOS yesterday so that shouldn't be the problem. I've also tried multiple different black and white 2 roms. The roms play fine without cheats though.
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The database you linked doesn't have E/U codes, the one I linked does (opened both), make sure the ROM isn't being played in clean mode (make sure it's in patch mode) too.
     
  11. vzdragonite
    OP

    Newcomer vzdragonite Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    So I just finished formatting a different microsd, I then put the newest dstwo eos and patch, the usrcheat.dat, a pokemon black 2 rom, a pokemon white 2 rom, and a few other games on the formatted microsd. The cheats still didn't work on pokemon black 2 or white 2, but they still worked fine on other games. I'm pretty certain the problem is with the roms, but I have already tried 3 different rom files. Time to keep on searching.
     
  12. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  13. backflipkgo

    Newcomer backflipkgo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been having this exact problem ever since B2/W2 were released! Sorry for bumping an old topic but it seemed better than starting anew.

    Downloaded and tried multiple (clean) roms, patching them, and then trying with updated EOS, usercheat etc - Checked the ID of the roms in R4CCE and added the games again just for good measure and still no cheats showing up :/

    They appear for all other games, except B2/W2, it's killer as all I want to do is activate the cheat for challenge mode :'(

    Any help with this would be fantastic as it's been bugging me for ages now!
     
  14. DiabloStorm

    Member DiabloStorm Five Gold Star Medalist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    I started out on Challenge Mode on my first playthrough of Black 2, I had no problems getting that to work on my DSTWO. I could send you my AR codes or something, IDK. What region is your rom?
     
  15. backflipkgo

    Newcomer backflipkgo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    I've been using US roms so far, I'd not considered trying any from different regions :P but that is an idea I'll try now just to see if I can get them to show.

    All the roms run fine, it's just that the cheat list never shows up anything for both games >_<
     
  16. backflipkgo

    Newcomer backflipkgo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey what do you know, it wasn't showing for US roms but no doubt, shows up for EU roms. Can't believe I hadn't thought of trying a rom from a different region, feel like a moron!

    Ty DiabloStorm for giving me the idea, very much appreciated :)
     
  17. Aeter

    Member Aeter A walking contradiction

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    935
    Location:
    The lands of nether
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Different regions, different game headers.
    Game headers matter when it comes to using cheats.
    Remember that.
     
  18. DiabloStorm

    Member DiabloStorm Five Gold Star Medalist

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Location:
    Charicific Valley
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, NP, so problem solved? You're using a DSTWO right?
     
  19. JRSuzuki

    Newcomer JRSuzuki Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I've been having a similar problem recently. For me, the cheats show up in the list, but none of them are having an effect in-game when activated.

    Edit: Never mind, fixed it by deleting the .dtc file.
     

Share This Page