1. Razor83

    Razor83 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    Post a system check so we can check the curent state.
     
  2. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    just installed the link you gave me. new system log incoming

    "DOP-Mii Report"
    "Region", North America (U)
    "Hollywood Version", 0x11
    "Wii Unique DeviceID", 105079747

    IOS Version, FakeSign, ES_Identify, NAND, Flash
    "251 (v21010)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "250 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "249 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "224 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "223 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "222 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "202 (v65535)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "80 (v6944)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "70 (v6912)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "62 (v6430)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "61 (v5662)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "60 (v6174)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "58 (v6176)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "57 (v5919)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "56 (v5662)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "55 (v5663)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "53 (v5663)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "48 (v4124)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "46 (v3607)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "45 (v3607)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "43 (v3607)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "41 (v3607)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "38 (v4124)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "37 (v5663)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "36 (v3608)",Enabled,Enabled,Enabled,Disabled
    "35 (v3608)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "34 (v3608)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "33 (v3608)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "31 (v3608)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "28 (v1807)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "22 (v1294)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "17 (v1032)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "15 (v1032)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "14 (v1032)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "13 (v1032)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "12 (v526)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
    "9 (v1034)",Disabled,Disabled,Disabled,Disabled
     
    Last edited by Waltharius, Nov 17, 2016
  3. Razor83

    Razor83 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    OK, so its likely a banner brick then:-
    http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Brick#Banner_Brick
    Which means you need to remove the channel thats causing the problem.

    First you can try and enter maintenance mode by doing the following:-
    -First turn your Wii on.
    -DO NOT PRESS "A" at the "Health and Safety" screen
    -Press both the "-" and "+" buttons at the same time to enter maintenance mode.
    -If the Wii boot up go to the settings and delete any/all 'unofficial' channels that you think could be causing problems.

    If you cant enter maintenance mode, the next thing to try is uninstalling channels using either DOP-Mii v12 or AnyTitle Deleter. Its a similar process to installing an IOS, only instead of selecting "IOS, BC, MIOS" you select "Channels" instead, and then uninstall any 'unofficial' channels you think may be causing problems using the "-" button (Especially look for any channels that PimpMyWii may have installed).

    Be careful not to uninstall any official Nintendo channels, as you could in theory make it worse.
     
    Last edited by Razor83, Nov 17, 2016
  4. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    i didnt use pimp my wii to install any channels. i only did the basic check/update thing and installed hermes

    Now as far what the other guy had on here, im not seeing anything but "seemingly" official channels.

    using DOP-MII V12 im seeing

    internet / v1024
    mii / v6
    news / v3
    photo 1.0 / v65200
    photo 1.1 / v3
    shopping / v21
    weather / v3
    wii speak / not installed

    Also, i cant get into health and safety screen because of the corrupt system menu. i just get that same error screen everytime.

    im thinking there should be more channels on here though. maybe im not looking in the right places or maybe or maybe should use that other app you suggested?
     
    Last edited by Waltharius, Nov 18, 2016
  5. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try installing any custom system menu themes or try to downgrade the system menu?
     
  6. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    nope, i literally just ran pimp my wii for the basic install/check thing, installed hermes and added some updated emulators to his sd card.

    i didnt install any channels

    what was that about IOS236? Maybe i should try that again?
     
  7. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not sure what else to tell you, then. We can't examine it in person. :/

    Did you ever try just doing the system update to 4.3 using DOP-Mii that I suggested? As I keep saying, using v15 or above (not the WiiBrew one) should back up and replace either Preloader or Priiloader so it shouldn't leave the console in a state any worse than it is. It's not much use if it can't boot and play games.

    If you can dump the NAND and send it to me I can look at it and see if I can see anything but I can't promise anything. I'd need all of the files that BootMii creates.

    It's also entirely possible everything is a coincidence and the NAND just died.
     
    Last edited by GreyWolf, Nov 18, 2016
  8. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    no i havent done any of that but im willing to give it a shot.

    so you say i should run DOP-MII V15 (im using v12 right now but i can switch back over) and not Wii-Brew version? not really sure what that means but i guess it doesnt matter as long as i can tell which one is which. i assume the WiiBrew version is labeled as such?

    Also i have no idea how to dump the NAND.
     
  9. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    The WiiBrew version won't Trucha-sign anything nor will it install WADs that are not signed by Nintendo. You can dump the NAND with BootMii if you can get it to run. It should generate a nand.bin file and one or two key files.
     
  10. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Well i understand its different but how do i know the difference?

    I downloaded one and it doesnt say wiibrew (i had another one that did say wiibrew) so hopefully this is the right one

    how do get BootMII going. Can can i install it with boot.dol from preloader? or is that something i have to do later?

    EDIT: i see its a boot.elf. so should i install that before proceed?

    so yeah right now im staring at the DOP-MII V15 (SVN R161M) System Menu install screen

    i clicked 4.3 and hit install. it asked to make sure to have bootmii and back up the NAND before continuing

    that has never been a more ominous message in all my years installing on wii lol

    ...id hate attempt this and for it to fully brick. so do you think im good to go?
     
    Last edited by Waltharius, Nov 18, 2016
  11. mauifrog

    mauifrog DA KINE WiiHacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,587
    Country:
    United States
    Waltharius likes this.
  12. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the link im looking through it now.

    wow it looks like much different advice then given here. you suggest to install IOS60 fully patched instead of no patches?
     
  13. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEES!!!!!!!!!!

    [​IMG]
     
  14. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    965
    Country:
    Switzerland
    If you read the guide carefully, you will see patched or no patch is not the main issue.
    It gives you a link to a patched ios60 wad because it is illegal to share original ios60 wad (is patched make it legal? that is arguable.).
    It also tells you to use NUS if online and that will give you the official ios60 - no patch.

    The main point is to install ios60 with system menu 4.1 which are a matching pair (ios70 with 4.2 and ios80 with 4.3). If you don't have a matching pair - menu brick.
    Preloader/priiloader install itself inside system menu. If you installed a new system menu, you will have to reinstall preloader/priiloader for them to work again.

    I guess the whole situation is you finally followed an organised guide from start to finish instead of listening to random guys with different or even conflicting advises and you choose to follow part of the advises from one guy and part of the advises from another guy and they don't match up.
    It is also due to the fact that you just follow advises without trying to understand how things work.
     
  15. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    That guide is basically what I've been saying to do all along with the exception of using 4.1. :P

    It's not so much a matching pair as making sure you actually have the System Menu IOS installed for the one the console settings are set for. If the boot configuration says 4.1 it will try to load and boot IOS60, etc...
     
  16. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah i knew you were right. I was just too hesitant to pull the trigger because your solution was so final and so many other people had seemingly safer options.

    So if you had to guess, what do you think went wrong?

    This is absolutely correct. I realize now that i dont know as much as i thought about modding Wiis (which was already tenuous). Apparently i have a very basic understanding.

    Also to be fair, its not that I dont want to learn or dont want to understand how these things work. I just didnt think this was a reasonable time for me to get a crash course, to expect people to explain the ins and outs of how all these IOSes and how they work. I mean you can tell me a thousand times that i need ios60 but i dont really know why your saying it, what that means, or anything else until i know what the IOS is, what its for and what it does.

    Like I said earlier, if this was my Wii i would have moved a lot more aggressively.

    None of that matter now though. The main point is you guys saved my ass. Im really glad you guys stuck with me. I know it had to be frustrating dealing with someone so confused about all this :)

    Thanks everybody
     
  17. Razor83

    Razor83 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    The problem with installing a new system menu is that its a one-shot deal (Without BootMii/boot2) so its really only recommended as a last resort, like in this case. If it didn't work then you would have lost Preloader and ended up with a full brick with no way to recover (DOP-Mii can only restore Priiloader, not Preloader)

    At least you sorted it in the end :yaywii:
     
    Last edited by Razor83, Nov 19, 2016
  18. tswntk

    tswntk GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    965
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I said matching pairs in the sense that if either one is missing or corrupted = menu brick.

    If the system menu/ios was missing or corrupted, there is no other way to fix it but to reinstall.
    It is not much of a risk - just make sure to install priiloader after a system menu installation before rebooting and you should be fine.
    If it was not a system menu/ios pair problem, it shouldn't get your console any worse.

    You spent a month trying to fix the console, had you learnt those "simple" facts, you will have much more confidence and fixed the console in no time.
     
    Last edited by tswntk, Nov 19, 2016
  19. Razor83

    Razor83 GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    368
    Country:
    The problem is they didnt have access to the HBC, so they couldn't install Priiloader after installing a new system menu.
     
  20. Waltharius

    OP Waltharius Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    yeah exactly right. I hate how jittery i was about this stupid thing. Im not gonna end up in this situation again. if i ever have to do any mods for anyone that already has a modded system, im taking major precautions.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - friends, bricked, messed