Nothing I put on my AK2i is working.

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Smidthmador, Oct 17, 2011.

Oct 17, 2011
  1. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I put on AKAIO and that works "fine" but the games and skin that I put on my SD aren't working. One game worked for a couple of minutes with no sound, then froze. Since then nothing that I put on my SD will work. Icons still come up, but it's just a pic of a DS representing the game file. When I try to play a game the screen usually turns white after the loading screen and then nothing. I also downloaded a skin from acekard and put it in the UI file just like I was told and it shows up on my list, but when I try to use it when my DS restarts it goes back to the default skin.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thank you :D
     
  2. wii-dog

    wii-dog Newbie

    all bricks please dont come here you might brick others with your brick cart for you i have whole collection of ds games get new cart then get new pc and then order from boss of gba temp then you will be fixed from problems see your a rom leech and leeches get bricked---------------------------------------------------sorry game over are get a other cart and fix brick from new acekard2i
     
  3. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
  4. KevFan

    Member KevFan GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Country:
    Ireland
    Try backing up your sd card and reformat with [ft]Panasonic SD Formatter [/ft], then put a 'fresh' copy of akaio on sd card and see if that works..
     
  5. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try that, thank you.
     
  6. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    That didn't work :(

    I've been using a game to see if I'm doing stuff right is there something that might be simpler like testing a skin? Or is the game a great example?
     
  7. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Now I have AKAIO v1.8.7, will that make a difference?
     
  8. s4mid4re

    Member s4mid4re  

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,669
    Country:
    United States
    Your micro sd card seems faulty. It's not necessarily the class (write speed) of it, but the read speed. Are there any other micro sd cards to test if they work?
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    this reads more like a contact issue to me.

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/Solving_Acekard_2i_Contact_Issues

    it could be a microsd issue but unless you can try a 2nd msd card you should assume its the popular contact issue.

    -another world
     
  10. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I read the Contact Issues Wiki, what does it mean when the loading screen is yellow but still won't load or freezes on a white page?
     
  11. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    If things on my SD still show up and my AK loads to the main menu are you sure it could be a contact issue?
    AND
    This might be a biggie, but I just put AKAIO on my card and not the other stuff that the wiki said for set up and other things (I just did the quick setup). All I wanted to do was test it out with some homebrew n games. Do I HAVE to do everything on the wiki for games n stuff to work?

    Thanks for your help everyone!
     
  12. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Now I've tried MAIO and when I try to use the features it says "An error was detected while trying to access the disk or a file. Please confirm the following: Was ROM file of correct DLDI started? Please reformat and try again. Please try with a different media from another manufacturer.

    Does that mean contact issue?
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    one of my acekards is detected fine, akaio boots fine, but when i run software i get black screens. its a contact issue that some how developed after 6 months of homebrew beta testing. to answer your question, yes it is possible that everything boots but you get freezing on games. now, how can i be sure its a contact issue? because that msd card went on to beta test hundreds of more files and complete 2 gbatemp reviews without a single issue or a reformat. also, applying a thin slice of magazine paper fixed the issue of that other ak2i.

    to get akaio set up just do the following:
    1. format your msd card with the panasonic formatter
    2. put a fresh copy (as in you just downloaded it) of akaio in the msd card root.
    ...this means the _aio directory and the akmenu4.nds file go in the very 1st directory of the msd card
    3. put on 1 homebrew or 1 rom and run a test

    it is possible that you need to reallocate the partitions of your msd card. if formatting doesn't fix your problem then you may want to try gparted live. install and run the usb edition from a flash drive and then use the tools to format partition and format your msd card.

    -another world
     
  14. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I slid in an only once folded piece of paper to test contact issue and well, I didn't know that I even had a spring haha! But I still get that same message.
     
  15. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    if the paper you use is to thick it won't fix the contact issue. you also risk bending a pin in slot-1 which would cause a semi-permanent contact issue.

    -another world
     
  16. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I read what you said n got scared, but on the bright side, my pin works now :D
    A friend has an mSD in his phone can I just put MAIO or AKAIO on that and try to check for contact issue n stuff?
     
  17. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    get his card and format it using the panasonic formatter. then put akaio 1.8.8 on there and 1 rom to test with. if it works turn off the ds and try swapping in your msd without removing the acekard. by not removing you take out some of the contact issue factor, tho you could still move it around when inserting the msd card.

    if his card has the same problems with the same games then the issue is probably related to the 2i. all real acekard products have a 1 yr warranty. you should be able to get it exchanged without much of a hassle.

    -another world
     
  18. Smidthmador
    OP

    Newcomer Smidthmador Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    I tried his card and it was incredibly slow! and it didn't work either. Guess I'll have to send it back to the peeps I bought it from :(

    Can you think of a simple test rom or should I just like any game?
     
  19. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    his microsd card is slow? then that issue is with the msd card and not the acekard. even on a slow msd card you will be able to boot and run games, if you can not then the issue is probably with the acekard.

    -another world
     
  20. eggsample

    Member eggsample punahussy

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Country:
    Poland
    Bad soldering on PCB or fake acekard.
    Does those msd card are class 4 or higher?
     

Share This Page