Penguins of Madagascar Wont run.

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by DDRPenguin, Nov 4, 2010.

Nov 4, 2010
  1. DDRPenguin
    OP

    Member DDRPenguin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    The Transantartic Mountains
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I bought a Penguins of Madagascar Game for my DS, and everytime I put it in, it wont work.

    I have a Japanese DSi, and the game wont show up on the menu.

    I have used a Action Replay DSi, to see if I could bypass that, and it can detect the game, but it says "Unknown game", and when I try to load it, it wont run the game either.

    Do I have a faulty game cartridge? Or is it because of my Japanese DSi?
     
  2. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt that it's a faulty game card. Does it have any DSi features? And which region actually is it?
     
  3. DDRPenguin
    OP

    Member DDRPenguin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    The Transantartic Mountains
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Yes, it does have a DSi feature, and this game is an American game, and it wont work on my Japanese DSi.
     
  4. DarkShinigami

    Member DarkShinigami #1 strongest Shinigami BANKAI

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,836
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Country:
    United States
    bring it back and tell them your problem if the problem persists with another game it might actually be your dsi. i heard games with dsi features are actually region blocked.
     
  5. DDRPenguin
    OP

    Member DDRPenguin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    The Transantartic Mountains
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well, I went the store, had a replacement game, and the same problem occurred. I did some research and Pokemon Black and White Japanese versions seemed to be region blocked to American DSi systems. I wonder if this game having a DSi feature, is a vice versa case of region locking.
     
  6. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    You kinda answered your own question, now didn't ya'?
     
  7. DDRPenguin
    OP

    Member DDRPenguin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    The Transantartic Mountains
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well, me not being an expert on this stuff, I had to be sure and ask you guys about it. I really wanted to play this game, and now I cant >.>
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It'll probably mention on the case that it would only work with the correct region DSi.
     
  9. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Got a flash card?
     
  10. DDRPenguin
    OP

    Member DDRPenguin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    The Transantartic Mountains
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Would be nice, but even if I did have one, the rom is not even out. This is a new release third party game, so I expect the dump to be slow in release.

    I just tried the game on a regular DS...its a region lock for sure now. Its just Pokemon black and white Japanese not working on an American console, but backwards. Just saying a friendly BEWARE to those who have Japanese DSi systems.

    EDIT: I solved my own problem. Using Action Replay DSi, I updated the firmware to 1.25, and it bypassed the region lock-out. According to their website, it supposed to allow Pokemon black and white and Professor layton to run. I tried it, and it worked, I was able to load Penguins of Madagascar on my Japanese DSi. I thought I would post this as a solution to anyone importing a game with DSi features, Action replay with 1.25 firmware is an avenue.
     

Share This Page