Old Wii's can't read DL Brawl, how can i make it work?

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Elisa_, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Old Wii's can't read DL Brawl, how can i make it work?. I have a PAL wii that I bought 1 month after Wii was released. Any way I can play the DVD-9 ver of Brawl?
     


  2. mousan

    Member mousan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Algeria
    it's totally false...i bought my wii like u about 1 month after release & smash works on my wii flawlessly [​IMG]
     
  3. perimbean

    Member perimbean GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi!

    By any chance have you tried to load the SSBB (PAL) retail disc into the machine and try running it?

    My guess is the lens not being able to detect/read DL discs.

    Cheers!
    perimbean
     
  4. iffy525

    Member iffy525 not famous

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    751
    Country:
    United States
    If it's not modded send it in to Nintendo and they will repair it at no cost.
    Although that's kind of weird that it doesn't read because I got mine on launch day and brawl works perfectly.
     
  5. Ashler

    Newcomer Ashler Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Belgium
    I bought my wii on the launch day and I have no problem playing SSBB.
     
  6. scousethief

    Member scousethief GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    same, launch day wii plays everything.
     
  7. stok3d

    Member stok3d Retro Gaming Inc.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    SomeBeachSomeWhere
    Country:
    Canada
    i have a launch wii that wouldn't read the brawl backup

    thought it might be a media issue until the retail came and even that didn't work (wii would not recognize brawl but played everything else perfect)

    i removed the wiikey and sent the wii to nintendo, it came back with a brand new d2c drive, brawl works awesome now

    only thing is i can't play most of my games until my d2c modchip gets here

    but like another poster said, test it with the retail copy of ssbb, it's the only way to be sure.

    if you do have to send it in, just remove your modchip first, nintendo won't give you any hassles
     
  8. katsuce

    Member katsuce GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    Here and there
    Country:
    France
    my launch US wii unit reads backups of brawl (JP and ntsc) fine, as well as the original brawl disc
     
  9. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    I thought you said it died...

    My launch Wii reads Brawl (when burnt on 'good' Verbatim media) fine.
     
  10. m0dm0use

    Member m0dm0use GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    119
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Old Wii can read all games, dirty wii can't!

    Clean your wii!
     
  11. SavageWaffle

    Member SavageWaffle GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    clean your lens, probably some dirt/dust on it.
     
  12. stok3d

    Member stok3d Retro Gaming Inc.

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    SomeBeachSomeWhere
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah, it 'died' right before i sent it in, it wouldn't hold dvd's and started making grinding noises (partly my fault)

    it had started making a loud humming noise when spinning a few months after i bought it but still worked

    brawl (retaildvd9 or backupdvd9, dvd5 worked) would never read, even after manually cleaning it with a q-tip and alcohol, backups and originals worked fine.

    the dl issue, for some wii's may be rare, but some older, CLEAN wii's will not read DL properly.
     
  13. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright, how would I clean my lens? I'm really newbie at modding stuff, wonder how I soldered my WiiKey?
     
  14. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    after cleaning my laser my launch console still wouldn't read dvd9s
     
  15. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    So you have the same problem eh? I'd better go take this to court and sue Target for a cheap Wii +] jks.
    So I'm gonna try get a screwdriver or something off Ozmodchips or a place around me. Try clean the laser and try again.
     
  16. Tomobobo

    Member Tomobobo Champion.

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    United States
    Meh, I really ended up not caring because the game sucked. Plus I have another wii that will read dvd9s and I found SSE to be boring and repetitive as all get out. So my advice: play the dvd5 version, it sucks just as much as the dvd9, well probably less since it doesn't have the horrid platforming gimmick mode.
     
  17. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, brawl isn't that good.. But I wasted my downloads for this xD and I want it to work
     
  18. Zarxrax

    Member Zarxrax GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    355
    Country:
    United States
    I've been thinking, theoretically, shouldn't you be able to make brawl fit on a single layer disc by recompressing the movies and audio? This is what they did with dreamcast games in order to make them fit on a cd.

    Smash bros, scrubbed, is about 7.5gb
    The movies are 3.36gb
    The audio is 1.09gb
    DVD-R holds about 4.3gb

    Let's say you can recompress the video files to all fit into about 500mb. This puts you around 4.7gb. Now, audio can be recompressed to 1/2 its existing size... and it should all fit. Or maybe, just maybe, the video files could somehow be crammed into approximately 50-100mb, and audio wouldn't have to be touched.

    Would this be possible?
     
  19. Elisa_
    OP

    Member Elisa_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    362
    Country:
    Australia
    That's a DVD-5 version, which I have also.
     
  20. Sperion

    Member Sperion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Netherlands
    its a dvd5 alright but he wants to downgrade the movies and sounds to have a complete copy, but it isnt posible yet:( (as far as i know)
     

Share This Page