Original Xbox Hack VS PS2 Hack

Discussion in 'General Gaming Discussion' started by science, May 12, 2011.

May 12, 2011

Original Xbox Hack VS PS2 Hack by science at 5:22 PM (1,107 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey guys, quick question here. I have an original softmodded Xbox and a PS2 that is not modded. All I want to do is play lots of DDR. So I bought the Xbox to put Stepmania on. Except it is stuck in the clock loop and I have no idea how to fix it.

    So what should I do here? Is there a way to fix this clock loop so I can get Stepmania working?

    My other option is to mod my PS2 so I can burn Japanese DDR games which are a lot better. But I have nothing to softmod my PS2, I would have to order it and I wouldn't know the cheapest, easiest method. I was thinking HD Loader, but I don't have a network adapter.

    What should I do here? Thanks for any help!
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,735
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow a clock loop... not seen that in a while
    http://www.biline.ca/xbox-faq.htm#6 has some fixes but if those do not work you will have to get your hands dirty- if you swapped drives and have the original or have your eeprom that is good as you are going to need to access the drive to fiddle with a few things (disable fonts, reboot without them to get to the original dash assuming it is still there, set the time and restore the fonts.

    After you do sort it consider rehacking it with a modern hack- clock loop was sorted ages ago.

    As for PS2 we had a nice thread on the subject although since then the GC had some nice homebrew chips made/cloned.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=278...t=0&start=0
     
  3. science
    OP

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    I figured you would be the one to answer my question, you always are haha [​IMG]

    I will try some of those clock loop fixes, and read up on the PS2 mod options, thanks!
     
  4. Terminator02

    Member Terminator02 ヽ( 。 ヮ゚)ノ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,517
    Location:
    Somewhere near monkat
    Country:
    United States
    with the ps2 you're gonna want to check out the Free McBoot guide, or the official guide

    depending on if your ps2 is fat and an older slim, you could follow this video guide for the fat, or this one for the older slims (has to be before mid-2008)

    and you launch games with Open PS2 Loader

    Edit: if you do go with free mcboot, you'll want to check this out to edit the menu (you have to do this before installation)
     

Share This Page